Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

West Side Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2014

This is not the best school but it is a working progress. At least it's not like state school we'll never mind that there will always be violence and fights and kids who don't listen so don't judge to bad.


Posted April 2, 2014

Two of my children currently attend this school one of them is in the accelerated program and the other is in the Special ED program. I have to say I am very pleased and impressed by the amount of communication and information I receive from the teachers and staff regarding my children just by simply requesting it. I am not saying all teachers are 5 stars but lets be realistic here most of the students barley give 3 star effort. in addition; some parents want to put the blame on the teachers, teachers are not miracle workers they can only work with what they have and if as a parent you are absent or not ready to hold your child accountable for his or her actions and choices while in school then that is the root of the problem that needs to be addressed first. Over all to present day I am very happy with the staff at WSMS and officer K's presence there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2013

Westside middle is a horrible school. It teaches through intemidation and the teachers swear at the students and tells them if they can swear we can to. I have witnessed the cop there run up into one of the girl students and start yelling at her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2013

I have been going to West Side or WSMS for a few years now and its a deicent school. Yes, there are fights, and they don't have the best lunch but it isn't a horrible school , like some say. Whether you like it or not there are fights and violence EVERYWHERE. Just because one school get recognised for it more than others doesnt make it a bad school at all. Each house inforces dress code, some more than others. I give WSMS 3 stars because all-in-all it's not a bad school. Some students don't have very good grammar and have a hard time listening but dont blame the school, blame whoever taught them that that was okay to be disrespectful or have an attitude to teachers. West Side has an up-to-date curriculum and if your kids are focusing , they can learn alot. I hope this helped :).


Posted April 19, 2013

Hi. I would like to say that learn are good and bad things about this school. my daughter is in the red acclerated program! LOVE IT! But there are some students and staff that ruin it! i really dont like the red house vice principal. Although, everybody else seems cheerful. I recommed red house to everyone, every other friday they have reward day for the behavior cards. Anthoner plus to the school is they have a fruit and veggie program! ONly had one problem with the school,sometimes (most of the times) it has ants in there! but i tell her just to go to a different one if she has to go! I hope that this has helped you. BTW ur child will love the new gear up program. its free and helps your child with homework and problems. You also enter to get a scloarship to collage! ;) because collage is getting worse ,you know.


Posted April 13, 2013

This school has many faults, but overall it's a decent school. First of all, the school needs to be cleaner. The hallways and floors are repulsive. Next, some of the students lack hygiene and grammar, but, there are students who have the passion to succeed. Most of the teachers are very good at communicating with the students. The school has a wonderful fruit program for students that would like a morning snack.


Posted February 8, 2012

I have to say the I love West Side Middle School, I recently moved here form Manchester NH and my two boys were placed at this school, they are both in the Blue house and is doing so much better with there grades--in my experience with other schools "West Side Middle School" is wonderful --my kids are getting the attention they need --my oldest is much more excited about doing better and I believe it's the attitude of the Teachers --and I have and heard all wonderful things from my kids about the Blue house principal my kids adore her.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2012

Very unorganized, not helpful, not informative, Curriculum is so out of date. Cannot meet the educational needs of students who are more advanced. The advanced classes are below average of the Seymour and Shelton School districts. This is not a school you want to send your children to if you can avoid it. In all honesty I am very disappointed after moving here, if I had known the schools were so bad I would have never moved to this city. But of course it is a reflection of the city which is so far behind, I feel like I am in some southern town, even Seymour has bus service longer than Waterbury for public transporation just not a place for people who want more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2011

I am an alumna of westside middle school and despite what some of the reviews say west side does enforce rules. You cant really judge the school because one student decided to go berzerk one day. That happens in all schools its the matter whether you hear about it or not. Or blame a single house in wsms's case. Some say " oh this and this house is bad blah blah blah" all houses have their faults. And for one specific review from a parent, dont just blame red house. Been there done that. I was in red house, not alot of fights and they do enforce dresscode and cellphones. In fact its because they're enforcing cellphones that they sometimes go berzerk and threaten teachers. Or like the review before me explains. And its all houses that are violent, not just red. Im not saying now, but when i attended wsms, the house that always broke dresscode and got away with it was blue house. So sure, im in te dark of whats happening now from what happened before, since my cousin was removed due to district changes, but i still believe its a great school. I miss it quite alot, i wish i had time to visit my old teachers.


Posted August 9, 2011

I am a student who recently attended wsms and the school inforces rules very well.Most of the student dont like the rules so they are defiant.But there are consequences and each principal especially red house makes sure that the students are well behave.Alot of these students go through so much at home and are bullied at school by other student that they bring their anger with them.Also when they see some teachers let its happen they get upset or one of the teachers or make rules a priority and punish them it triggers things.So what im trying to say is that every school has their problems with teachers students but Westside is alot better that Northend and Wallace.Point-Blank-Period.


Posted April 9, 2011

This school is crazy! A student threatended to cut a teacher. I transfered my kids out. Red house is the worst the teachers don`t enforce dress code or cellphones!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

Most teachers and staff are friendly if you get on their good side.Break the rules and you'll see their bad side.Very strict school which encourages kids to work hard and pay attention towards their education.


Posted October 18, 2008

I love my School. Im an eighth grade student there in red house. I dont know who said the principals and teachers dont care but whoever said that is wrong. They want us to do good. They want us to succeed. They prepare us for the real-world. The students like the teachers because they try and relate to us, the students. West Side does have a bad reputation and I was scared first starting 6th grade. However, as soon as I started getting used to everything, I loved it so no matter what people say... I still love West Side.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 3, 2008

1-3-2008 My daughter goes to westside middle school .She been their for three years. This year my daughter has good careing teachers. With out the theater art teacher this kids won't have speacial dances at school. They did to work on their classrooms ,like learning new things having fun when you learn. They really have to work on their graduating day they did to but new things in the stage this year 2008.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 14, 2007

The teachers don't care about the students and neither do the principles of every house they just want there moneys' worth.THEY CAN CARE LESS!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 4, 2007

west side middle school is the best i am a student that goes there currently and they have amazing teachers wonderful principals and i learn a lot i am proud to say i am graduating this year it is clean , has great teachers, and principals
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 15, 2005

I think that the music department does a good job. I am disappointed in the teaches and the principals of this school in the area of communication. They do not follow up when contacted about issues and they do not communicate with parents when there are problems. Also I feel that the open house in the fall needs to be changed. There should be more time for parents to meet with teachers and find out what they expect and what their goals are for the year. Parent involvement is poor...not many parents et involved especially through PTSA. Also PTSA could be better organized and more informative. Too concerned about dress code and discipline not about teaching and learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2005

The educational opportunities are minimal at best. Most children are instructed below-grade level and teachers are not provided with necessary teaching tools. Discipline and structure are lax. Although there are some good teachers here, the over-all quality of instruction is 'quick and dirty.' Children who leave to attend public education find themselves well below level or hand spoon or in special ed courses. Teacher morale is low because of really low pay and lack of any positive feedback from the administration. Priorities are not uniform and too much time is spent off task in some classrooms. For the at-risk child that needs nuturing, there are speciaal aides real need of smaller classrooms is not provided. Teachers cannot meet the real needs of the children because of this.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2004

I am embarrased by the CMT scores of the school. My daughter gets less homework then she did in grammar school. There isn't any encouragement for students to get involved in anything. My daughter has been trying to get into focus for 2 yrs, tried to talk to the guidance counselor for help,but has never even gotten to meet he/she. That is sad,thankfully she isn't in crisis because who would help?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2004

This school is the worst. The principals only care about discipline and nothing about the students. They want good little soldiers this is a public school not a military school. Maybe someone should tell the principal and teachers. Very few of the teachers care and the ones that do don't stay long.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

268 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 85% in 2013.

256 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 84% in 2013.

295 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 85% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 87% in 2013.

312 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 83% in 2013.

340 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 86% in 2013.

330 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 86% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
56%
Science

The state average for Science was 77% in 2013.

374 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 86% in 2013.

370 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students64%
Female66%
Male61%
Black60%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilities24%
Students without disabilities69%
English language learners36%
Proficient in English69%

Reading

All Students67%
Female72%
Male61%
Black73%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities68%
English language learners20%
Proficient in English74%

Writing

All Students59%
Female71%
Male47%
Black63%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
White71%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilities29%
Students without disabilities67%
English language learners38%
Proficient in English63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female52%
Male52%
Black47%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic47%
Multiracialn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilities24%
Students without disabilities54%
English language learners22%
Proficient in English55%

Reading

All Students64%
Female69%
Male58%
Black55%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White81%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities36%
Students without disabilities67%
English language learners30%
Proficient in English68%

Writing

All Students59%
Female69%
Male47%
Black58%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic52%
Multiracialn/a
White80%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilities20%
Students without disabilities66%
English language learners24%
Proficient in English63%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female58%
Male53%
Black56%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Students with disabilities22%
Students without disabilities58%
English language learners14%
Proficient in English61%

Reading

All Students67%
Female71%
Male63%
Black67%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic54%
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disabilities50%
Students without disabilities68%
English language learners3%
Proficient in English74%

Science

All Students36%
Female36%
Male37%
Black31%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic26%
Multiracialn/a
White59%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged54%
Students with disabilities3%
Students without disabilities44%
English language learners2%
Proficient in English41%

Writing

All Students63%
Female75%
Male52%
Black70%
Asian Americann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White68%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilities23%
Students without disabilities72%
English language learners12%
Proficient in English69%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 48% 20%
Black 26% 13%
White 22% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Two or more races 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 83%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

483 Chase Parkway
Waterbury, CT 06708
Phone: (203) 574-8120

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



St. Joseph School
Waterbury, CT



State Street School
Waterbury, CT


Enlightenment School
Waterbury, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT