Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
425 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (3 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (3 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Holy Cross School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
Wonderfully warm, academically strong faith filled community. An excellent school for children to learn, live and pray!

Holy Cross School 5

Posted December 08, 2015
- a community member
My three children have all gone to this school and I couldn't be more proud. My oldest is in a very competitive high school in Wilmington now and she was academically prepared.

Holy Cross School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
Holy Cross School has educated my children for the past 13 years. I can not say enough about the faculty, staff, leadership, environment and faith filled atmosphere. It is a very safe environment that cares deeply about the the success and well being of each and every student on campus. My children were more than prepared for high school and have finished each year in the top of their class. The new administration is moving the school in an even better direction. Enrollment is increasing with waiting lists in some grades and so many awesome and exciting things are happening at Holy Cross! The Principal spends so much time with new families to make sure that their transition is smooth and that their children thrive at Holy Cross. She knows every student by name and is always so happy to see them! Anyone thinking about sending their children to Holy Cross should NOT think twice~you will not be disappointed!

Holy Cross School
Grateful to: School leader

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Thank you for caring everyday, Mrs. Pollitt! You do a fantastic job leading your school to excellence!

Holy Cross School 5

Posted November 18, 2015
- a parent
Holy Cross is a great school! The principal and the teachers care about all of the students and provide a safe, learning experience. We are extremely happy with the education that our children are receiving at Holy Cross, and we highly recommend it to all!

Holy Cross School 5

Posted August 19, 2015
- a parent
Holy Cross is one to watch. They are getting some awesome technology :chromebooks for students, a 3D printer in the lab and a new robotics program. They have wonderful and dedicated teachers.

Holy Cross School 2

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
Our children attended this school for over 5 years and we thought it was our only option in the small city of Dover where there are few schools to choose from. Academics are in line with other private and public school in the state, but the social environment is hostile and declining as many families have left or are leaving the school. There is a HUGE emphasis on fundraising, and the children are wrongly made to compete in fundraising efforts. The teachers and assistant principal are very dedicated to the students, but the principal and priest administrator do not effectively address the persistent bullying and hostile environment at the school. As a parent, it is difficult, to gain access to administrators for conferences. Our children have thrived in a different school environment and I wish we had pulled them out sooner than we did. I feel badly for the teachers left at Holy Cross, most of whom are truly dedicated educators.

Holy Cross School 2

Posted July 27, 2014
- a parent
Where to begin, we did enroll our kids in this school because of a long standing catholic education tradition in our family and we wanted them to learn while developing in the Catholic faith. This school may have a good curriculum (read, good, not great) but the atmosphere is a bullying one. Parents bullying parents due to economic status. It is about who you know or who you are married to and how much you contribute money wise. The principal's leadership skills provide food for thought and a lot to be desired. Further, rules are not followed despite being on a handbook (too short skirts, make up, tight-near to pop the button shirts, etc). The nurse's office has expanded and every time my children are ill, they feel comfortable and nurtured. The building administrators are very helpful and very nice. And let's not talk about the PTO (they call it HSA) meetings; you will be lucky to express your opinion if you attend. In summary, we are looking for another school. It pains to leave the amazing teachers we had for our children, but it's too much money paid (financial aid is not very available unless you have more than 3 kids in) to be in this type of environment.

Holy Cross School 5

Posted June 09, 2014
- a parent
My children (one now in JR High) have attended Holy Cross since Kindergarten. I can't say enough about this school, its teachers, and most of all the student body. My children have thrived in this loving atmosphere, where there is emphasis on both academic and character education. It is a comfort knowing my kids spend their days where values are both taught and demonstrated, that they are getting quality education along with a peer group that share similar values

Holy Cross School 3

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
Our son has attended since pre k. We had a great experience until this year. This school cost a lot of money but you get very little for your investment. Class sizes are larger than most public schools and since the departure of the previous administration it appears to have declined. We planned to have our children finish elementary school here but we are exploring other options. Not worth the cost.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Holy Cross School
631 South State Street, Dover, DE  19901
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (302) 674-5787
Last modified Holy Cross School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top