Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 9 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Our Lady Of Victory School 5

Posted February 21, 2014
- a parent
We are vey happy with OLOV. It is academically rigorous with a focus on community and instilling good work habits and a strong moral compass. There are wonderful enrichment activities such as chess club and sports. Children go from grade to grade with the same group instilling a sense of security. Younger students have older student buddies. They participate in community service (food drives, visiting SeaCrest nursing home, etc) enhancing students understanding of community and volunteerism. Your child will really feel like a part of the community. 8th graders from the school greet Kindergarteners by name when they see then in town. The good manners shown by the older students is wonderful and the little ones beam with pride that the older students care about and respect them. The bottom line must always be the academics. At OLOV children come ready to learn and be challenged and parents support that goal. This is what sets OLOV apart and makes it worth every penny. We researched extensively before choosing this school. You can call the Archdiocese of Hartford to get the test scores for Catholic schools. OLOV had the strongest scores of 4 schools we considered.

Our Lady Of Victory School 5

Posted June 02, 2011
- a parent
My daughter went to the Pre-K at OLOV for both the 3 year old & 4 year old program. It was a wonderful experience! For a class of about 10 her first year & about 15 her second year she had 2 loving teachers (one teacher & an aid actually). Ms. Maureen & Ms. Michelle are wonderful teachers, very patient & caring & they children learn & play in a safe environment. I look forward to my younger daughter attending when she is old enough.


Our Lady Of Victory School 5

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
Teachers and staff really care about the education of the children. I have had a great experience. My child transfered from public school to olov and it is worth every penny!!!

Our Lady Of Victory School 0
no rating

Posted October 09, 2009
- a parent
It is a loving and nurturing environment while offering the best in academics.

Our Lady Of Victory School 0
no rating

Posted September 16, 2009
- a parent
I love Our Lady of VIctory because it is really like a family. They take interest in what you have to say. The classes aren't too big and the faculty is wonderful!


Our Lady Of Victory School 5

Posted July 23, 2009
- a parent
I'm a father of two OLOV students currently enrolled. The schools largest weakness without a doubt is the lack of leadership. Coupled with a lack of enthusiasm and dedication. This wonderful school could be greatly improved if placed under new leadership. The current principal, Mrs. Bartolotta and Father Joe, leave much to be desired. OLOV has an excellent, dedicated staff of teachers who are second to none and there is tons of parental envolvement.

Our Lady Of Victory School 0
no rating

Posted June 20, 2009
- a parent
We pulled our child from this school because of problems with the current principal. We simply wanted some questions we had answered and she flatly refused. While we miss the community and many of the excellent teachers, the principal's attitude and performance drove us out.

Our Lady Of Victory School 3

Posted January 21, 2007
- a parent
This school is average at best. Tuition is $1000 more per year than the other private school in town. Spanish teacher is new and amazing!! They cannot hold on to a principle, they had a great one a few years back, he was here for one year then left. Now one of the teachers filled in, which was supposed to be temporary, and is now leading the school. Now the politics are worse than before.


Our Lady Of Victory School 5

Posted January 17, 2007
- a parent
I have 3 ELL children and all staff and principal have been amazing. This is a wonderful Catholic school with a very family-oriented culture.

Our Lady Of Victory School 5

Posted December 11, 2006
- a parent
This is a wonderful school. The teachers are wonderful with the kids. I have two kids in the school who are doing extremely well academically and religiously. It is just a wonderful school

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Our Lady Of Victory School
620 Jones Hill Road, West Haven, CT  06516
(203) 932-6457
Last modified Our Lady Of Victory School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Our Lady Of Victory School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top