Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John F. Kennedy High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 27, 2013

Although talk around the town gives Kennedy a not-so-outstanding reputation, after completing my 4 years at the school, it has become a second home to me. I don't have room to discuss the benefits if attending Kennedy. Just like any school, there are weaknesses that the principal and staff work to improve everyday. The AP/UConn courses, SOAR program, extra curricular activities, and other programs truly give students the ideal high school experience. Plus I could go on for paragraphs about the genuine, caring, and kind teachers and staff that work to better every student, no matter how difficult it may be. They will push their students to do things they didn't think we're possible. I never considered myself a leader until I was challenged to run certain clubs and groups my senior year. If your child is in the district or gets accepted into SOAR and you are worried about sending them there, don't be. They will find will they belong and the faculty will be there to help them along the way.


Posted July 21, 2010

I am currently attenting this school and there is only one word to describe it FANTASTIC. the teachers are great, there are intensive AP courses that have helped me a lot on the way to a great college, and there are special programs for every child. This school sshould be on the top five i think. THre is great dedication from the whole school staff..
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2009

I am currently a senior at Kennedy High School. While I do feel that Kennedy does have a couple weak points, it is one of the better high schools. They offer challenging courses, you just have to be willing to take them and try your hardest. The staff is great...they're are alot of teachers who really care and are there to help you out. I am very proud to be an eagle and forever will be:)
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2009

This is the best high school i ever went to!!!!!!!!! I learned everything! Send all your kids here!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 10, 2008

I'm a freshman at Kennedy High School, 2008-2009. There's some really nice teachers, who actually 'care' about you. There is some who actually like to know you on the 'personality' side, and they try to communicate with you. While this and other things, some of the teachers do really help you learn things. They will show you how to do it until you get it right. They even offer free tutoring Wednesday-Thursday after school if you want to understand things better. Many students love this school, and I am among them. :-)
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 17, 2008

I just transferred to Kennedy in November. The teachers are friendly and they're willing to teach any student that's willing to learn. Student involvement in school activities is great. we recently did a charity drive for Pennies for Patients and raised i believe over $1500 when our goal was only $500. so yeah, we're awesome! Parent involvement could definitely be higher though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2008

I know Kennedy high school is a good school. Academic wise it is the top school in Waterbury. I think its the students that make it hard . If there is a dress code, come in dress code. All I can say is, I love kenndey. I am a Eagle for life.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 9, 2006

I was a student at Crosby High School , Wolcott high school , and last Kennedy High School. Currently I am going to collage to teach and that is partially attributed to my stay at Kennedy. None of the teachers there inspired me , few of them enjoy their jobs , and the school has a genuinely uninviting atmosphere - and I hope to help fix this. Kennedy high school is not safe at all. Soar , the program for academic superiority, in a sense is both one of the strongest and weakest points of this high school. Soar kids are alienated from the rest of the school. All and all this was the worst high school I ever attended. The principal tries his best and does his job as well as it can be done with no support at all. Secretaries , Vice Principals , and teachers are all really failing to do their jobs. i would suggest looking into another waterbury public school - they arent all like this.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 9, 2005

Kennedy was my favorite school ever i love it and i come home everyday wishing i was still in school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2005

academic programs are lacking at best, the art programs at kennedy are horrific, the teachers have a poor attitude towards the students, the school is unsafe and should be condemned. its sad that i come home crying everyday, and no one will do anything about it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2005

kennedy should not be called a 'school' it is more like a prison, i comes home crying almost everyday. the principal likes to single out students the dress code at kennedy is an obvious ploy to appear to be a good school, clothes don't make the man. this school should seriously be reviewed on educational basis. i never wanted to experience anything this horrible in ,my life, and i'm sorry to say, i wish i were dead.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
42%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
46%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

314 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
68%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
45%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 89% in 2013.

336 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students42%
Female45%
Male40%
Black25%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic40%
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities44%
English language learners15%
Proficient in English45%

Reading

All Students54%
Female61%
Male49%
Black42%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic49%
Multiracialn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities57%
English language learners25%
Proficient in English57%

Science

All Students38%
Female43%
Male35%
Black31%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic29%
Multiracialn/a
White61%
Economically disadvantaged29%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disabilities0%
Students without disabilities43%
English language learners14%
Proficient in English41%

Writing

All Students78%
Female84%
Male74%
Black79%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic72%
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilities35%
Students without disabilities83%
English language learners44%
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 43% 20%
White 31% 61%
Black 23% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 71%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

422 Highland Ave
Waterbury, CT 06708
Phone: (203) 574-8150

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


State Street School
Waterbury, CT


Enlightenment School
Waterbury, CT





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT