Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
5 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Don't know (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 18 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Claymont Elementary School
Grateful to: Staff member

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
Donna Mathews (4th grade teacher), has inspired my son to read daily and he is excited to go to school everyday. She is well organized and communicates strongly!

Claymont Elementary School 5

Posted November 22, 2015
- a parent
The teaching & administrative staff is kind to all students and communicate effectively with families.

Claymont Elementary School
Amount of homework: Don't know

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
Different teachers in the same grade give out very different amounts of homework. For instance, in 3rd grade, my daughter had only one big project to do at home, while her friend in another classroom had one a month.

Claymont Elementary School 5

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
The administration has been very helpful and friendly, the teachers are great, and the kids are very well behaved and polite.

Claymont Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted July 26, 2015
- a parent
In 4 years, my daughter has had 2 very effective teachers and 2 effective teachers.

Claymont Elementary School 3

Posted March 15, 2015
- a parent
Claymont Elementary School was first Claymont High School and then turned into Claymont Middle School and then back to Claymont High School and then into Claymont Elementary School.

Claymont Elementary School 5

Posted November 01, 2014
- a parent
My daughter is in 3rd grade now and I am thrilled she is going to this school. The teachers have all been wonderful and tailor their teaching to individual students. There are options for troubled kids - some get time out of the classroom to work on their issues and to help minimize classroom distraction. The students are very well-behaved and mindful of each other, especially compared to my school growing up! The bullying program seems to have sunk in really well, as the kids know what to do when someone is being a bully. I'm impressed with the cafeteria food - whole grains, lots of veggies, FREE! I just wish there were better vegetarian options for the students. The teachers are very accessible and willing to help if you have any questions or issues. I always tell everyone how great this school has been for my daughter.

Claymont Elementary School 1

Posted September 12, 2012
- a parent
I am only rating this school a one because I can't give a negative score. I'm sure their are a few good teachers but they would be the exception. The principal talks good, but when their is a real issue he was nowhere to be found. When I called because I had an issue about my child's teacher, instead of transferring the call to the principal as I had asked, they told me he wasn't in the building for the day. A few hours later I receive a call from the teacher. Why did she call? the principle finally returned my call 3 months later. Unless your child is a convict in training and you as a parent could care less stay as far away from this place as you can

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Claymont Elementary School
3401 Green Street, Claymont, DE  19703
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. (302) 792-3880
Last modified Claymont Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top