Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Watertown High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 1, 2014

Extremely disappointed and what this Watertown High has become. My daughter works hard and gets good grades. But is pulled down and pressured about standardized tests over and over again. And the administration makes it painfully clear it's all about their appearance. She has a guidance counselor who states see never want to be in this line of work and it shows, teachers who gossip about other students, and others who snap if you ask for help. The new principle and guidance dept is useless and does not care.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

One of the best HS in the area, I'm very proud of the town of Watertown and I will always be!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

I love this school, and as parent of 2 boys I absolutely recommend for yours children you will never regretted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

I don't have words to describe how great I feel about this school in town. If you want the best out of your children this is the best school for them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

If you are looking for your children best educations as I did years ago I will recommend you this school. Be the change that you wish to see in the world. Mahatma Gandhi
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2013

My Gift: Don't believe what I said, but the best thing in my life is my parents, my family, friends, and my education. I really love everything about this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2008

I had recently graduated from Watertown High School and can honestly say: It's about time! By that, I mean finally, the town has passed budget for the school to make many needed renovations inside and outside of school grounds. My four years there were up and down as with any other student's high school experience, but school helped me grow up and learn responsibility. Yes the football team is overrated and the players are 'spoiled', but the teachers annd staff are what make Watertown the school it is. Their dedication to the students and will to work with what they have make them genuinely amazing people who made my four years there worthwhile!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 3, 2006

Im a current student at WHS and honestly Iam very sorry to say that. Our school is falling apart. Lunch, parking and pay for play prices are ridiculously high. Are school is in dander of not being accredited because of its poor condition and outdated library books.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 11, 2006

i graduated there about 4 years ago..thinking i was pretty well of...gues again! traveling and meeting other people just showed me how little i truly knew.its like watertown sheltered you..the school itself wasnt as much of a place for education but a distraction form every day life! liek many have already said...all the glory went to the football team..and seriosuly we werent that great of a team! other sports had to go around them..i was in volleyball and remember having to cram into a bus with the football team so we could get to a game! unfair...and dont even ask about music...i stuck with it form 3rd grade...but having a private tutor was the only way i learned things..the school deprives it youth from culture!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 5, 2005

I am a recent graduate from Watertown Highschool and if you are planning on sending your child here then i would reconsider. Its not a terrible school, its not incity school but we have about as much as they do. The classes are ok and so are the teachers. The building itsself needs a renivation. The footbal team gets all this funding and the other teams get close to none. I was on the tennis team, we were packed on the bus with the softball team (somewhere around 75 girls on one bus) and we didnt haveour own courts. The field hockey field is just gross and the baseball fields are ok and the soccer team plays at veterns becuase we dont have a field. The music and art programs are failing. Just not good.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 18, 2005

Watertown High, like many schools in America, has problems. Consistently short on money, many programs either never get off the ground, or don't recieve the support they need. However, Watertown High School has a faculty and staff this is willing to make due with what it has with dedication and creativity. Watertown is by no means a bad school to attend, as long as you are willing to work for your education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 2, 2005

I am a student of watertown high. We are wasting a million dollars on a new football field, while all the other sports fields are being neglected. The tennis team has to go somewhere else to practice on courts, because our courts haven't been maintained. The music program is failing, we didn't even have enough money to buy lighting for the stage, we recieved donations to rent lighting. Watertown high is crumbling, and something had better be done quick.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

188 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
78%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

187 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 89% in 2013.

182 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
87%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female70%
Male84%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White78%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%

Reading

All Students93%
Female96%
Male89%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White94%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%

Science

All Students89%
Female89%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%

Writing

All Students93%
Female97%
Male90%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 61%
Hispanic 4% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Black 2% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 15%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

324 French St
Watertown, CT 06795
Phone: (860) 945-4810

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

The Taft School
Watertown, CT



Wilby High School
Waterbury, CT




State Street School
Waterbury, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT