Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Loomis Chaffee School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Windsor

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $185,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,150.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 20, 2014

The Loomis Chaffee School is exactly what it was when it was first established; a third tier, safety school. Whilst there are some good faculty and aspects of Loomis, my two years at Loomis were unsatisfactory and I was very unhappy with the school. Leadership opportunities are decided with little care and there is little school spirit here at Loomis. In fact, a culture of laziness and mediocrity is prevalent on campus here at this atrocious institution. In all honesty, a Loomis education is not worth the lofty tuition as students can receive a better value at other schools such as Choate, Hotchkiss etc. Clubs and student institutions are rather inactive and the Loomis community in general has a lot to say. However, little is ever done. Overall, academics are mediocre, athletics are embarrassing, and extracurricular clubs are run with very little passion or activity. As a student who has struggled through the atrocities of Loomis, I would advise prospective students to look elsewhere for a better experience and future as the boarding and private school experience is truly one of a kind and in general, excellent for college preparation. Overall, LC offers nothing unique.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 27, 2011

Loomis Chaffee provides students with an incredibly rewarding high school experience. The school s facilities are some of the best in New England, and its faculty is unparalleled. As a former student, I experienced the faculty firsthand and was able to develop meaning relationships with many of my teachers and coaches (some of whom I still talk to today). The faculty is incredibly accessible as many of them live in the dorms or elsewhere on campus. Living in close proximity to one s teachers and coaches allows students to develop relationships outside of the classroom or playing field and promotes a sense of community across campus. Loomis Chaffee challenges students to manage their time. Every trimester, students are required to carry 4+ classes, play a sport, and work an on-campus job, in addition to any clubs or other extracurricular activities. Loomis offers tremendous extracurricular opportunities in the arts and athletics. Within the last decade, a new gym and performing arts center have been built and Loomis strides to offer the best programs and opportunities in New England.


Posted January 9, 2011

My son went to Loomis and he is now a junior at Cornell and I have to thank Loomis for that. Great school to prepare one for collage.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

Loomis Chaffee is by far one of the best schools in Connecticut. Great students, faculty, and staff alike. Loomis Chaffee prepares students extremely well for college. This is truely a great school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 21, 2008

LC is a wonderful school. Terrific faculty, beautiful campus, excellent facilities, and a convenient location. I consider it to be highly underrated, to put it mildly.


Posted September 19, 2007

Loomis is the greatest School ever
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2007

This school exemplifies excellence in both academics and athletics. The classes are challenging, but the teachers are willing to do whatever it takes to help a struggling student, or even challenge a particularly bright student more. There is no such thing as academically 'coasting' at this school. Even with required sports for all students, there is still room for a student to participate as casually or a seriously as he/she might want, as Loomis Chaffee boasts one of the widest variety of offered sports of any secondary school. The athletic system is geared towards helping students live healthy lives first, with the choice of participating in a team sport and/or competing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2007

A great school comparable to schools like Exeter/Andover, with teachers that care.....a lot is upto the student to take advantage of what the school offers
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2006

I am the mother of a sophomore at the Loomis Chaffee School in Windsor, CT. This is an extremely impressive school. The education here is comparable to college level. It is exclusive and for the very affluent. However, scholarships are abundant. The quality of this education is dramatically better than any public school. This is a typical New England boarding school with three quarters of the students boarding and the remainder are day students. Come see this school. I am qualified to evaluate as I have been a teacher in public, parochial, and private schools for over 20 years.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 62%
Black 5% 15%
Hispanic 2% 18%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander N/A 4%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4 Batchelder Rd
Windsor, CT 06095
Phone: (860) 687-6000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Madina Academy
Windsor, CT



Charter Oak School
South Windsor, CT


Charter Oak Education
South Windsor, CT


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT