Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Michael F. Wallace Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 1223 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 17, 2014

I was a student once upon a time. That was four years ago as I am now graduating high school. I would like to say that some of the teachers really impacted my life in a positive way. So greatly that I shall never forget. As of the students and schooling environment to this day I can't speak of.


Posted August 24, 2014

This school is horrible. There's constant bullying, trouble makers, & kids skipping classes, getting detention, & suspension. It's a terrible place for education. My daughter got into a fight with one girl that the other girl started, so they suspended my daughter instead, who was the victim, which wasn't fair. The teachers are awful too. & the kids are careless, constantly running in the halls & pushing people & bumping into them, & knocking there stuff over without even saying sorry or helping pick it up. WORST SCHOOL EVER. If u want a good education for ur kids, I don't suggest u go here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

wallace is the most ghettos school in waterbury ct. alot of girls are pregnant and ppl smoke weed in the bathroom and teachers dont know
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 13, 2012

I love this school. my daughter was accepted into the Accelerated Program for 6 th grade and she loved it. Unfortunately, due to circumstances, we had to move and are now in Norwich. But, I just got some great news that is allowing me to come back to Waterbury and i am looking for a place in the Wallace School District. i will not get a place unless she gets to go there, so i am looking only in the East End. She was in Yeshion House and they are a great bunch of teachers, very personable and seem to know each child so well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

Good school with great staff that care for students. Mr. Jack Yeshion is a great house principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

Wallace middle school is a great school my kids love that school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2009

the kids are crasy nd dont listen
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2008

greatest school ever i love it and hope to attend it again
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 26, 2008

I am a current student at the school and I think it is a decent but not great school. it has some work that needs to be done. For example some classrooms have been split in half with a divider just to make another classroom. So instead of one normal sized room there are two smaller rooms. However the teachers and support staff are great at the job, especially the principals. They should keep up the good work. Overall Wallace is an all right school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 6, 2008

I love it there my child also loves it there and he is in 7th grade and really lon=ves it there also the teachers are so nice and genorous
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2007

I must say that this school has offered my children a wonderful learning experience. As with all schools, you get what you put into it. Students who come to school to fool around and get into trouble will get just that, while students who come to behave and learn will get a good education. The principal, Dr. Padua, is top notch. He has the best interest of the children in his mind at all times and pushes the staff to teach to the best of their ability.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2005

Michael F. Wallace middle School in Waterbury CT. is the most wonderful school. Sometimes the teachers are harsh but they do it for the children at that school.I went to that school in 2000 it was awsome. Now and then I come vist W.M.S. Wallace middle School and it seems awsome to me. Good field trips like Holiday Hill which the 6th graders at that school are going this year and will have a great time. The Wonderful principal Luis A. Padua is awsome good discipline courage to the children. And also the kids get to have lots of fun there. Thats the important part of W.M.S. Wallace middle School. Also it is clean and te lunch is pretty good ands healthy. And kids get to have fun in excersise, the gym teacher takes them outside they run play any sport.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 9, 2005

I went to this school a few years ago. I must say it was the worst experience of my life. I was constantly bullied and the staff did NOTHING about it. There were Extracurricular activites, but made the schedule seem rather tense. SOME of the teachers were rather rude in their attempt to cause some sort of 'welcoming' into the school. I got out alive and lucky, somebody might not in the future.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

347 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

344 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
66%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

379 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
74%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

371 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
71%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

398 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
70%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

361 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
68%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

360 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
65%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

397 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
49%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2013.

392 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
71%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female65%
Male64%
Black58%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disabilities38%
Students without disabilities69%
English language learners20%
Proficient in English68%

Reading

All Students60%
Female66%
Male55%
Black53%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Students with disabilities22%
Students without disabilities66%
English language learners20%
Proficient in English63%

Writing

All Students65%
Female72%
Male59%
Black57%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Students with disabilities25%
Students without disabilities75%
English language learners30%
Proficient in English68%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female65%
Male65%
Black55%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic62%
Multiracialn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities68%
English language learners39%
Proficient in English68%

Reading

All Students73%
Female78%
Male68%
Black72%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic66%
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilities54%
Students without disabilities75%
English language learners49%
Proficient in English76%

Writing

All Students78%
Female87%
Male69%
Black79%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic73%
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilities27%
Students without disabilities87%
English language learners46%
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female66%
Male61%
Black55%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic61%
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Students with disabilities31%
Students without disabilities66%
English language learners15%
Proficient in English68%

Reading

All Students69%
Female68%
Male71%
Black73%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilities40%
Students without disabilities72%
English language learners16%
Proficient in English75%

Science

All Students51%
Female48%
Male54%
Black43%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic46%
Multiracialn/a
White62%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Students with disabilities15%
Students without disabilities58%
English language learners2%
Proficient in English57%

Writing

All Students73%
Female80%
Male65%
Black67%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic69%
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilities30%
Students without disabilities80%
English language learners29%
Proficient in English78%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 48% 20%
Black 26% 13%
White 19% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3465 East Main St
Waterbury, CT 06705
Phone: (203) 574-8140

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St. Lucy School
Waterbury, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT