Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hurlbutt Elementary School 4

Posted January 06, 2014
- a parent
We are very happy with HES. Weston schools are excellent, all of them. Parents and the PTO really make this school great, families are very involved.

Hurlbutt Elementary School 5

Posted December 19, 2013
- a parent
I just love our little school! I have four children, two in Hurlbutt and two starting there soon. The environment is warm and welcoming and every staff member top- notch from the teachers to the security staff to the janitors. Because it is only k - 2, Hurlbutt has a superb focus on early learners. Teachers and administrators know every student. Walking through the school with my second grader feels like being with a celebrity! The overall feel of the school is kindness and inclusiveness. I am so pleased to be part of the Hurlbutt community.


Hurlbutt Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2010
- a parent
Hurlbutt is a wonderful school! The teachers and staff excel at helping all children develop at their own pace. The principal is wonderful, caring and genuinely interested in every child, as are the teachers. We have been especially pleased with the early learning center (preschool program) which provides multiple services for special needs children. The teachers, aides, and therapists who work in the center are amazing and have created a nurturing, fun, and creative environment for kids to learn and grow.

Hurlbutt Elementary School 5

Posted May 15, 2008
- a parent
We find the school to be outstanding. They have all the greatest support for maximizing the learning experience for young children. The teachers are smart and motivated. The parents participate. They have advanced learning tools like interactive white boards. They have special education and support programs. And they have great after school activities. The admin staff is great and supportive. Great school!

Hurlbutt Elementary School 5

Posted May 04, 2006
- a parent
Hurlbutt Elementary is an outstanding school by any measure. The private schools in Fairfield County do a much weaker job in many ways of preparing kids for college (and getting them accepted to top schools). The new principal is outstanding and the schools' reading program is amazing. The school is really focusing on differentiation and kids of all abilities do well in this environment. Having sent our children to schools in several other states over the years, Hurlbutt is by far the best education they have received. The PTO is veru successful in fundraising, and the extracurriculars for the children (Math Club, Chess Club, Little Scientist, Karate, Clay, etc....) are terrific. Can't say enought good things about Hurlbutt, a warm school that provides an outstanding education.


Hurlbutt Elementary School 5

Posted December 10, 2005
- a parent
My son is in first grade at Hurlbutt and we are really happy with the school. The administrators are very receptive to parents ideas and the curriculum is excellent. We moved to Weston because of the stellar school system and have not been disappointed at all. Are only wish would be that the advanced program would start earlier than it does. Currently, they have an advanced placement program that starts in 3rd grade.There are tons of afterschool activites to get involved in. Everything from sports, science, games, art, ceramics and even a math club. The PTO is a big force and parents can get as involved as they like. It is a small town school but has incredibly high standards for teaching and curriculms.

Hurlbutt Elementary School 4

Posted September 06, 2005
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Hurlbutt Elementary School 5

Posted April 01, 2005
- a parent
Parental involvement is high. This school is as good as sending your child to a private school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hurlbutt Elementary School
9 School Rd, Weston, CT  06883
(203) 222-2522
Last modified Hurlbutt Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-2
Hurlbutt Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top