Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Conard High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 17, 2012

Graduate of the school, prepared me for the real world for sure. Good diversity of student body.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 11, 2011

As a graduate of Conard, I have had the pleasure of having both my kids graduate from Conard as well. From a kid's viewpoint, this is a very active, socially involved school that provides a wide variety of activities - sports to academic - that give kids an extra edge. As a parent, the teachers and administration are excellent, communicative and actively making sure you stay involved in your child's education. Is it a perfect place? No, but without the challenges, kids wouldn't have the kind of experiences that challenge them academically as well as socially. Conard is and has continually been one of the top schools in the state and deservedly so. This is a school that positively validates why you pay taxes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2011

My kids had a wonderful education at Conard, got into their first choice colleges, received scholarships because of their academic achievments, and were successful in college (1 done, 1 about to graduate, 1 freshman). I give Conard all the credit. We loved it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2009

The four children in our family and four of our children have attended Conard, gotten great educations, and went on to some of the top colleges in the country. The parent community is lovely, the teachers caring and professional, and there is a vibrant array of activities that has something for everyone. Diversity, high academic standards, and a town that benefits from it all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 17, 2008

Great school. Teachers really do love what they are doing. Great sports, clubs, afterschool activities.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 1, 2005

Conard has enjoyed a good reputation for many years, but like other urban/suburban schools is constantly undergoing change. The majority of the teachers are excellent. The principal is very responsive to individual issues and deserves great credit for holding everything together. It is afterall a school that is within miles of a crime infested city, and all it's inherent challenges. The school provides sufficient sport programs to most kids busy and I feel the school does it's best to provide a safe learning environment for those who want to learn. Given demographics, the school is doing very well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2005

I'm a freshman at conard this year and i like it. i like the schedule and the sports and activities we have available ( though they can be expensive). but i dont like the fact that the freshman class this year is one of the worst conard has had in a long time. We get in more fights in a week than most schools have in months. but theres plenty of really great students, teachers and staff to help us out.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 28, 2005

I go to conard, and personally i dont like it. there are getting to be too many fights in school and our clubs are extremely weird.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 11, 2004

Conard has good teachers; some are excellent. My two Conard children had the same counselor and he was excellent, both for academics and other issues. The art department here is wonderful and prepared my daughter for a very challenging college visual arts program. Our family's experience with coaching was uneven; most were so-so. Academics are what a student makes of them. Take a rigorous schedule and you will be challenged and prepared for a good college. The office staff is friendly and helpful as is the school nurse. School spirit is high and there seems to be a phoenominal rate of parental involvement. You can study in a real world atmosphere at Conard as the population is diverse. There are many clubs to join,teachers welcome requests for help, and the school is very parent friendly. Conard sends kids to the finest colleges and universities well-prepared for the academic rigor.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

331 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
92%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

339 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
88%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 89% in 2013.

341 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Female77%
Male89%
Black54%
Asian American94%
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilities55%
Students without disabilities86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%

Reading

All Students91%
Female91%
Male90%
Black81%
Asian American94%
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White97%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disabilities88%
Students without disabilities91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English92%

Science

All Students89%
Female90%
Male88%
Black72%
Asian American97%
Hispanic78%
Multiracialn/a
White96%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilities62%
Students without disabilities93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%

Writing

All Students95%
Female95%
Male94%
Black93%
Asian American100%
Hispanic83%
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities79%
Students without disabilities97%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 59% 61%
Hispanic 19% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 10% 4%
Black 10% 13%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

110 Beechwood Rd
West Hartford, CT 06107
Phone: (860) 521-1350

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ben Bronz Academy
West Hartford, CT


Hartford Christian Academy
West Hartford, CT


Kingswood Oxford School
West Hartford, CT



Newington High School
Newington, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT