Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
6-12
Private
West Hartford, CT
Students enrolled: 517
Before care: No
After care: No

5 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Kingswood Oxford School 5

Posted July 08, 2013
- a parent
Kingswood Oxford School; The faculty, staff and administration at KO are experts in teaching students how to reach their fullest potential as an individual and a student while simultaneously teaching them the value of being an integral part of a community. The day school atmosphere allows families to stay involved and in touch while allowing their children to expand their horizons and grow as students and people outside the confines of their own town.

Kingswood Oxford School 2

Posted April 27, 2012
- a community member
Why didn't this work? I tried to verify my e-mail, but no comment was posted.


Kingswood Oxford School 5

Posted June 22, 2011
- a parent
Kingswood Oxford is an excellent school. My son attended a catholic school prior to going there. Although the educational instruction at the catholic school was good, the rigidity and lack of personal support for the children were negatives. At Kingswood Oxford the concept of a learning community is exemplified at it's highest. My son thrived at Kingswood Oxford and became a good athlete as well. Their insistence on participating in sports is a positive and helps to teach kids how to work with others in teams effectively. It complements the rigorous educational requirements and helps to mold the complete student. As someone already mentioned, students do not have to participate in competitive sports. The school has completed the building of a new science center are committed to providing the best science and math training available.
1 person found this helpful

Kingswood Oxford School 5

Posted May 25, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Kingswood Oxford School 4

Posted May 07, 2009
- a parent
My son spent 5 years at KO. He struggled at first - just coming from a public school, but the staff and advisors helped hime catch up and he has surpassed his freinds in public school. KO pushes their students to succeed. I wish the sports requirement would have tapered off as a Jr. and Sr. with so many other activities going on, but overall it's a great experience in spite of the large tuition.
1 person found this helpful


Kingswood Oxford School 5

Posted May 05, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Kingswood Oxford School 5

Posted October 18, 2005
- a former student
Kingswood-Oxford Middle School was a terrific experience for me. At the school, you get the feeling that teachers and faculty really care about you and teachers are available and always willing to meet with students. There are many academic programs offered here; pretty much as many as you would want to take. Art and music programs here are outstanding. It is required that you participate in a sport each season and all sports are represented. Do not get scared about this however because it s not required for you to be on a competitive team that plays other schools. Parents have the opportunity here to become very involved. They can volunteer at school events and can meet with or talk to teachers as often as they would like. Overall, a great choice if you want a comfortable environment that offers the opportunity to get a real one-on-one relationship with the faculty.

Kingswood Oxford School 4

Posted November 05, 2004
- a parent
My son attended K-O for grades 6-12. As a result of the fine education he obtained at this school he is attending an excellent college. At K-O he was encouraged to develop leadership skills, to be an active participant in athletics, and to be responsible for his own learning. I am proud to tell my friends that he was a graduate of this fine school. However, I am somewhat disappointed by the frequent large turnover of talented staff. Rumor has it that this is due to lack of support from the school administration. What did I like best about K-O? There are numerous opportunities for students to explore creative outlets for sharing their learning. The Strength and Conditioning program that slowly developed under the guidance of a youthful and enthusiastic coach helped my son develop more confidence as an athlete and as a student.
1 person found this helpful


Kingswood Oxford School 5

Posted October 19, 2004
- a parent
My child attended for his 6th grade year only. The distance of our town compared to the school was the major reason for his decision not to return. He is now in 8th grade and states that if we lived closer to the school, therefore allowing more opportunity for him to spend time with his school friends (outside of school) on a more regular basis, he would have stayed. He does miss the caring teachers and especially the challenging instruction at KO. Having had a year at KO and now being back in the public has schools has given him a true sense of appreciation for what KO offered. As parents, we could not have asked for a better, well rounded year for our son. Academics, Sports and social events are nicely balanced. Although he only spent 1 year, he walked away with a lifetime of usefull information.
1 person found this helpful

Kingswood Oxford School 5

Posted September 07, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Kingswood Oxford School
170 Kingswood Road, West Hartford, CT  06119
(860) 727-5000
Last modified Kingswood Oxford School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Kingswood Oxford School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top