Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
West Haven, CT
Students enrolled: 187
Before care: No
 

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


St. Lawrence School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a parent
We interviewed at both catholic schools in West Haven. My kids spent a half-day here last year and they were immediately drawn in by the supportive, friendly environment. They started three weeks ago and they both LOVE their teachers and have easily made friends. My son, who was bored and discouraged from going above and beyond in public school is finally being challenged, and my daughter, who was struggling in public school is finally getting some extra help! We love the teachers and administrators, and the parents are also all very friendly and helpful.

St. Lawrence School 4

Posted April 26, 2011
- a parent
Very good school overall, small you know who is who after your child attends there for a while, which is great! All staff members take action immediatley if anything is brought to their attention. Teachers are good, small class, your kid dont have to be crowded on a 30 student classroom for lack of attention. The only thing is the name calling, kinda true as stated on another review, however I did addresed that matter with the principal and the situation was gone. Other than that, I guess it would of be worst on the public school system...for now Im planning having my kid finish her 8th grade here.


St. Lawrence School 1

Posted March 09, 2011
- a parent
My son attends St Lawrence School and this will be the only year that he attends. Next year he will be going back to public school. I wanted him to attend Catholic school because I thought he would be around smart, caring and catholic children. Boy was I wrong the children that attend this school are stuck up snobs that abuse each other with their mouths. There is so much name calling and mental and emotional abuse that goes on between the children at this school. Much more than any public school that he has ever attended. I feel like I wasted alot of money and a whole year of my childs life was wasted. Do you and your child a favor and stay AWAY from this school.

St. Lawrence School 5

Posted October 27, 2010
- a parent
Having an older son graduate from Our Lady of Victory we thought it was only natural for us to send our youngest, attending pre-k & kind. After enough politics of the school, lack of principle support, we decided we needed to leave and went for an interview at St. Lawrence. We were immediately drawn to the warmth of everyone in the office and the principle personally walked us around to meet each teacher and tour the school. We were amazed how all the children we met smiled and said good morning while he knew their names. We learned that the principle comes from one of the middle schools and has been implementing a variety of new projects to improve the school, including Smart Boards. So far our daughter, "LOVES" her new school with an abundance of new friends. We are totally content with the decision to join the St. Lawrence Family.

St. Lawrence School 5

Posted October 09, 2007
- a parent
I really like this school, specially for the education, they get religion, spanish classes, well everything, they have great teachers


St. Lawrence School 5

Posted October 03, 2007
- a student
I currently go to this school, and it is excellent. My brother and sister attended this school. My sister now is at a great collage and my brother is now at a great high school. Mrs.Donais is a great teacher 'if Mrs. Donais did not teach me,' my sister said, 'I wouldn't have passed (with an A+) Highschool English!' Mrs. Kuzia is also a great teacher, she makes sure we get all the work before we move on. Mr. Marino is very funny and teaches in a funny sort of way. He will also teach public speaking. I am currently in seventh grade and I am happy that I have attended Saint Lawrence School since Pre-K. Trust me, even if you join Saint Lawrence in 8th grade, You will become part of the family quickly. We consist of small classes so it is easier to learn and pay attention. I love SLS!

St. Lawrence School 5

Posted March 26, 2007
- a staff
This review submitted without content.

St. Lawrence School 1

Posted December 03, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


St. Lawrence School 2

Posted November 15, 2004
- a student
Honestly, I have been going here since Kindergarten and I would hate to leave now. Not because I like the school, but because I've been here for 9 years. Personnaly, this school goes down hill every year. Last year in 7th grade,we had 3 math teachers quit for no apperent reason. The first week of 7th grade the teacher quit because she 'couldn't handle the kids'. Now I am struggling with math and have been switched from math teachers twice ALREADY. My parents are not happy with all the time and money they put in this school it should be better its nonsense.

St. Lawrence School 5

Posted October 25, 2004
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

St. Lawrence School
231 Main Street, West Haven, CT  06516
(203) 933-2518
Last modified St. Lawrence School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
St. Lawrence School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top