Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wendell L. Cross School 5

Posted August 27, 2015
- a parent
Great school never had a problem. The staff is always friendly and address any concerns you have right away.

Wendell L. Cross School 5

Posted August 28, 2014
- a parent
EXCELLENT SCHOOL..EXCELLENT STAFF..SIMPLY THE BEST..MY KIDS..NIECES..NEPHEWS..COUSINS..FRIENDS...NEIGHBORHOOD KIDS HAVE GONE AND ITS 100%AWESOME... GODBLESS MRS.ELWELL WHO IS SUPER SWEET..


Wendell L. Cross School 5

Posted August 01, 2011
- a community member
Wendell L. Cross is one of the best elementaty schools in the district. Going there grades K-5 was a rewarding experience and a helpful one. A great staff, who knew every students name, and an excellent envoirment helped prepare me for my Middle and High School years. I highly suggest this small, public school. Your children will be taught well and it will help them succeed in their later years.

Wendell L. Cross School 5

Posted May 12, 2010
- a parent
Wendell Cross is the best school in waterbury and i am so upset that my son wont be able to attend next year! The Principal is so great, he knows all of the kids by name. They have so many family functions and are very family involved! The teachers all care so much about the kids and are always there when they need extra help. I am reading reviews on other schools in waterbury so we can find a great one for my son and i am very disapointed! There cant be any school better then Wendell Cross!

Wendell L. Cross School
no rating

Posted May 11, 2010
- a community member
This is a great school to have your child be a part of. The entire staff works well together giving your student the best possible elementary education.


Wendell L. Cross School 5

Posted March 18, 2010
- a parent
My son is in Pre-k and he has learned a lot, his teachers are wonderful. It is so sad that because of my adress my son won't be able to stay in this school. We are very greatful with everything this school has done for my son. Sueper extra excellent is my rating for this school.

Wendell L. Cross School
no rating

Posted May 29, 2008
- a parent
My children attended a Montessori School in NY so when I moved to Waterbury I did not know what to expect. I am so glad that my children were assigned to Wendell Cross. The staff and teachers are absolutely wonderful. Mr. Amato is a great principal. He is very involved and motivates the children to do their best.

Wendell L. Cross School 2

Posted February 08, 2007
- a parent
I recently moved in from another state. I realize that the Waterbury school district is one of the worst I have ever encountered. The teachers are not very caring and give no personal attention to kids that need it. Wendell Cross is better than some but is still not up to par in my standards.


Wendell L. Cross School 5

Posted January 24, 2007
- a parent
I have never met a principal so involved with his students. His caring of and giving to the students and staff goes above and beyond. I am so impressed with this school. My child has been going here for three years now. I love this school!

Wendell L. Cross School 4

Posted July 26, 2006
- a parent
the teachers here are great. very helpful and always there when you need them . the vice principal is great, he is a people person and knows how to talk to the kids . The principal on the other hand does not know how to speak to the younger children or to women he is very opinionated and loud .

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wendell L. Cross School
1255 Hamilton Ave, Waterbury, CT  06706
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (203) 574-8171
Last modified Wendell L. Cross School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top