Advertisement
Advertisement

The Jefferson School

Private | PK-8 | 93 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Georgetown

Situated in a small town neighborhood. The median home value is $152,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $744.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 5, 2013

The Jefferson School is in a league of its own. If you are looking for a school where students are fed material and asked to spit it back on tests, so the school appears excellent according to state testing standards, this is not the school for you.If you want your child to come home with volumes of "busy work"that never challenges them to think, but only memorize, send them somewhere else. The Jefferson School day is jam-packed with interactive learning in a fun, engaging and nurturing environment. There is no bullying here, no distractions, no nonsense. Students are enriched by a caring and very educated staff, which brings worlds of experience to their classrooms. These students perform miles ahead of those students in the surrounding educational facilities in both testing parameters and beyond. They are at the top of their class in their high schools, which speaks volumes of the quality of education they received at this school. They become thinkers and leaders , which stems from a combination of the education they receive at school and at home. In my opinion, there is not a better quality education in this region. You owe it to yourself and your children to take a look.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2013

To say my family has been thrilled by our positive experience at TJS would be an understatement. Our son was never excited about going to school prior to attending TJS. At TJS, his teacher was able to recognize that his disinterest came from not being challenged (something that was never addressed at much more expensive private schools he has attended). He was given a tailored curriculum to keep his mind active and foster his love for learning (is there anything more important for your child than that?). The class sizes are small and the teachers have time to get to know your child in a way that is impossible to do with larger classes. All of his teachers took interest in him, finding extra ways to help him build his confidence and help grow his character. TJS administration is outstanding. Ms. Hendricks is smart, pro-active and has proven she is capable of elevating TJS to the highest standards in education. If you have a smart, capable child and want them to be in an environment where fellow parents, faculty and adminstration are all dedicated to giving your child an outstanding progressive education, this is the place to be.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2013

The Jefferson School, Georgetown, DE. While our family had high hopes for our children's experience at Jefferson, we can only say how very disappointed we are with the poor curriculum and inadequate teaching staff. This school is so far from its founding mission that it's next to impossible to compare the learning experience from 10-20 years ago to its current practices. While some staff members are ok, others are lazy, disengaged, and very cavalier about students' performances. Most parents are supplementing the curriculum by Kumon tutoring centers. Our children have had to be tutored when they transferred from Jefferson to local public schools. Students' various learning styles were never adequately identified or addressed. The math curriculum is particularly weak and does not follow the Delaware standardized norms. Reading and writing are stronger programs, but science, history, etc, are not. There are no textbooks. There is little or no homework. Delaware DOE does not monitor private schools like it does public/federally funded schools. My statements do not represent an aberration. I cannot say enough about how disappointing this school experience has been.


Posted November 4, 2012

We loved the Jefferson School as a safe and fun environment but, after two years there my daughter still remained at the grade level when she entered. Socially, the children flourished in a well-loved and nurturing environment but, academically, my daughter suffered and is now having to make up two grades of missed work. I found this out after transferring her to another school. The most surprising of it all is that academic concern was never shared with me and I was being told she was at grade level. I would highly recommend Jefferson for the younger children but then transfer out starting at the grade levels.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2011

We love Jefferson! It is like a family. The parents are very involved at all levels, the kids are happy, and the teachers are incredibly dedicated. The hands on curriculum allows the kids to learn at a deeper level than in the public schools. It's a gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2010

I went to that school for 4 years, 1st-4th. I enjoyed my time there. I am now in eigth grade and above most kids in computer skills that we did almost everday at Jefferson. I loved how the classes were smaller and the teaches interacted with all students. With the school being so small, it let all the students know all the other students, kinda like a TJS family. It also let the school do more bigger school and class activities. I loved all the teachers, Mr. John was my favorite. I liked how the whoole school galled at the "Triangle" for morning annoucements and the pledge of alledgece. At my current school we have over 650 students so we dont get to do as big school activites. Once again, The Jefferson School is a amazing school and i am glad to have been a part of it!


Posted May 7, 2010

The school is awesome! New Head of School Ms. Hendricks has brought so much to the school. After school activities are growing rapidly under her leadership. The kids are excelling so much I can't believe it. The Kindergarten class just built a life size-6ft dia- Eagles Nest! How awesome. The kids graduating from Jefferson are so motivated, kind, tolerant and intelligent. I know I am doing the best for my kids!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

Love the challenging, individualized curriculum and the cooperative culture.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

The school's child-centered education with the best teachers in the area has made a tremendous difference to my kids. Both are excelling well. Graduates from this school are considered self-confident, independent learners which give them confidence to succeed in their later years in high school and beyond.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2009

I love the uniqueness of The Jefferson School, the only private, independent school in Sussex County Delaware, and its hands-on approach to teaching/learning.


Posted October 4, 2009

Because they do a fantastic job brining out the best in my kids and helping them learn! The teachers are fantastic!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 4, 2009

I've been a teacher at TJS for a couple of years now, and I am also a parent of a student. The educational program is excellent. Students meet and excel state standards as well as being very involved in specials such as art, music, and Spanish. The small class sizes allow for great interaction between students and teachers, and project-based learning makes learning come alive for students. I highly recommend TJS for all parents looking for an alternative to traditional education.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted March 16, 2008

This is a fabulous school filled with dedicated teachers who can truly make learning fun for children. They treat children with great care and respect -- but they also set high standards. Youngsters respond accordingly with enthusiam and determination. My daughter, who has attended Jefferson for three years, has never complained about having to go to school. What a great change from the pressure teachers and children elsewhere feel to do well for state tests.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

The school changed a lot since end of last year. They combined two pre-K classrooms into one big classroom with one teacher and two assistants. It used to be two classrooms with one teacher and one assistant in each classroom. The new pre-K classroom count is now 23 students with 6 students dropped out (total was 29 pre-K students at start of this year). All school assistants were not hired for this year, many teachers resigned and teacher/student ratio is no more 1:8 this year. It used to be a great school but now I feel forced to move my kids out of Jefferson school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2006

I went to the Jefferson school Pre-K through 5th grade. I loved it. The teachers are great! You learn alot more than you normally would because you're always in small classes. They teach even the youngest students (age 3) music, art and spanish. There is never more than 130 kids at the Jefferson School, it was like my family. I knew everyone. It goes from Pre-K until 8th grade. I reccomend the Jefferson School as your #1 school! They require uniform, but it can be from any brand, as long as you're wearing white top, navy bottoms. My last day I would be at the Jefferson School, I cried SO much. Go there! It's awesome! A great learning enviornment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 4, 2006

My child has attended this school through 2 years of Pre-K through 5th grade. She will be attending 6th grade this fall. The school is very individualized and allows your child to use natural curiosity to acquire a love of learning. The staff is outstanding and they stand behind their commitmit that every child wants to and can learn. Check this wonderful school out!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 86% 50%
Hispanic 11% 12%
Two or more races 2% N/A
Black 1% 35%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% N/A
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

22051 Wilson Rd
Georgetown, DE 19947
Phone: (302) 856-3300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




Allen (Richard) School
Georgetown, DE




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT