Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Calvary Christian Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Dover

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $166,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $760.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 31, 2014

An Incredible Blessing. 3 children will be enrolled this year. Administrator is a blessing - thankful for Campus 2 administration - our family so blessed
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2014

My daughter has been attending this school since she was 3 yrs. old. The teachers, staff and administration are hands on with each child and are open and welcoming to the children and parents to communicate & express needs, concerns, or just to talk. The staff, administration & teachers have made it a relaxed, and comfortable environment for all the parents & children. The curriculum challenges the student and should a student show above average learning capabilities he/she is presented with the opportunity to advance. Calvary offers extra-curricular activities and various sports programs. There are many activities throughout the year the children and their families are encouraged to attend and fellowship after school. Most importantly each child is learning/growing in God's word every day. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2014

We have 2 children at CCA and our third child will be starting next year. We love it there...and so do our children! What a blessing it is to have a place that our children are surrounded by Christ-like examples who pour the love of Christ into them daily. The curriculum is great too! It amazes me how much they learn each marking period and how much they are excelling. We are so grateful to be a part of CCA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

CCA is such a great school! Our son absolutely loves it there and we do, too! Our son is about to complete his 3rd year there (he attended 2nd-4th and is enrolled for 5th grade). He's made great friends and has enjoyed all 3 of his teachers. As parents, my husband and I are thrilled to have our son in a school where God and academic excellence are top priorities. The school uses Bob Jones curriculum for the majority of subjects but has cast a wide net to find the right materials to use for a variety of segments. I particularly like this method as they are not pigeon-holed into one company. EVERY single member of the school staff is amazing! Their love for the children and families is evident at your first interaction with any staff member. They WELCOME parental involvement and encourage participation, whether on field trips, parents' committees, etc. I really can't say enough good things about CCA! Our son says all the teachers are nice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2014

My daughter has been attending CCA since she was 3yrs old. We LOVE CCA's Christ centered environment that aligns with our morals and beliefs. We like the small class sizes that facilitate more one on one time with the teachers. It's comforting to personally know the Faculty and support staff and be able to speak directly to any of them, at any time. CCA genuinely loves the student and wants to see them succeed as much as the parent does. Our daughter plans to continue with CCA and will be graduating from CCA in 2018.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2012

Our kids love Calvary Christian Academy and we do too! We have really enjoyed watching our children grow academically and spiritually at Calvary.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2012

Calvary Christian Academy is Growing! As a parent and in these uncertain economic times, it means something when our school is continuing to grow. Calvary has consistently met our kid's needs academically, emotionally, spiritually, physically, and socially. Having my kids in a school where strong Biblical standards are taught and upheld makes me feel great. Qualified Christian teachers who love their kids and have high expectations is really important to me. I believe the reason the school is growing is because they are putting Christ first in everything they do. My kids are in elementary and they have excelled academically, but one of the most important things I am seeing is a strong value system being built on the Truth of God's word. Exciting chapel services, daily bible classes, ministry opportunities, community outreach, discipleship in sports, and restoration discipline; they do this well. I know my kids are safe, loved, and appreciated. I would recommend this school to any Christian family who desires to partner with an organization that is going to uphold Biblical standards and excite children to learn. I am a member for life!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2009

This is an excellent school and I love it!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2009

This is a great school. Our children (1 Kindergarden-4th now,1 kindergarden-2nd now,1 kindergarden) are all honors/high honors. They use ABEKA & Bob Jones combined to increase the level of learning. Their open door policy for the parents, lunch, chapel, classes, is wondrful. The teachers talk to the parents everyday and if the children need extra help, they make the time to help. The teachers and administration care about the students, our families and eachother.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2008

CCA is a wonderful school. My son started pre-K there and is now in Kindergarten reading and counting money. The staff is great and knows every student by name. Parents are always welcome to attend events at the school as well as coming to chapel on Fridays or eating lunch with your child. Mr. Coon and his staff are just amazing people who are so dedicated to all the students at CCA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2008

If you are looking for a school that instills daily biblical principals in a small classroom environment than this is the school to go to. My son was having a hard time in the over-populated schools and this school gives him the ability to have one on one help from the teacher and the academics are above and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2006

Calvary uses the ABEKA program for PreK-3 through 12th grade. This curriculum introduces phonics in the younger grades and has students reading by the end of kindergarten's first sememster. They offer music, Spanish, Art and P.E. for all students. Their teachers are all loving Christians and dedicated to their students well being. The highest teacher to student ratio is low with an average of 15 kids per classroom. There is a lot of parent involvement in the classroom and an open door policy for parents to interact with their child for lunch and chapel every week. Jr. and Senior High offers extracurricular sports and the staff is phenomenal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Assembly of god
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Football
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Soccer
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1143 East Lebanon Road
Dover, DE 19901
Phone: (302) 697-7860

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT