Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Private
Claymont, DE
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Archmere Academy 3

Posted December 04, 2014
- a parent
I do not mind paying a big tuition bill but I wish I had sent my son to Sallies or Malvern because since john jordan took over as principal it has been one problem after another but I stupidly did not follow my head and now he is a junior and it is too late to take him out even though he would be fine with leaving.. Most of the faculty is smart but many are NOT kind and as for the faith based comment I do not know what that parent is basing it on. What faith base is that? I am disheartened that the principal is not pro life and that is something that should be a basis for a Catholic School. I would guess the parent was actually a Archmere administration member.

Archmere Academy 5

Posted September 20, 2014
- a parent
We have a son who graduated from Archmere and is now a senior in college and another son who is a current junior at Archmere. The mix of strong academics, athletics and extra curricular activities combined with the faith-based education make Archmere a wonderful choice for students and parents. We highly recommend Archmere.

Archmere Academy 5

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
I can see that my daughter is so happy to be a part of the Archmere family this year as a freshman. Yes, she is spending hours most nights doing homework but she is excited and motivated to do her best! It is evident that the faculty really cares about the students and wants them to succeed, have fun and make the most of their high school experience.

Archmere Academy 5

Posted September 14, 2014
- a parent
In only a few weeks, I can see the growth my daughter has made. She has always been a good student, but has now taken complete ownership for her own education: computer, email communication, advocating for herself, time management. She also takes the Septa train with some other students, a very grown -up responsibility. I can see that Archmere will prepare her for a successful future.

Archmere Academy 5

Posted September 07, 2014
- a parent
Archmere Academy is an amazing school that not only offers an outstanding academic curriculum but has teachers and administrators who are passionate about their work. They truly exude a zeal for having each student succeed academically, socially and ethically. We are thrilled our son is part of such a positive, caring atmosphere and community. He loves it!

Archmere Academy 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
Archmere Academy is the place where the students discover themselves. They are constantly encouraged to try new things, stretch their limits, seek, question, discover. If they try an activity and do not enjoy it the next question is "great...what are you going to try next?". The academic standards are high and the course work rigorous, but the faculty and staff are engaged and truly interested in helping the students learn, thrive and succeed. Our child who will graduate this year is extremely well prepared for college, and our first year student is so happy we haven't had to wake him for school yet...he's up on his own!!

Archmere Academy 5

Posted September 04, 2014
- a parent
Archmere is a highly academic school with a strong focus on college prep. It is a catholic school but you will find social, economic. ethnic and religious diversity there. It is rare place where it is ok for the captain of the football team to sing in the choir. All kids are are respected for their individual talents not only by the faculty and staff but by their fellow students! It is cool to be smart and all the students push each other toward greatness. Over and over I hear stories of kids going to college after graduating form Archmere and finding it easy in comparison. My kids are happy there and they are getting a great foundation.

Archmere Academy 3

Posted May 30, 2014
- a parent
After being at a variety of schools (parochial, private, public) due to career moves and many children, I honestly feel that our well ranked public provides a superior experience educationally, socially, and the like, in comparison to this alternative having had children graduate from here and also other schools that were not private and were / are much better prepared for college (having had some graduate from college already) and also better prepared for real life in terms of well-roundedness etc....in my experience only of course...and therefore, in my personal opinion.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Archmere Academy
3600 Philadelphia Pike, Claymont, DE  19703
(302) 798-6632
Last modified Archmere Academy is a Private school that serves grades 9-12
Archmere Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top