Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Fairwinds Christian School

Private | PK-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Bear

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $234,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,300.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 24, 2012

I went to Fairwinds from Pre-K3 to when I graduated in 2002. Now my daughter is in the Pre-K4 class. If you are looking for a perfect school, then you might as well give up now because there are none to be found. Fairwinds is not perfect, but I stand behind the teachers and staff and what they teach children that go through the school. I graduated from Wilmington University with my Bachelor's degree in Accounting, and without the proper high school education that would not have been possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 10, 2009

this school is one of the best christian school in the area.the class size is small.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 11, 2009

I'm very dissapointed in overall with the way the school administration tries to cover up all the problems. Not all the teachers are well qualified, their curriculum is very bad. I do not reccomend this school to any parent that is looking for a christian education because they are not going to find good values there. The only good star this school has is Mr.Shrier!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2008

My kids have been going to Fairwinds for three years and we really like it. The class sized are small, usually less then 15 kids per class, so the teachers can focus more on each child. Also, they use the RenWeb system where the parents can see the kid's grades and homework daily. Mr. Webster, the office staff, and all of the teachers do a great job, they really care about the kids! If I go to them with a problem, even if it isn't a problem at the school, they listen and do whatever they can to help. And, unlike in public school, my kids can hug the teacher and talk about Jesus without feeling like they are doing something wrong.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2008

My son and daughter attended Fairwinds. Our family relocated to Virginia four years ago. We found a Christian school here but it did not compare to Fairwinds. My children now attended public school. The lessons learned there were carried into the public school. We all miss the school soo much. Mr. Shrier is great !
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2004

I am currenlty attending Fairwinds. I am in ninth grade and Fairwinds has an extremely small upper school. The ninth and tenth grades only have a total of about 15 students. They group 9th and 10th as one class so basically the tenth grade takes the same classes as the ninth grade(except for math and health). Compared to a public school the classes are aslmost to easy. Getting an A here is as hard as getting a C in public schools. They also have a weird demerit discipline system.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 23, 2004

I choose this school for my grandchildren begining with kindergarden. I strongly believe in the method of education and character building instilled in my two grand children that are now in 5th and 3rd grades. Fairwinds promotes Bible principles and shadows our home training. Thank you, Mr. Shier and all the wonderful teachers at FCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2003

Both my daughters have been attending Fairwinds for the past 4 years, it provides excellent education, strong christian character and moral value.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

They don't admit that their school has problems. They don't deal with all situations well. Kids do get a great christian education. Teachers are not all qualified. A few teachers are handling kids improperly and principal's way of addressing this is less than satisfactory. I think they take discipline to the utmost extreme. I have seen too much covered up. Class sizes vary from 35 to 5 depending on grade level.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Computer specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Photography
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • AACS

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Photography
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

801 Seymour Road
Bear, DE 19701
Phone: (302) 328-7404

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT