Advertisement
Advertisement

The Taft School

Private | 9-12 | 574 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Watertown

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $230,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,063.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2013

Wonderful school that is academically challenging along with great community spirit. Outstanding learning environment and supportive staff and administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2013

this is not such a terrific school as i expected when i had the application process with taft. the teachers are not very responsible. if students can not keep the learning pace with other students, teachers and faculty will embarass teh kid,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

Legacy issue with taking suboptimal students happens. We had superbly qualified students at the private school my student attends with better SSAT scores, grades and ECs who did not get in over legacy families who donate. That happens frequently in private schools and even at the college level. Taft is academically rigorous, but not every student who gets in is going to get A's. That will impact the college acceptances and does. Hence varsity athletes (some) and gifted performance artists (some) and academic superstars (few) will go on to Ivies. The campus is well known for being historic and beautiful, but if there is another school that will be a better fit for your child, consider it. The boarders definitely have the edge here. Our students knew students at Choate and there the day students were part of the community. Here at Taft, they don't seem to be. This is our personal opinion, and others of course may differ. Academics are rigorous as in any private high school. It's a small school where parents are generally wealthy and expect that after 4 years HYP is in the student's future. And for one or two lucky parents, it will be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2011

I'm a current day student at Taft I can attest to the previous parents comment that day students are treated poorly. As the minority and more often than not scholarship students of the school we are treated as second class citizen. I believe that in order to receive the full "Taft Experience" one must be a boarder. Secondly, SSAT scores don't mean jack. As long as you can pay and have connections or have some sort of talent it dosen't matter what you scored, and it dosen't matter anyway because there is no aptitude test in the world that tests for being able to succede at Taft. However, I've grown to love it.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2010

We've been delighted with the challenges and support that our two sons have enjoyed at Taft. Comment about legacy below is not supported. While legacy does give a leg up, legacy kids are also generally strong candidates. My kids were in the 99% of SSAT as well as legacy. Day students are well liked by boarder peers and faculty. Just like the rest of life, you get what you put into it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

This has been a great school for my daughters. Taft is academically rigorous, has a beautiful campus and terrific kids!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2010

Day student population is not treated as well as boarders. Large use of legacy to get in over more qualified students without legacy. College placement average except for superstar students or athletes. Beautiful campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2007

This has been a wonderful addition to my son's high school career. After three years in a public high school this experience has broadened my son's perspectives on what college can offer him. Taft has given him critical thinking skills, a real sense of independence and an ability to advocate for himself. He has learned to manage and organize his work, set priorities...All very useful traits for his future.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 62%
Asian 11% N/A
Black 5% 15%
Two or more races 5% N/A
Hispanic 3% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • ABS
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (860) 945-7808

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

110 Woodbury Rd
Watertown, CT 06795
Website: Click here
Phone: (860) 945-7877

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Watertown High School
Watertown, CT



Thomaston High School
Thomaston, CT




Wilby High School
Waterbury, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT