Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
PK-5
Private
West Hartford, CT
Students enrolled: 239
 

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St Thomas The Apostle 5

Posted February 24, 2015
- a parent
All three of our children have had a fantastic experience at St. Thomas the Apostle. One is now in middle school and was extremely well prepared. Many of the new classmates from different schools were not nearly as well prepared as our child. Above all, the strong Catholic faith foundation that they receive was at the core of our decision to attend St. Thomas. The outstanding educational and social environment and high academic bar set for the children, though an incredibly important factor for us, was a major bonus. Our other two children still in St. Thomas are doing very well, enjoying their experience, and look to be on the same path as our oldest. As with all children, from time to time, they get off track with their work. Whenever we have had issues that we felt needed addressing or assistance, the faculty and staff were always very open to our concerns and came up with solutions that quickly got them back on track. We are extremely happy with our choice for our children in setting their academic foundation and solidifying their spiritual future through their time at St. Thomas the Apostle.

St Thomas The Apostle 5

Posted January 28, 2015
- a parent
As a parent of two children who attend St. Thomas the Apostle, I can honestly say that not only have my children grown educationally, but spiritually as well. We started with the Pre K program and never left! The attention to detail, hands on experience that the children receive and the low teacher to student ratio makes going to school an easy task. The abundance of cultural differences that exist among the families who attend STA is one of the many things that we were looking for in a school environment. The curriculum is one of the best for elementary schools and the care shown to the students by the teachers is like no other. Most importantly to us was the spiritual upbringing that our children would receive by attending STA. Our children come home telling stories with smiles on their faces as they are clearly learning the rules of life and what it means to be a part of this society. I would highly recommend this institution to any family looking for a quality Catholic education.


St Thomas The Apostle 5

Posted January 27, 2015
- a parent
We have been at St. Thomas for almost 6 years. STA has a strong community of teachers, students, and parents. STA's teachers are dedicated and work hard and their effort shines through. The academics are strong and I know that my children will be well prepared for junior high and high school. Along with an impressive curriculum, the school has fantastic extracurriculars--including Spanish beginning in Kindergarten. At a time when many public schools are taking art and music out of their schedules, STA continues to enhance these programs. Students are allowed to take music lessons during the school day and their band and choral programs are great. The kids are using computers and IPads in the classroom on a regular basis. My 4th grader already knows how to do power point presentations and is comfortable public speaking. It is clear when you look at the test scores of STA's students and compare them to other schools STA is performing well. I have no doubt that the best interests of my children are the primary focus and that they aren't just another student in a sea of students. I am proud that my children attend STA and would highly recommend it.

St Thomas The Apostle 5

Posted January 20, 2015
- a parent
St Thomas the Apostle School(STA) is one of the best places a child could get an education. The promise of a faith based education is something that is important to us and STA has hit the mark. Our children have grown inside and outside the classroom. The teachers have been tremendous in recognizing when our children have needed additional services or just some additional attention in different areas to improve their grasp and performance. Each year STA continues to evolve through technology, extracurricular activities and community involvement. These early school years are pivotal in forming a well balance, and disciplined student. We have been so fortunate to have STA for this springboard. Well done STA and thanks to the staff for all their hard work and dedication.

St Thomas The Apostle 1

Posted October 29, 2014
- a parent
Horrible. Do not send your children here. If your child is not a model student they will do everything possible to break that child down and then throw their hands up in the air. It took me three years to get my kid back to the outgoing fun kid he was before St Thomas. Teachers are horrible and I'm pretty sure his 1st grade teacher was heavily medicated.


St Thomas The Apostle 5

Posted August 31, 2011
- a parent
STA provides a great Catholic school education. The teachers and staff make learning fun. Not only does it offer great academics but it offers a wide variety of extracurricular activities such as private music lessons, golf lesson, skiing and martial arts just to mention a few. The parents, teachers and staff make it a very welcoming environment for all students and their families.

St Thomas The Apostle 5

Posted November 10, 2010
- a parent
St. Thomas The Apostle is an excellent place for your child to build her fundamental educational foundation. The teachers are there because they love teaching children. The parental involvement is strong. The principal is a tireless advocate of creating a nurturing environment for learning. Another strength of the school is that the curriculum is enhanced with a strong variety of extra-curricula activities.

St Thomas The Apostle 5

Posted October 27, 2010
- a parent
St. Thomas the Apostle is a wonderful school. If you are looking for a nurturing, faith-filled environment with a strong academic program, St. Thomas the Apostle School fits the bill. Learning at STA extends far beyond the classroom. There, the students learn to be stewards of the earth, volunteers in their communities, and develop a tremendous sense of character and self-confidence as they move on to middle school. The teachers motivate students to excel to the best of their academic abilities while fostering their spiritual development. The administration listens to concerns and is responsive when and where appropriate. Parents, expect to be very involved in the school community. There are more than enough volunteering opportunities. Although my son no longer attends STA, his time there will always be an integral part of him.


St Thomas The Apostle 1

Posted February 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

St Thomas The Apostle 1

Posted February 02, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St Thomas The Apostle
25 Dover Road, West Hartford, CT  06119
(860) 236-6257
Last modified St Thomas The Apostle is a Private school that serves grades PK-5
St Thomas The Apostle Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 11 reviews. Top