Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St Brigid School

Private | PK-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in West Hartford

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $192,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,020.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 22, 2014

High quality, nurturing and safe environment, academically strong. My daughter has blossomed here and I strongly recommend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Great teachers and faculty. Small Environment. Christian values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2006

Hi im a student at St.Brigid School;im in 6th grade and I would just like to say that St.Brigid School is a great place to be for many reasons:the teachers all get along with each other(so do the students);you can be positive that you are in the right place and a great place;its a safe place to be;you can involve yourself in many different sports;make alot of new friends not just with students but parents and teachers too;and most importantly the teachers incourage excellence,they help you when you need help,etc.;this list could go on forever so I'll make my point,St.Brigid School is a terrific place to be!thanks for reading.....im proud to be a student of st.brigid school
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2004

I am a current parent of a student at St. Brigid School in West Hartford. We have had our son enrolled in this school for the past two years and needless to say we are truly impressed on several different levels. The faculty of this school takes great pride in overall welfare of their students, as an individual, academically and spiritually. More often than not, you don't find this attention to detail, and commitment to fundamental process in most elementary schools. This very much sets St. Brigid School in a different class, to the majority of Public / Private schools. The parent organization and involvement at St. Brigid's is extraordinary. The Home School Assoc. reaches out to new parents and makes you feel a part of your children's learning experience and most importantly a part of the St. Brigid's community. St. Brigid School is the learning environment for your children to thrive!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2004

My Goddaughter and her older sister are presently students at St. Brigid School. I have attended many functions at the school and am always impressed with the welcoming climate of this family-oriented school. There is a palpable sense of community, of being there for the purpose of helping each other to develop their fullest potential. Respect and caring for others is expected, and modeled throughout the day, from administrators and faculty, staff and students alike. Parents who are looking for a school that will teach their children a challenging range of academic subject matter, while also instilling a sense of caring, respect, and responsibility, should by all means go visit St. Brigid School. The sense of community and positive messages is apparent to anyone who looks at the faces of the children and listens to how they interact with their teachers and peers. My Goddaughter and her sister both love SBS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2004

Not only am I a proud parent of a student at St. Brigid School, but I am a proud teacher there as well. What makes SBS stand apart is its strong Christian values and philosophy. As a parent, I realize there is much more to learning than what can be obtained from a textbook. As a teacher, I know children must be provided opportunities to develop personal, social and leadership skills as well as a sense of membership and community. Many jobs in our society depend on such skills - skills that are not often learned in the classroom. At SBS, we add to the knowledge and skills children must acquire as they reach adulthood. Learning becomes fun as children discover that what they learn is practical and transferable. At. St. Brigid School, personalization occurs which increases their self esteem. Children are confident in their abilities which leads to their success!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2004

St. Brigid School has provided our high school sophomore with the tools necessary for a successful high school education while enrolled in several honors classes. She attended St. Brigid School from Pre-K through 8th grade and had a wonderful experience. Our second daughter has also attended St. Brigid School since Pre-K and is now in the Middle School with great results. Some of the best things about the school are traditions such as the Thanksgiving Prayer Service and May Crowning, both providing wonderful memories for life. The school is not only about the past because there is always something new happening from Ski Club to The Spring Productions. Another wonderful thing about St. Brigid School is the interaction between all the students, everyone takes care of each other. We feel we definitely made the right decision when we chose St. Brigid School for our children's education over 13 years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 3, 2004

My son is a proud graduate of Saint Brigid School. He joins the ranks of prominent business and political officials in West Hartford in praise of the excellent education received at Saint Brigid School.For nine precious and formative years, he was held to high standards, surrounded by caring and dedicated educators and nurtured by the 'family' of Saint Brigid School. Why does a teacher nominated for national recognition choose to stay at this small jewel of a school for 30 years? Is it a coincidence that so many current parents are also proud alumni? Saint Brigid School is regarded as an excellent example of successful Catholic education. A visit to SBS could be a great investment in your student's education. My family invested well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2004

Hi, I am a parent of Saint Brigid School. My daughter has been going to Saint Brigid School for 1 year. I don't like it at all, it is a waste of tuition money. She was in Public School before she was fine there the only reason was that we moved out of the area and into an area that the schools weren't challenging. So then my husband and I decided private school. One of the reasons why I don't like this school is because the staff do not respect nor get along with one another. The teachers talk about their personal lives, then educaton. So if I'd rate this school from 1-5 it would be a 1 if not a 0.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 41% 61%
Black 32% 13%
Hispanic 20% 20%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 4%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Hartford
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

100 Mayflower Street
West Hartford, CT 06110
Phone: (860) 561-2130

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Webster Hill School
West Hartford, CT


Wolcott School
West Hartford, CT



Duffy School
West Hartford, CT


Smith School
West Hartford, CT


Sedgwick Middle School
West Hartford, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT