Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 8 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lake Forest Central Elementary School 5

Posted September 05, 2014
- a parent
My son started at this school last year and loves it. I am surprised by the negative reviews because we have had nothing but a wonderful experience here. We moved to the Felton area from Dover, which ranks very poorly when it comes to schools. The teachers and entire staff at Central Elementary School have been very supportive and have made my son excited to learn!

Lake Forest Central Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2014
- a parent
We have had a positive start to what I believe will be a great school year!
1 person found this helpful

Lake Forest Central Elementary School 1

Posted August 22, 2014
- a parent
In damage control mode right now, this school does not meet the needs of it's kids who struggle but the administration will work to lead you to believe otherwise. Lots of pomp and circumstance but you need to dig deeper to find the truth. Don't be fooled with the superficial welcome you receive. Unless you belong to a country club, your kid won't get what they need. What you see is a show.
7 people found this helpful

Lake Forest Central Elementary School 4

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
My oldest daughter loved Central and learned so much. Each year at Central her test scores rose. She went on to excel at Middle within the district and was well prepared. My second daughter is now entering 5th grade and her test scores soared this past year, not to mention she has met a new and wonderful group of friends.
1 person found this helpful

Lake Forest Central Elementary School 4

Posted August 03, 2014
- a parent
Love the teachers. My child had a great experience in fourth grade. They do an exceptional job despite an unwelcoming and poor administration.
6 people found this helpful

Lake Forest Central Elementary School 1

Posted May 02, 2014
- a community member
The culture of this school is toxic and the reception from the administration of those students who are different is cold and unwelcoming. School choice elsewhere.
5 people found this helpful

Lake Forest Central Elementary School 5

Posted January 01, 2014
- a parent
My son attended and they not only exceed the state in most areas but the school is modern with a great staff.
2 people found this helpful

Lake Forest Central Elementary School 2

Posted September 04, 2013
- a parent
I had faith that my daughter would do well transitioning to Central from the award winning LF East elementary where she was an A-B student. I could not have been more wrong. 4th grade for her was a nightmare as she was placed in a class which had so many behaviors, the teachers spent most of their time trying to control the miscreants rather than teaching. The end result was predictable and my daughter had a very poor year. That being said, she has started the new school year in a top rated school in another district and she is as excited and happy about school as when she was at East. She marvels at how the teacher at her new school has control of the classroom and she is eager to learn and grow now whereas last year she dreaded getting on the bus and going "to that awful class"...
2 people found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lake Forest Central Elementary School
5424 Killens Pond Road, Felton, DE  19943
(302) 284-5810
Last modified Lake Forest Central Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades 4-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lake Forest Central Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 8 reviews.