Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wendell L. Cross School

Public | PK-5 | 377 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 28, 2014

EXCELLENT SCHOOL..EXCELLENT STAFF..SIMPLY THE BEST..MY KIDS..NIECES..NEPHEWS..COUSINS..FRIENDS...NEIGHBORHOOD KIDS HAVE GONE AND ITS 100%AWESOME... GODBLESS MRS.ELWELL WHO IS SUPER SWEET..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2011

Wendell L. Cross is one of the best elementaty schools in the district. Going there grades K-5 was a rewarding experience and a helpful one. A great staff, who knew every students name, and an excellent envoirment helped prepare me for my Middle and High School years. I highly suggest this small, public school. Your children will be taught well and it will help them succeed in their later years.


Posted May 12, 2010

Wendell Cross is the best school in waterbury and i am so upset that my son wont be able to attend next year! The Principal is so great, he knows all of the kids by name. They have so many family functions and are very family involved! The teachers all care so much about the kids and are always there when they need extra help. I am reading reviews on other schools in waterbury so we can find a great one for my son and i am very disapointed! There cant be any school better then Wendell Cross!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2010

This is a great school to have your child be a part of. The entire staff works well together giving your student the best possible elementary education.


Posted March 18, 2010

My son is in Pre-k and he has learned a lot, his teachers are wonderful. It is so sad that because of my adress my son won't be able to stay in this school. We are very greatful with everything this school has done for my son. Sueper extra excellent is my rating for this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

My children attended a Montessori School in NY so when I moved to Waterbury I did not know what to expect. I am so glad that my children were assigned to Wendell Cross. The staff and teachers are absolutely wonderful. Mr. Amato is a great principal. He is very involved and motivates the children to do their best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2007

I recently moved in from another state. I realize that the Waterbury school district is one of the worst I have ever encountered. The teachers are not very caring and give no personal attention to kids that need it. Wendell Cross is better than some but is still not up to par in my standards.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 24, 2007

I have never met a principal so involved with his students. His caring of and giving to the students and staff goes above and beyond. I am so impressed with this school. My child has been going here for three years now. I love this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 26, 2006

the teachers here are great. very helpful and always there when you need them . the vice principal is great, he is a people person and knows how to talk to the kids . The principal on the other hand does not know how to speak to the younger children or to women he is very opinionated and loud .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2005

I have never seen a principal so involved with his students, teachers and school. Wendell Cross is the best school in CT.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2003

This year Wendell Cross has a new principal. I think that he is getting the kids motivated and doing all those little things that mean so much to our kids. They finally have a little ceremony for their student of the momth. They also have a website where they post the pictures of the ceremony and these are the kinds of things that kids enjoy. I have to thank Mr. Amato. He is on the right track making the school a place to learn but also a fun place for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 83% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
77%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 72% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
63%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 80% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

50 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
96%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 84% in 2013.

48 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2013.

47 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
65%

2010

 
 
69%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 88% in 2013.

49 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students94%
Female88%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic96%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged91%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%

Reading

All Students79%
Female80%
Male78%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic68%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%

Writing

All Students94%
Female100%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic86%
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged94%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students96%
Female91%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic96%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged95%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities96%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English96%

Reading

All Students84%
Female76%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged85%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%

Writing

All Students98%
Female100%
Male97%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic100%
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged100%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students85%
Female84%
Male87%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged81%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English85%

Reading

All Students79%
Female83%
Male74%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Whiten/a
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%

Science

All Students88%
Female85%
Male91%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%

Writing

All Students88%
Female92%
Male83%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 44% 20%
White 31% 61%
Black 19% 13%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 77%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1255 Hamilton Ave
Waterbury, CT 06706
Phone: (203) 574-8171

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Gilmartin School
Waterbury, CT


Hopeville School
Waterbury, CT


Washington School
Waterbury, CT



H. S. Chase School
Waterbury, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT