Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

9-12|Private
551 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
13 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Taft School 5

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
Taft fufills its founders mission to educate the "Whole Person". As a parent of four Taft graduates I value that each took away from their years at Taft a commitment to lifelong learning along with a dedication to serving others as an integral part of their adult lives. The school feels a deep responsibility to create and sustain a diversified student body. The teachers are excellent and do a wonderful job of getting their students to think - not merely memorize. My kids developed life long friendships from their time at Taft - although there is no "perfect" place to spend your high scool years for our family Taft came pretty close.

The Taft School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 07, 2015
- a parent
Taft fufills its founders mission to educate the "Whole Person". As a parent of four Taft graduates I value that each took away from their years at Taft a commitment to lifelong learning along with a dedication to serving others as an integral part of their adult lives. The school feels a deep responsibility to create and sustain a diversified student body. The teachers are excellent and do a wonderful job of getting their students to think - not merely memorize. My kids developed life long friendships from their time at Taft - although there is no "perfect" place to spend your high scool years for our family Taft came pretty close.


The Taft School 5

Posted December 27, 2014
- a parent
parent of two recent students and an alum from the late seventies, i've seen the school transform itself over the past thirty+ years. the critical comments here (preference for legacy money, discrimination against day students) strike me as more valid re the past than present. in general, taft is about excellence, broadly defined -- academic, athletic, ethical, and social. if your kid has a chance to go, i say move heaven and earth, rob a bank if you have to, don't let a chance like this go by. the prep school ideal will always repel egalitarians. my kids lucked out vis a vis smarts and sports, sadly not sp much re family money. big deal: get over it, you'll be a better person for having done so. as for hyp, christ, when did this obsession with big name schools get so crazy? when i was a kid, the recruiters came to us; even the ivies were eager. if my kids' experience is any indication, the market has turned itself upside down. blame it on asia and the nouveaux riches... word is, yale passes on more triple 800s than it lets in. now does that sound like a game any sane person should play?

The Taft School 5

Posted May 18, 2013
- a parent
Wonderful school that is academically challenging along with great community spirit. Outstanding learning environment and supportive staff and administration.

The Taft School 2

Posted March 09, 2013
- a parent
this is not such a terrific school as i expected when i had the application process with taft. the teachers are not very responsible. if students can not keep the learning pace with other students, teachers and faculty will embarass teh kid,


The Taft School 2

Posted February 18, 2011
- a parent
Legacy issue with taking suboptimal students happens. We had superbly qualified students at the private school my student attends with better SSAT scores, grades and ECs who did not get in over legacy families who donate. That happens frequently in private schools and even at the college level. Taft is academically rigorous, but not every student who gets in is going to get A's. That will impact the college acceptances and does. Hence varsity athletes (some) and gifted performance artists (some) and academic superstars (few) will go on to Ivies. The campus is well known for being historic and beautiful, but if there is another school that will be a better fit for your child, consider it. The boarders definitely have the edge here. Our students knew students at Choate and there the day students were part of the community. Here at Taft, they don't seem to be. This is our personal opinion, and others of course may differ. Academics are rigorous as in any private high school. It's a small school where parents are generally wealthy and expect that after 4 years HYP is in the student's future. And for one or two lucky parents, it will be.

The Taft School 4

Posted January 26, 2011
- a student
I'm a current day student at Taft I can attest to the previous parents comment that day students are treated poorly. As the minority and more often than not scholarship students of the school we are treated as second class citizen. I believe that in order to receive the full "Taft Experience" one must be a boarder. Secondly, SSAT scores don't mean jack. As long as you can pay and have connections or have some sort of talent it dosen't matter what you scored, and it dosen't matter anyway because there is no aptitude test in the world that tests for being able to succede at Taft. However, I've grown to love it.

The Taft School 5

Posted September 14, 2010
- a parent
We've been delighted with the challenges and support that our two sons have enjoyed at Taft. Comment about legacy below is not supported. While legacy does give a leg up, legacy kids are also generally strong candidates. My kids were in the 99% of SSAT as well as legacy. Day students are well liked by boarder peers and faculty. Just like the rest of life, you get what you put into it!


The Taft School 5

Posted April 20, 2010
- a parent
This has been a great school for my daughters. Taft is academically rigorous, has a beautiful campus and terrific kids!

The Taft School 2

Posted April 06, 2010
- a parent
Day student population is not treated as well as boarders. Large use of legacy to get in over more qualified students without legacy. College placement average except for superstar students or athletes. Beautiful campus.

Nearby schools

The Taft School
110 Woodbury Rd, Watertown, CT  06795
(860) 945-7877
Last modified The Taft School is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Top