Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Wilton High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 11, 2013

tHIS IS A GREAT SCHOOL, TEACHERS ARE REALLY NICE . The sport are fantastic . GO WARRIORS!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 9, 2013

I believe the school is highly overrated. The class sizes have been growing and growing as parents are flocking to the town in hopes that the school's high test scores will get their children into the best colleges. I have seen the classes filled with 30 students and there isn't really a focus on learning among them. The students care more about sports than academics and it is dragging everyone else down due to their big egos. I am glad I am getting out of there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 16, 2011

I've had three kids attend WHS, with 2 graduating. My other child transferred to a prep school after freshman year. I agree with many who have written that these kids would probably have excelled regardless of the school....and I don't give WHS much credit in their success. Too many of the teachers here are just going through the motions, without the kids best interests in mind. There are some exceptional teachers here...just not enough of them. I've never had much esteem for the administration of the high school, nor of the school system in general, primarily because there's too much administration. These folks get a job for life...yet do little or nothing to actually contribute to the education process. Lest you think I'm just a disgruntled parent, I've always been impressed with the junior and elementary schools. There, the teachers are more involved with the kids, make learning fun for them,and really care about the kids welfare. I've lived in Wilton for over 20 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2010

Grossly overrated. My children's experience has been very 50-50. Too many teachers don't really care about truly teaching; they just want to get in and out and seem to resent requests for extra help. Often just cursory assistance is given. Too many teachers seem to be hired because of who they know, rather than because of outstanding credentials. I am of the impression that the schools used to be much better -- they are now just coasting on their reputation. Most kids here would succeed anywhere because of good genes and motivated parents who are willing to hire tutors when their teachers disappoint. Interestingly, the junior high is probably the strongest link in this district. Keep an eye out -- tests scores will be getting progressively lower in Wilton.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

Excellent school system Great teachers and resources.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 28, 2009

I think wilton high school teacher need more work hard byt over all excellent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2009

my daughter started WHS in 2009 and loves it. she is a highly gifted student and it is a great fit for her. she loves the academics, sports, after school activities, drama, and the home coming dance! yes, some of the teachers are not the best, but overall, the school is what we were looking for.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2006

I have three children who went through the Wilton schools from kindergarten through HS graduation. All three were different learners--two gifted, one highly and 1 special ed. All were well prepared for collge and are doing well there now.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2004

Although Wilton offers an excellent education, one cannot overlook the terrible environment that it fosters. It breeds mass competition among the students rather than trying to make it an encouraging and collaborative environment. The school makes little effort to help students who are not interested in attending top tier schools or who are interested in joining the work force post-graduation. Unlike other schools that encourage participation in alternative programs such as the Japanese Program in Norwalk or the Work-Study option, this school uses it as a last resort. They are more concerned with numbers and their reputation than they are with what is truly best for the students. It is of little wonder than so many kids have a very distorted sense of how school is supposed to be and why so many are unhappy. Post-Wilton I was very prepared for university but the 'cost' for it was too high.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 14, 2004

My two older daughters have been through the Wilton School System including Wilton High School and after living in other parts of the country and dealing with many other public school systems with my two younger daughters, people should understand how very fortunate they are to send their children to Wilton High School. No school system is flawless, but comparatively I would give anything at this point to send my two younger daughters back to Wilton for an exceptional education that they clearly have not gotten anywhere else we have lived.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

I and my three children moved to Wilton over the Christmas holiday. I was unsure what to expect. You always worry as a parent that your children will not be happy, but my daughter, who is in Wilton High, found the transition very comfortable with the help of Ms. Faker, teachers, and other staff. They were all so kind and put forth much effort to make Jennifer feel at ease. The recent hate crimes, from what I understand, are isolated incidents and are not tolerated. You will find that no matter where you are, there will be some bad. I feel like Wilton High provides a great environment for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2003

If you're looking for a nurturing environment, look elsewhere. If you're looking for tough love without your kids' best interests at heart, you've found the right place. This school district is way overrated.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 79% in 2013.

318 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
98%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 81% in 2013.

320 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
98%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
98%
Science

The state average for Science was 82% in 2013.

317 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
98%

2010

 
 
99%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 89% in 2013.

322 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
99%

2012

 
 
99%

2011

 
 
99%

2010

 
 
99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Math

All Students97%
Female97%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asian American100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White98%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilities89%
Students without disabilities98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English98%

Reading

All Students98%
Female99%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asian American95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged98%
Students with disabilities93%
Students without disabilities99%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%

Science

All Students99%
Female99%
Male100%
Blackn/a
Asian American100%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities97%
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%

Writing

All Students99%
Female99%
Male98%
Blackn/a
Asian American95%
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White99%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilities88%
Students without disabilities100%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English99%
Scale: % level 3, 4, or 5

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Connecticut used the Connecticut Academic Performance Test (CAPT) to test students' skills in reading, writing, science and math in grade 10. The CAPT is a standards-based test, which means it measures how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Connecticut.

The different student groups are identified by the Connecticut Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Connecticut Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 61%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 6% 4%
Hispanic 2% 20%
Black 1% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 2%N/A35%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

395 Danbury Rd
Wilton, CT 06897
Phone: (203) 762-0381

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


St. Luke's School
New Canaan, CT


Briggs High School
Norwalk, CT



Pierrepont School
Westport, CT


New Canaan High School
New Canaan, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT