Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
161 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 11 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


St Brigid School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 24, 2016
- a community member
I want to thank Melissa Seidl, middle school language arts and religion teacher and drama adviser at St. Brigid School in West Hartford. She is a phenomenally talented teacher who can genuinely relate to early adolescents. She manages to keep challenging literature alive even for boys. As a drama teacher and adviser, what she can accomplish with almost no resources is astounding. She just led the entire school, from toddlers to 8th graders, in a high-level production of "The Lion King." Her commitment to nurturing the individual gifts of her students goes so far as to create additional characters to add to the show in a way that enriched both the show and the child. She devotes countless unpaid hours to helping each child see more in themselves and to develop the courage to show it. She should be recognized for going far above and beyond the call in so many ways.

St Brigid School 5

Posted May 22, 2014
- a parent
High quality, nurturing and safe environment, academically strong. My daughter has blossomed here and I strongly recommend.


St Brigid School
no rating

Posted November 04, 2009
- a parent
Great teachers and faculty. Small Environment. Christian values.

St Brigid School 5

Posted June 03, 2006
- a student
Hi im a student at St.Brigid School;im in 6th grade and I would just like to say that St.Brigid School is a great place to be for many reasons:the teachers all get along with each other(so do the students);you can be positive that you are in the right place and a great place;its a safe place to be;you can involve yourself in many different sports;make alot of new friends not just with students but parents and teachers too;and most importantly the teachers incourage excellence,they help you when you need help,etc.;this list could go on forever so I'll make my point,St.Brigid School is a terrific place to be!thanks for reading.....im proud to be a student of st.brigid school

St Brigid School 5

Posted November 17, 2004
- a parent
I am a current parent of a student at St. Brigid School in West Hartford. We have had our son enrolled in this school for the past two years and needless to say we are truly impressed on several different levels. The faculty of this school takes great pride in overall welfare of their students, as an individual, academically and spiritually. More often than not, you don't find this attention to detail, and commitment to fundamental process in most elementary schools. This very much sets St. Brigid School in a different class, to the majority of Public / Private schools. The parent organization and involvement at St. Brigid's is extraordinary. The Home School Assoc. reaches out to new parents and makes you feel a part of your children's learning experience and most importantly a part of the St. Brigid's community. St. Brigid School is the learning environment for your children to thrive!


St Brigid School 5

Posted September 08, 2004
- a parent
My Goddaughter and her older sister are presently students at St. Brigid School. I have attended many functions at the school and am always impressed with the welcoming climate of this family-oriented school. There is a palpable sense of community, of being there for the purpose of helping each other to develop their fullest potential. Respect and caring for others is expected, and modeled throughout the day, from administrators and faculty, staff and students alike. Parents who are looking for a school that will teach their children a challenging range of academic subject matter, while also instilling a sense of caring, respect, and responsibility, should by all means go visit St. Brigid School. The sense of community and positive messages is apparent to anyone who looks at the faces of the children and listens to how they interact with their teachers and peers. My Goddaughter and her sister both love SBS!

St Brigid School 5

Posted September 08, 2004
- a parent
Not only am I a proud parent of a student at St. Brigid School, but I am a proud teacher there as well. What makes SBS stand apart is its strong Christian values and philosophy. As a parent, I realize there is much more to learning than what can be obtained from a textbook. As a teacher, I know children must be provided opportunities to develop personal, social and leadership skills as well as a sense of membership and community. Many jobs in our society depend on such skills - skills that are not often learned in the classroom. At SBS, we add to the knowledge and skills children must acquire as they reach adulthood. Learning becomes fun as children discover that what they learn is practical and transferable. At. St. Brigid School, personalization occurs which increases their self esteem. Children are confident in their abilities which leads to their success!

St Brigid School 5

Posted September 08, 2004
- a parent
St. Brigid School has provided our high school sophomore with the tools necessary for a successful high school education while enrolled in several honors classes. She attended St. Brigid School from Pre-K through 8th grade and had a wonderful experience. Our second daughter has also attended St. Brigid School since Pre-K and is now in the Middle School with great results. Some of the best things about the school are traditions such as the Thanksgiving Prayer Service and May Crowning, both providing wonderful memories for life. The school is not only about the past because there is always something new happening from Ski Club to The Spring Productions. Another wonderful thing about St. Brigid School is the interaction between all the students, everyone takes care of each other. We feel we definitely made the right decision when we chose St. Brigid School for our children's education over 13 years ago.


St Brigid School 5

Posted September 03, 2004
- a parent
My son is a proud graduate of Saint Brigid School. He joins the ranks of prominent business and political officials in West Hartford in praise of the excellent education received at Saint Brigid School.For nine precious and formative years, he was held to high standards, surrounded by caring and dedicated educators and nurtured by the 'family' of Saint Brigid School. Why does a teacher nominated for national recognition choose to stay at this small jewel of a school for 30 years? Is it a coincidence that so many current parents are also proud alumni? Saint Brigid School is regarded as an excellent example of successful Catholic education. A visit to SBS could be a great investment in your student's education. My family invested well!

St Brigid School 1

Posted May 24, 2004
- a parent
Hi, I am a parent of Saint Brigid School. My daughter has been going to Saint Brigid School for 1 year. I don't like it at all, it is a waste of tuition money. She was in Public School before she was fine there the only reason was that we moved out of the area and into an area that the schools weren't challenging. So then my husband and I decided private school. One of the reasons why I don't like this school is because the staff do not respect nor get along with one another. The teachers talk about their personal lives, then educaton. So if I'd rate this school from 1-5 it would be a 1 if not a 0.

Nearby schools

St Brigid School
100 Mayflower Street, West Hartford, CT  06110
(860) 561-2130
Last modified St Brigid School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top