Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Tyrrell Middle School 5

Posted July 17, 2015
- a parent
Vice Principal (who just left) is amazing! The guidance department is very good. The principal is fair and runs a tight ship. Very good middle school experience for my child.

Tyrrell Middle School 2

Posted April 29, 2015
- a parent
The Tyrrell Middle School teachers try their best to educate the students in a very difficult administrative environment. The policies of the Middle School do not reflect district-wide policies therefore causing confusion with the students and parents. Administration does not take a "whole child" approach when applying policies not taking individuals psychological, physical and academic best interests into account. As a parent, be prepared to monitor classroom placement and don't be afraid to advocate for your child as a whole, none else will!!


Tyrrell Middle School 5

Posted July 27, 2013
- a community member
Tyrrell is a great school all of the students are so welcoming and the teachers are just incredibly helpful and help us excell to are highest! Therefore i give tyrrell five stars.

Tyrrell Middle School 4

Posted May 17, 2013
- a parent
We moved our daughter into 6th grade in May at the end of the school year. It was a very big change for our daughter who had been in her previous school since pre-K. Mrs. Tansley and Mrs. Buzzelli knocked themselves out making it a very smooth transition for her and us. Our daughter feels confident about where she is at and loves the school and the teachers and had a very positive experience as a result of their efforts. The students were really great to her as an incoming student too!

Tyrrell Middle School 5

Posted May 04, 2012
- a community member
Tyrrell is an incredible school! The principal does an outstanding job running everything. There are also a variety of after school activities such as Student Council, Construction Engineering Club, and Drama Club. The teachers are great, as well. Many are funny and make learning fun. Along with being fun, they are also strict. This may seem bad, but it certainly isn't because. makes the school run very smoothly everyday. I have truly enjoyed myself at Tyrrell. I cannot picture any other middle school being better than it.


Tyrrell Middle School 5

Posted February 22, 2012
- a community member
This school is absolutely amazing! As a student, I believe that there are great and experienced teachers, healthy and delicious lunches, amuzing assemblies, and fun-filled activities/sports! I was a bit anxious when I started this middle school, but after the first day of schools, the teachers and kids here allowed me to fit in perfectly! Also, there is a great gifted program, Project Explore, here!

Tyrrell Middle School 5

Posted May 16, 2011
- a parent
This is such a great school!!! The faculty is second to none!!!! My child excelled, because of the dedication to the students!!!!

Tyrrell Middle School 5

Posted August 25, 2009
- a parent
Brilliant School! So many oppurtunities for your kids iI know it is for mine!


Tyrrell Middle School 5

Posted March 09, 2009
- a student
Tyrrell is awesome! We have nice teachers, great programs and clubs, and lots of supplies that help us learn. I think Tyrrell makes learning as fun as it can be! (=

Tyrrell Middle School
no rating

Posted July 12, 2008
- a student
Tyrrell is a wonderful school. My first year going I was kind of scared, but the kind teachers welcomed me a helped me through the year.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tyrrell Middle School
500 Todd Rd, Wolcott, CT  06716
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (203) 879-8151
Last modified Tyrrell Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top