Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Washington (Booker T.) Elementary School

Public | K-4 | 385 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 12, 2010

My granddaughters were students. Received excellent instructions.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My daughter is in the 4th grade at BTW this year after we moved from MD to DE and I have been pleased with most aspects of the school. Mrs Johnson(Principal) is great, the teachers are really caring, and most of the kids are well behaved, although her class has some really poorly behaved kids. Unfortunately the classes are not grouped evenly wtih different ability students, and it seems most of my daughter's classmates are behind which only hurts those who are on or above grade level. This needs to be corrected! I do not plan to send her to William Henry based on what I've learned about the school, rather she will attend Providence Creek if she gets in(waiting list) or I will homeschool her next year. I think Capital School District needs to do something about their poorly performing schools or be taken over by the state of DE.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2008

I am not impressed with this school...the no child left behind works in general, but it leaves behind talented ones. Definitely not individually concerned...


Posted October 23, 2005

We moved to this area about 3 years ago and I was very concerned where to place my then kindergarten age child. I went to the different elementary schools and one school in particular told me 'give BTW a chance' at that time Gail Ulp was the Principal. Without hesitation I enrolled my daughter in BTW. My child has done nothing but excel. The teachers there are superb. We now have another Principal and have been given the 'Blue Ribbon Award'. I am in constant communication with my daughters teachers and they really do care about her education. That is very important to me as a parent. Way to go Booker T Washington.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2005

What a great experience BTW was for my son. The staff is great and go the extra mile for each and every child. The educational foundation my son received at BTW has set him on the road to success in life. The high levels of expectations for the extracurricular activities showed him that if you work to improve in anything you will be rewarded in the end. The renovations that were just completed make the school a bright, cheerful, and modern place to go to school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2005

This is a wonderful place! I am an educated parent and am relieved to see the staff always furthering their education. They received the Nat'l Blue Ribbon Award only 295 schools in the US out of more then 100,000 achieved this award. Put your childrens education in the hands of profesionals, come and check out Booker T for yourself!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2005

BTW has been a great school for my kids. They enjoyed learning and loved their teacher, counselor, and other specials teachers like music and gym. Now I have read in the paper that it is a National Blue Ribbon School winner, and I believe it. The teachers care and it shows. I'm so glad I live in this attendance area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2004

This school has been a big diappointment to me. Being a former educator, I found that this school did not meet the needs of students. My grandchildren attended the school and the teacher did not address the educational issues of my grandchild in a timely manner. The parent was not notified until at the end of the year. Talking about a child left behind. I also believe that the school does not relate positively to minority students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

63 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
92%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

64 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
54%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

66 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
53%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

65 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
47%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students92%
Female>=95%
Male88%
African American92%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White>=95%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status89%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Title I92%
Special edn/a
Regular ed94%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English92%

Math

All Students78%
Female74%
Male82%
African American76%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White90%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status72%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Title I78%
Special ed73%
Regular ed80%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Female67%
Male75%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status54%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Title I71%
Special edn/a
Regular ed73%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English71%

Math

All Students71%
Female67%
Male75%
African American59%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status55%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Title I71%
Special edn/a
Regular ed73%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English71%

Social Studies

All Students65%
Female60%
Male69%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White80%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status49%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Title I65%
Special edn/a
Regular ed69%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English65%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 58% 32%
White 28% 50%
Hispanic 6% 12%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 3% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 61%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

901 Forest St
Dover, DE 19904
Phone: (302) 672-1900

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT