Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Centreville Layton School

Private | PK-12 | 83 students

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Centreville

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $500,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,170.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 18, 2013

Centreville School is a non-profit, independent school for children with learning disabilities ages 4 to 14. Class sizes are small and each student is given an Individualized Education Plan to foster success. Students are taught at their instructional level. Language and Occupational Therapy are offered on campus to students that demonstrate a need. All students are taught Arts and Sciences as well as offered athletics and after school clubs. Last year, Centreville School established a relationship with Layton Preparatory School which shares the same goals and values but at the secondary education level. To learn more please go to the website www.centrevilleschool.org.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 8, 2011

My son currently attends Centreville School and we are very happy with our decision to send him there. All of the faculty are wonderful and extremely patient. Not only has my son's teacher made a huge impact on him, but all of the teachers know his name and work with him throughout the day. The head of school is always available and is greeting the families in the morning car line. I love all of the opportunities for parent involvement, which allows me see how well the school is run and leaves me feeling confident that my son is at the right school. Worth every penny!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2010

My son is in his 7th year at Centreville School and my daughter attended just for the 8th grade. Both have diagnosed learning disabilities. I love this place! Because of the patience of the faculty, built-in social intelligence and therapy programs, and individualized education plans, my son has been able to mature and learn how to manage his ADHD while maintaining his confidence and self-esteem, which is most important. He will definitely be ready when it is time to go to high school. My daughter attended for 8th grade and it did so much to prepare her for her transition to high school. She was confident, happy and ready! The leadership of the school is fantastic with a Head of School that is a great communicator, supportive of the faculty and staff, makes the students a priority, is caring and has a backbone to run the school. Great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

My daughter attended Centreville School for 3 years. Her improvement in reading, writing, math, and most importantly, her self esteem were remarkable. She is now a very successful high school student taking Advanced Placement literature and biology courses. Not too bad for a child who struggled to even read a book 6 years ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2010

Received better results at public school for free than spening the money at Centreville. The admissions process is a bait and switch. They set the bar very low. I doubt the learning levels would be acceptable in public schools. No writing program until 4th grade. Sad!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2009

My daughter goes there now..she LOVES it there. She has been going there since 4rd grade. All the teachers she had there are EXCELLENT. They want everybody to learn in a different way. If you child has a issue you should definally check it out! For more information or to check it out here is centreville's website www.centrevilleschool.org
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 12, 2008

My son's Centreville experience has been excellent. We were truly lost until we found Centreville. The staff is top notch and our son loves school! If you live in the area and you have a child with learning issues you need to check out Centreville.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2007

For kids who learn differently this is the best school you can find - yes it is pricey but the cost to your child's future if your child cannot read or write is much higher
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2006

Teachers are top notch. The school is run terribely. Too many chiefs. Think twice. Too much money not enough results.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Denise Orenstein
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS
Fax number
  • (302) 571-0270

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Track

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
Music
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6201 Kennett Pike
Centreville, DE 19807
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 571-0230

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Tatnall School
Wilmington, DE




Sanford School
Hockessin, DE


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT