Advertisement
Advertisement

Kingswood Oxford School

Private | 6-12 | 517 students

We provide a safe environment with a rich culture of opportunity and excellence.

 

Living in West Hartford

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $266,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,080.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 8, 2013

Kingswood Oxford School; The faculty, staff and administration at KO are experts in teaching students how to reach their fullest potential as an individual and a student while simultaneously teaching them the value of being an integral part of a community. The day school atmosphere allows families to stay involved and in touch while allowing their children to expand their horizons and grow as students and people outside the confines of their own town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2012

Why didn't this work? I tried to verify my e-mail, but no comment was posted.


Posted June 22, 2011

Kingswood Oxford is an excellent school. My son attended a catholic school prior to going there. Although the educational instruction at the catholic school was good, the rigidity and lack of personal support for the children were negatives. At Kingswood Oxford the concept of a learning community is exemplified at it's highest. My son thrived at Kingswood Oxford and became a good athlete as well. Their insistence on participating in sports is a positive and helps to teach kids how to work with others in teams effectively. It complements the rigorous educational requirements and helps to mold the complete student. As someone already mentioned, students do not have to participate in competitive sports. The school has completed the building of a new science center are committed to providing the best science and math training available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2009

My son spent 5 years at KO. He struggled at first - just coming from a public school, but the staff and advisors helped hime catch up and he has surpassed his freinds in public school. KO pushes their students to succeed. I wish the sports requirement would have tapered off as a Jr. and Sr. with so many other activities going on, but overall it's a great experience in spite of the large tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

Kingswood-Oxford Middle School was a terrific experience for me. At the school, you get the feeling that teachers and faculty really care about you and teachers are available and always willing to meet with students. There are many academic programs offered here; pretty much as many as you would want to take. Art and music programs here are outstanding. It is required that you participate in a sport each season and all sports are represented. Do not get scared about this however because it s not required for you to be on a competitive team that plays other schools. Parents have the opportunity here to become very involved. They can volunteer at school events and can meet with or talk to teachers as often as they would like. Overall, a great choice if you want a comfortable environment that offers the opportunity to get a real one-on-one relationship with the faculty.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 5, 2004

My son attended K-O for grades 6-12. As a result of the fine education he obtained at this school he is attending an excellent college. At K-O he was encouraged to develop leadership skills, to be an active participant in athletics, and to be responsible for his own learning. I am proud to tell my friends that he was a graduate of this fine school. However, I am somewhat disappointed by the frequent large turnover of talented staff. Rumor has it that this is due to lack of support from the school administration. What did I like best about K-O? There are numerous opportunities for students to explore creative outlets for sharing their learning. The Strength and Conditioning program that slowly developed under the guidance of a youthful and enthusiastic coach helped my son develop more confidence as an athlete and as a student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2004

My child attended for his 6th grade year only. The distance of our town compared to the school was the major reason for his decision not to return. He is now in 8th grade and states that if we lived closer to the school, therefore allowing more opportunity for him to spend time with his school friends (outside of school) on a more regular basis, he would have stayed. He does miss the caring teachers and especially the challenging instruction at KO. Having had a year at KO and now being back in the public has schools has given him a true sense of appreciation for what KO offered. As parents, we could not have asked for a better, well rounded year for our son. Academics, Sports and social events are nicely balanced. Although he only spent 1 year, he walked away with a lifetime of usefull information.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I am actually an alumn of Kingswood-Oxford (Class of 02) and having been in college for a couple of years now, I can say that Kingswood-Oxford has truly prepared me for college work and given me the leadership skills that will be essential in the future. Kingswood is a great school with great people who honestly care about the Kingswood-Oxford Community. I plan on sending my children to Kingswood-Oxford when the time comes.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

My child has learned so much and has grown as a person because of this school. I would never send my child anywhere else.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 62%
Black 6% 15%
Asian 4% N/A
Two or more races 3% N/A
Hispanic 2% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school West Hartford Public Schools
Glastonbury Public Schools
Farmington Valley Public Schools
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 0% (2012)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2012)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Barron's Highly Selective
Barron's Most Selective
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School social worker/counselors(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 4:00 pm
School Leader's name
  • Dennis Bisgaard
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (860) 236-3651

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Mentoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Public - West Hfd Only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Diving
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Squash
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Gymnastics
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Squash
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Chamber music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Game club
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Investment Club
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Literary magazine
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • Peer Mentors
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Technology club
  • United Students
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • We provide a rigorous and engaging learning experience for strong and motivated students. Our community values academic and co-curricular excellence, ethical citizenry, and meaningful relationships with our students and their families. Small classes are taught by exceptional teachers who encourage students to engage both widely and deeply in the liberal arts. Our graduates are well rounded and prepared remarkably well for the challenges of highly selective colleges.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


6 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
200
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
350
Students typically come from these schools
West Hartford Public Schools
Glastonbury Public Schools
Farmington Valley Public Schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$35000 - $35000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
academic merit scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Barron's Highly Selective
Barron's Most Selective
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2012
2 year college - 0%
4 year college - 100%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

170 Kingswood Road
West Hartford, CT 06119
Website: Click here
Phone: (860) 727-5000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Bristow Middle School
West Hartford, CT


Ben Bronz Academy
West Hartford, CT


Sedgwick Middle School
West Hartford, CT



Hartford Christian Academy
West Hartford, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT