Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
7 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 12 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


William Henry Middle School
Develops grit: Disagree

Posted January 13, 2016
- a community member
Not exactly the way I would want grit and determination to be developed. I believe in persistence and those qualities, but not in putting up with violent behavior and be expected to just deal with it as a normal part of the school day.

William Henry Middle School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted January 13, 2016
- a community member
There really isn't much given. I was told that the students can only be graded on work completed at school. Homework is only busy work and nothing more.

William Henry Middle School
Develops respect: Disagree

Posted January 13, 2016
- a community member
No. Respect is not shown to the students. Teachers mock those they can get away with and the administration does nothing about it.

William Henry Middle School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted January 13, 2016
- a community member
No I do not think that there is compassion, caring or empathy. There are incidents that are covered up and ignored. Students that are good children are being pushed aside so that the focus is on coddling the bad, violent children. The attention is focused wrongly. It is not safe and they are encouraged to ignore and feel sorry for the violent, disruptive children and not on excelling and feeling good about themselves or safe.

William Henry Middle School
Develops honesty: Disagree

Posted January 13, 2016
- a community member
The school did not allow my child to call me when she asked twice yesterday following this situation. The school waited all day before even trying to make contact with me and then did not leave a message. I called the school and asked what they wanted and the office had no idea. I called back and told the office what happened and asked for the man who handled the situation. I had to leave him a message and wait for him to call me. This incident happened approx 7am and I did not hear from the school until 3pm. What honesty, integrity or fairness was shown to my child or me?

William Henry Middle School 2

Posted January 13, 2016
- a community member
The communication from the school is horrible. I have had scheduled meetings where the staff that was scheduled did not show up. Incidents have not been reported to me as a parent. My child was attacked at the bus stop before school and I did not find out about it until my child called me walking home from the bus stop after school. The other child admitted to the attack, and according to the dean of discipline gave the same account. She then rode the same bus home with my child. I was told that the incident was handled as dictated by school policy. What is the punishment for this?

William Henry Middle School 1

Posted April 28, 2015
- a parent
Terrible school. If you have any other options you should run towards them. They do not seem to know what their own rules and policies are. They hold the students accountable for anything they can, but don't have the same standards themselves. A lot of fighting that is ignored and allowed. The weaker students pay the price at the hands of the known bullies and trouble makers.

William Henry Middle School 1

Posted October 28, 2014
- a parent
This school is HORRIBLE!!! Teachers, students...ALL OF IT!! Bullying is an issue with my daughter. She has to worry about getting picked on everyday! I can't wait to get her OUT of there! We are MOVING to a better school district!!!!!

William Henry Middle School 5

Posted September 23, 2014
- a teacher
I have worked in other school but I love William Henry Middle School! I have worked here for 4 years and I know that the principal, teachers, and staff genuinely care for of the students. We have don't a lot of things to improve the climate so, kids want to be in school. We have done several activities to improve student success in Reading and Math. There are new afterschool programs that get students engaged in academics as well as pro-social activities. I'm proud to have worked here.

William Henry Middle School 4

Posted September 22, 2014
- a parent
I've had two children attend WHMS since the change in administration and they LOVED it. Let your kids be kids and they will enjoy it too.The negative rumors in the community need to be buried! This is a different school and it is great school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

William Henry Middle School
65 Carver Road, Dover, DE  19904
(302) 672-1622
Last modified William Henry Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
William Henry Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top