Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Edith E. MacKrille School

Public | PK-4 | 399 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 25, 2013

When you take a good school in a failing district and tear it apart, spreading the good teachers thinly amongst the district instead of maintaining a good example for the other schools to follow - you destroy the entire system. * A star removed for being very low tech - most teachers do not even check their email more than once a week. * Another star removed for being illiterate while promoting literacy - the teachers and, especially, the principal should stand as good examples for the students they lead. This includes proper spelling and grammar in their work. * A third star removed for an overall lack of communication between the school and parents. * Unfortunately, a side effect of the district's push to improve itself brings us to a fourth star removed. The push is to "teach to the test" for improving results in the standardized testing. The result, as in any other school which implements such a priority, is that the students learn to pass a test by giving memorized answers rather than learn to think, be creative and solve problems for themselves.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 30, 2010

the school has shown me all the was on how to be a spectaular student and my favorite teacher was ms. virgalla she is a wonderful sciense teacher and a all out amazing person and a cool home room teacher
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 1, 2009

I love Mackrille because of the learning atmosphere they provide to my children -- the teachers are the best -- they take the time to help them improve and challenge them to be the best they can possibly be. My kids enjoy the experience they get at Mackrille and I know they are getting the best quality education that they can possibly get. This is why Mackrille was chosen as a National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence -- a distinguished award so well deserved. There is no better school, in my opinion, anywhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2009

My child attens Mckrille school. While the teachers are harworking and the students are nice, the administration leaves much to be desired. The secretary and nurse are very nice, but the principal is very rude and does not have very good people skills. She is only concerned about the state and federal test and I am very unhappy with her performance as principal. I hear some of the things she says to her staff and, as a parent, and professional myself, I would not want to have her as my boss.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

Mackrille is a Great school. Mrs. Biagetti is a wonderful principal. She keeps everyone in line. Mackrille is the 'friendliest' school. My children are doing very well in Mackrille school and are above their grade level. There are plenty of great parent/child activities throughout the year. The teachers are great. Mackrille is a great school. I would highly recommend it to anyone moving into West Haven who cares about their child's education. Keep up the GREAT work Mackrille! 5 star school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2007

Mackrille is great. [My son] is doing very well and the teachers are very caring. The school has great pride which parents should be thankful for. Its nice to see how much involvement there is from parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2007

I had three children in this school. While many of the teachers are outstanding, the atmosphere in the school is dominated by the direction of the current principal, Mrs. Biagetti. The school is highly focused on achieving the goals set forth for the Connecticut Mastery Test and spend months doing nothing else than drilling the children to take these tests. Mrs. Biagetti is all about the appearance that her school is exceptional and forgets about the daily tribulations and human side of the children and their families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

Mackrille is a great school. I feel very fortunate that this school in my neighborhood. The teaching staff is great and the principle Catherine Biagetti does her job 100%. She's tough, but this is one of the reasons it's a blue ribbion school. The PTA is great however,the parent involemnet is not 95% it is much much lower, but the parents that are involed make up for the parents who don't participate. I have had one child complete Mackrille and one in fourth grade now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 18, 2005

I have 1 child currently at Mackrille and one who just graduated from Mackrille in 2005! My experience with the principal and all the teachers as well as the nurse and secretary has been positive. My younger daughter was having some difficulties and got the help she needed. She now is right where she should be because the teacers REALLY CARE ! Mrs. Biagetti does run a tight ship but she is a great principal. She has always been nice to my children and myself. Mackrille school has been a great learning facility for my children and I would highly recommend this school to any family looking for a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2004

The principal leadership at this school is outstanding. I have three children(one now at Baily middle school)all honor students that attend this school. The number one concern at this school is education, and our(Mackrille) mastery scores prove that.Teachers are meant to teach, not babysit and you will find that here, thank you Mrs. Biagetti. The parental involvement is 95%. The PTA is fantastic and I personally have not found one unhappy kid at this school. I rate this school an A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2004

I had two children in this school. It was a much better school when Mr. Fratini was the principal. Ever since the new principal Mrs. Biagetti took over, it has gone down hill fast. I can't believe how stressed out the teachers are because she puts so much on them. They constantly feel like their jobs are in jeoparty and the children have suffered. All the best teachers that have taught at this school have retired because they were not happy since the new principal came. I have a child in this school now that has had some learning problems, and the principal has simply just pushed him through the grades, and he still isn't up to the grade level acidemically that he should be, but yet they just keep pushing him right through. I wouldn't suggest sending your child to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
86%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 59% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
79%

2009

 
 
75%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 63% in 2012.

63 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
90%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
91%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 64% in 2012.

64 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
76%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 65% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
93%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female69%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White89%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%

Reading

All Students61%
Female59%
Male63%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White72%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%

Writing

All Students76%
Female75%
Male77%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White79%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students77%
Female73%
Male81%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White91%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%

Reading

All Students72%
Female73%
Male71%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White85%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%

Writing

All Students79%
Female88%
Male69%
Blackn/a
Asian Americann/a
Hispanicn/a
White84%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Students with disabilitiesn/a
Students without disabilities84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Scale: % level 4 or 5

About the tests


In 2011-2012 Connecticut used the Connecticut Mastery Test (CMT) to test students' skills in reading, writing and math in grades 3 through 8, and in science in grades 5 and 8. The CMT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.
Beginning in the 2009-2010 school year, the Connecticut Department of Education implemented new definitions of what it means to be proficient on the CMT test. The new standards for proficiency are higher than in previous years and the percent of students earning a proficient score is expected to be lower as a result of this change.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 48% 62%
Hispanic 25% 19%
Black 17% 13%
Asian 5% 4%
Two or more races 5% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 49%N/A34%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

806 Jones Hill Rd at Chase
West Haven, CT 06516
Phone: (203) 931-6820

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Seth G. Haley School
West Haven, CT


Washington School
West Haven, CT


Anna V. Molloy School
West Haven, CT



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT