Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fairview Elementary School

Public | PK-4 | 355 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 3, 2011

I was nervous about my son going into kindergarten this fall, but I had no reason to be concerned. Fairview Elementary is awesome. The principal is always walking around the school, visiting classes, and is very good with children. One day, when I came to the school, she was outside taking a walk with a student who was having a rough day. My son's kindergarten teacher is just wonderful. I can't say enough good things about her. She is very accessible and loves the students and her job. She really focuses on each of her students and has a very positive and cheerful attitude. My son is learning so much. I never thought that he would already be this far along at reading and writing. The school has a huge focus on reading. Currently, they are doing a pirate themed reading competition between classes to see how many books they can read. This is truly a great school, and I am so thankful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

The teachers and staff are there because the they care not because of the benifits or summer break. As a parent that is a great comfort and reassurance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

I have had three children attend Fairview. They have all received a wonderful education from caring, professional teachers. The staff strives for academic excellence and this is reflected in test scores. The atmosphere is welcoming - like coming home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 17, 2007

So far so good my son started at Fairview in Kindergaten on Aug.2006. He is now in 1st grade and has benefited from the small class size along with the attentativeness of the staff. The school is giving him a good begining and a wonderful learning experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 23, 2005

I've never been in a school where the Principal knows the names of every student in her school, and takes the time to acknowledge and embrace them. I feel very comfortable with my child being a student at Fairview Elementary. Like every other parent, I want the very best for my child. I am confident that my child is receiving that. The teachers are skilled and dedicated, as are the support and administrative staff. Fairview elementary operates like a 'totally functional' happy family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2004

The principal, teachers and staff have a genuine concern for the students and create a positive environment that fosters healthy learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2004

Principal lacks ability to provide a nurturing, caring, & positive atmosphere for the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

56 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
56%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

61 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Female80%
Male70%
African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status73%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I75%
Special edn/a
Regular ed78%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English76%

Math

All Students82%
Female87%
Male77%
African American75%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status79%
Not economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I82%
Special edn/a
Regular ed81%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Female61%
Male70%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White67%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status58%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Title I64%
Special edn/a
Regular ed61%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English62%

Math

All Students54%
Female54%
Male55%
African American40%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status49%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Title I54%
Special edn/a
Regular ed48%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English54%

Social Studies

All Students66%
Female62%
Male73%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White71%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status60%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Title I66%
Special edn/a
Regular ed63%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 57% 32%
White 2 27% 50%
Hispanic 2 11% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 2% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2 1% 0%
Two or more races 2 0% 2%
Source: DE Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 46%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Fax number
  • (302) 672-1654

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

700 Walker Road
Dover, DE 19904
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 672-1645

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT