Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 21 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


22 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Staples High School 1

Posted April 11, 2014
- a student
Not academically rigorous, does not compare with private schools and boarding schools in CT. I was at private school all my life but I went to staples for high school, because it was supposed to be good and private school was getting expensive. I went to staples for a two years- I took a lot of AP classes and a lot of the teachers barely followed the strict "AP" curriculum, and did not prepare us at all for the AP tests. I did so well at staples in AP and honors classes simply because they were TOO EASY; and other kids do well for the same reason. It is a rich town so it does not face the troubles that other public schools in CT do (i.e. bridgeport central); so it rates high as one of the best/high funded schools in the state but it isn't necessarily the most rigorous. I went back to my old school , and I learned a much more there, from much better teachers who cared about their students, than I ever did at staples. The kids at staples were racist, homophobic, and just generally arrogant and mean. My peers from my private school were much more mature and humble, even though they came from the same wealthy backgrounds, and some wealthier, than staples kids.

Staples High School 4

Posted October 15, 2012
- a student
Staples High School when it comes to the facts is easily one of the top public schools in the Nation and even competes with highly regarded private schools. However when it comes to the true nature of the school, I find it not to be as perfect as its status. This school is the equivalent of Harvard in education and Alabama in football compared to other schools.: but its a public school. Believe it or not, that actually is one of Staples greatest faults. This school is built for students of the absolute utmost excelance on the sports field and in the classroom. If you are anything average, you don't really realize how special this school is because you dont get to play on the brand new turf field or take part in the incedible honors program. Here if you are a genius, an athlete or both you have everything but if not, Staples ranking in the nation isn't so easy to comprehend. I'm a 3.6 student who plays for a poorly respected Ice Hockey Team, but I love it. I just thought I'd offer the other side to a school which is almost always seen as being the best.


Staples High School 5

Posted December 23, 2010
- a parent
Excellent school system, teachers, administrators, facilities, teamwork. Demanding academically, rich music and art program, excellent sports teams for both boys and girls.

Staples High School 5

Posted July 24, 2010
- a community member
The School design assists students with A select atmosphere to study, the students have room to grow and have advantages of the most proper equipment in all areas of study and fitness.

Staples High School 3

Posted May 25, 2010
- a parent
Great school if your kid is gifted. Otherwise, only so-so. School is big, so they can afford to lose a bunch of kids and still have good overall ratings. The principal said 90% of the kids at the school are successful (meaning they graduate). That leaves out 150 of the current students. That's a lot for an area as successful as Westport


Staples High School 1

Posted December 14, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Staples High School 4

Posted October 19, 2009
- a parent
I think the school has gotten a little too big. My third child is a freshmen and my older two graduated in 2008 and 2009. Lately, it is harder to see teachers for extra help. Things can feel a little impersonal. Popular classes fill up quickly. It is very competitive because there are so many bright, athletic and talented students. There is a sense of entitlement and elitism among some of the students and parents. On the other hand, there are many great teachers and the kids come out of the high school well prepared for college.

Staples High School 5

Posted September 04, 2009
- a student
This school is incredible. Students are all friendly and pretty easy to approach. Variety of classes and quality of teachers and faculty are on par with most colleges. Being that it's located in one of the most successful zip codes in the U.S., there's a lot of pressure to try and do well, but what most students don't realize until after they've graduated is how well Staples rates against other high schools in the country; colleges know that Staples is much more challenging than the average high school, and that automatically gives everyone an edge over people from other schools. The one small complaint I could even think someone could make about it is that it's a bit large for a high school, but classes are capped at around 25, and you get to know your teachers really well. With a public school this good, private school isn't even worth considering.


Staples High School 5

Posted May 29, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Staples High School 5

Posted January 25, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Staples High School
70 North Ave, Westport, CT  06880
(203) 341-1210
Last modified Staples High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Staples High School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top