Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-4
Public
West Haven, CT
Students enrolled: 396

4 stars
Based on 15 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


17 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Edith E. Mackrille School 3

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
There needs to be a great deal of improvement in their ability to meet the needs of special need students. When there is an accommodation that is made it should not be considered a special favor to the student or the parents. It is a matter of complying with the law, specifically, The American with Disabilities Act. The principal needs to conduct herself in a more Professional and Educated manner when dealing with the Students and Parents. The Principal should set an appropriate example for her staff members with respect to not just what is said, but in the manner in which it is said. There needs to be more respect regarding Confidential Information. Absences need to be recorded Accurately and Promptly. The same Parent Volunteers and Parent Chaperones are always used. They need to give other parents an opportunity to participate. There needs to be a Competitive Hiring Process for Administrators. There needs to be Ethnic Diversity in this School and District Wide to address the vast Diversity of the Student and Parent Population. The School and District need to create a Partnership with the Parents (Home). It needs to be more than just words written on a paper.

Edith E. Mackrille School 1

Posted June 25, 2013
- a parent
When you take a good school in a failing district and tear it apart, spreading the good teachers thinly amongst the district instead of maintaining a good example for the other schools to follow - you destroy the entire system. * A star removed for being very low tech - most teachers do not even check their email more than once a week. * Another star removed for being illiterate while promoting literacy - the teachers and, especially, the principal should stand as good examples for the students they lead. This includes proper spelling and grammar in their work. * A third star removed for an overall lack of communication between the school and parents. * Unfortunately, a side effect of the district's push to improve itself brings us to a fourth star removed. The push is to "teach to the test" for improving results in the standardized testing. The result, as in any other school which implements such a priority, is that the students learn to pass a test by giving memorized answers rather than learn to think, be creative and solve problems for themselves.


Edith E. Mackrille School 0
no rating

Posted March 30, 2010
- a student
the school has shown me all the was on how to be a spectaular student and my favorite teacher was ms. virgalla she is a wonderful sciense teacher and a all out amazing person and a cool home room teacher

Edith E. Mackrille School 5

Posted October 01, 2009
- a parent
I love Mackrille because of the learning atmosphere they provide to my children -- the teachers are the best -- they take the time to help them improve and challenge them to be the best they can possibly be. My kids enjoy the experience they get at Mackrille and I know they are getting the best quality education that they can possibly get. This is why Mackrille was chosen as a National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence -- a distinguished award so well deserved. There is no better school, in my opinion, anywhere.

Edith E. Mackrille School 1

Posted September 10, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Edith E. Mackrille School 0
no rating

Posted May 15, 2009
- a parent
My child attens Mckrille school. While the teachers are harworking and the students are nice, the administration leaves much to be desired. The secretary and nurse are very nice, but the principal is very rude and does not have very good people skills. She is only concerned about the state and federal test and I am very unhappy with her performance as principal. I hear some of the things she says to her staff and, as a parent, and professional myself, I would not want to have her as my boss.

Edith E. Mackrille School 3

Posted September 15, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Edith E. Mackrille School 5

Posted May 30, 2008
- a parent
Mackrille is a Great school. Mrs. Biagetti is a wonderful principal. She keeps everyone in line. Mackrille is the 'friendliest' school. My children are doing very well in Mackrille school and are above their grade level. There are plenty of great parent/child activities throughout the year. The teachers are great. Mackrille is a great school. I would highly recommend it to anyone moving into West Haven who cares about their child's education. Keep up the GREAT work Mackrille! 5 star school


Edith E. Mackrille School 5

Posted March 11, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Edith E. Mackrille School 5

Posted December 05, 2007
- a parent
Mackrille is great. [My son] is doing very well and the teachers are very caring. The school has great pride which parents should be thankful for. Its nice to see how much involvement there is from parents.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Edith E. Mackrille School
806 Jones Hill Rd at Chase, West Haven, CT  06516
(203) 931-6820
Last modified Edith E. Mackrille School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Edith E. Mackrille School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top