Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
6 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 9 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Charter Oak International Academy 5

Posted August 05, 2012
- a community member
How could anyone possibly post a review of Charter Oak without names and specifics? What a bunch of mierda! Jay Benson, '56

Charter Oak International Academy 5

Posted January 26, 2011
- a parent
Our daughter has been going to Charter Oak since Kindergarten and is now in 5th grade and I have to say it has been truly a wonderful experience. The staff and principal is just wonderful and extremely attentive and supportive! We moved from another town to West Hartford specifically for the school and am thankful everyday that we made that decision. Keep up the great work Charter Oak!


Charter Oak International Academy
no rating

Posted May 01, 2010
- a teacher
It is a truly diverse and supportive community

Charter Oak International Academy
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
I love the school for the diversity and great teachers and parents!

Charter Oak International Academy 5

Posted June 16, 2009
- a parent
Charter Oak is a wonderful school that my family chooses as a Magnet School. It offers individualized education, diversity, and excellent teachers who are above and beyond the other teachers in town. I say this based on experience. Due to a variety of factors, they offer special programs that other schools don't offer, including Odyssey of the Mind even for primary children. They also have free after school activities that offer enrichment to the curriculum.


Charter Oak International Academy
no rating

Posted December 05, 2008
- a student
charter oak is great it has a track a football field soft ball field two play grounds inside it has a library music room spanish room gymnasium art room and features it has a tree in side real classes have couches pillows smart boards and much more

Charter Oak International Academy 5

Posted July 10, 2008
- a parent
Absolutely wonderful school. Very diverse. Very inclusive. The teachers are amazing to say the least! My son is a better person today because he attended this school.

Charter Oak International Academy 2

Posted September 22, 2006
- a parent
The teachers at this school have a tight knit community among themselves and share records with each other to 'label' the abilities of a child from an early age thus limiting a child's true potential. They are over-involved, to the point where I would say they are 'nosey' in children's personal lives and not of any help when truly needed. Charter Oaks School = F


Charter Oak International Academy 5

Posted September 23, 2003
- a parent
My child is a magnet student to Charter Oak and the experience has been tremendous. Our local neighborhood school seemed to be a great school as well, but once we had a visit to Charter Oak and met with the principal and some of the teaching staff -- we were sold! The care and dedication to the individual student is outstanding. Charter Oak offers so many extra activities and cultural events. Spanish is taught from kindergarten on through. The parent organization is unbelieveable -- providing the children with the opportunity to participate in a talent show. The school does a play each year (all volunteer). There is a love for music and art (including an annual art show). When investigating the benefits of sending our child to CCA, the principal said 'our goal is to bring the individual talents and gifts out in every child'. Wow!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charter Oak International Academy
425 Oakwood Ave, West Hartford, CT  06110
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 9 reviews. (860) 233-8506
Last modified Charter Oak International Academy is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top