Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sussex Technical High School

Public | 9-12 | 1491 students

Excellence in Technical, Career & Academic Education
 
 

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 29, 2010

Sussex Tech is an excellent school that offers AP classes and a challenging curriculum that will get a student ready for college. My son is an Engineering major in college and is on the Dean's list. I am so happy that we had this school to send our son to.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2010

i graduated from sussex tech. now a junior in college, i still look back at things from high school, papers, my senior project and informational worksheets from my technical area. no other school could ever prepare me this well for college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 4, 2009

Tech is the best school in the state with high testing scores, and alot of good people. tech also has good sports teams making tech the best school in delaware
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 27, 2009

While the statistics are 'better' the school actually is more concerned about their image as a 'superior school' and this is simply all they can boast. The school, being its own district, receives additional funds and spends it unnecessarily. The school also does not have the Honors Program. How can students learn to compete academically?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2009

This school is awesome. I haven't seen anything like it beofre.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2009

I think Tech is the best school in state, Technical or Not. I'm orinally form Sussex Central (which is a good school too) and then went to Laurel (umm....) so after that middle school i wanted something different. So i decided to apply to Tech and i got in!!! When i got in...it was the best day in my life and i dont ever regret going back...i mean its a hard school! But watever:)!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 20, 2008

This is a great school to go to. Its the best in Delaware. In 2007 They got 1st place in math in the country!!! Its one of the top 20 schools in the country. There is a waiting list to get in and if your a 8th grader and you want to go there you are put in a lottery with 600 other students. I LOVE IT!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 25, 2008

Amazing faculty and staff. The administration however cares very little about their students, and more about their egos, and school's image.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2007

Sussex Tech. is a great school for children to attend. It has a wonderful, upbeat atmosphere that encourages learning and good behavior. In the 3 years that my son has attended I have only encountered students that are very respectful. The academics are challenging and I feel that my son will be ready for college. Extracurricular activities are abundant and there should be something that would interest any child. We have had our children in two other school districts in two different states and we feel that Sussex Tech. is the best that we have seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2007

I am a student at Sussex Tech and it is a great school. I'm so glad I got accepted and can ready myself to be a person at this school. The teachers and administrators are great, and I know I can learn alot until I graduate.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 11, 2006

This school is absolutely great, the student involvement is particularly outstanding. I have never seen a class like 2008. They work tremendously hard to achieve their goals. The administrators are great, and personally this is the best school in Delaware by far.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2005

Overall this is the best high school in the area. The only real issue I have is the lack of a Parent/Teacher organization. They have some contrived organization, but the meetings resemble a teachers union meeting. Not a PTA
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2005

I am a student at Sussex Tech and I love the school. The Teachers are really nice and they have awesome after school help and activities
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2005

I am currently a student at Sussex Tech and I know that I hear that most kids hate their high school! Well the teachers are great, they are very, very helpful and the after-school activities are vey educational/helpful. They have great technical areas which are helpful to kids who are uncertain of what they want to become, and for the kids who do know, really enjoy the area in-which they choose. I'm only in 9th grade but I definitely believe that this will help me prepare for college!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 17, 2004

This is the best high school in our area. The students are directed, the staff is terrific and interested in giving students an opportunity to learn. My third child is now attending and the two others have already graduated. My two oldest children have done well in college. They felt they were well prepared. I would definitely send my children to Sussex Tech if I had to make the decision again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2004

Making the decision to attend Sussex Tech, has been the best decision that my parents had ever made concerning my educational career. Sussex Tech has many wonderful qualities to it that makes it unique, and a system for learning that makes it a century ahead of many institutes around our community and beyond.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

412 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
76%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

412 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
>=95%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
86%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 73% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
85%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

333 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
89%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2013.

332 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
73%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students88%
Female90%
Male85%
African American78%
Asiann/a
Hispanic86%
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Other race>=95%
Low socioeconomic status85%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Title I88%
Special ed47%
Regular ed91%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English88%

Math

All Students>=95%
Female95%
Male>=95%
African American94%
Asiann/a
Hispanic>=95%
Multiracialn/a
White95%
Other race>=95%
Low socioeconomic status95%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Title I>=95%
Special ed63%
Regular ed>=95%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English>=95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students84%
Female89%
Male78%
African American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic88%
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status78%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Title I84%
Special ed32%
Regular ed89%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English84%

Math

All Students87%
Female90%
Male85%
African American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic>=95%
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status85%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Title I87%
Special ed54%
Regular ed90%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English87%

Science

All Students66%
Female69%
Male64%
African American46%
Asiann/a
Hispanic59%
Multiracialn/a
White73%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status55%
Not economically disadvantaged73%
Title I66%
Special ed30%
Regular ed70%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English66%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Public Middle School
Private Middle Schools
Charter Middle Schools
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 38% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 42% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 6% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 4% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 8% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation DTCC
University of Delaware
Delaware State University
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Behavioral health specialist
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Security personnel
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • AP Access & Success Award (2014)
  • SREB/HSTW Platinum Performance Award High School (2014)
  • College Board's Advanced Placement Honor Roll (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Delaware Title I Distinguished School (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Medical
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Industrial shop
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Computer programming
  • Electrical
  • Engineering
  • HVAC certification
  • IT support
Clubs
  • Math club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Industrial / graphic design
Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Drum line
  • Marching band
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Spanish

Health & athletics

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Medical
Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 3:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Demby, John L.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Fax number
  • (302) 856-1760

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Adult education
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Core knowledge
  • GED
  • Hybrid
  • Internships
  • STEM
  • TechAdemics
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Business
  • Engineering
  • Environmental
  • Humanities
  • Medical
  • Science
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Vocational education
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • Auto mechanics
  • Business management
  • Computer programming
  • Construction / building
  • Cosmetology
  • Electrical
  • Engineering
  • HVAC certification
  • Health Care
  • IT support
  • Industrial / graphic design
  • Pre-law
  • Welding certification

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Behavioral health specialist
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Industrial shop
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Football
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • BPA
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Drama club
  • Drill team
  • Drum line
  • Fellowship of Christian Athletes (FCA)
  • Foreign language club: Spanish
  • HOSA
  • JROTC
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Marching band
  • Math club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • National Honor Society
  • SKILLS USA
  • Student council/government
  • Television/Radio News
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
430
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
825
Students typically come from these schools
Public Middle School
Private Middle Schools
Charter Middle Schools

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
DTCC
University of Delaware
Delaware State University
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 38%
4 year college - 42%
Military - 6%
Vocational - 4%
Workforce - 8%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17099 County Seat Highway
Georgetown, DE 19947
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 856-0961

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Sussex Academy
Georgetown, DE




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT