Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 19 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


The Jefferson School 5

Posted December 30, 2015
- a parent
Our family has had a wonderful experience at The Jefferson School. Every day our children are happy to attend, they never want to miss a day. Teachers are attentive and caring; they get to know each child. The low teacher to student ratio is ideal and allows the teachers to learn and understand each child's strengths and weaknesses. Our children are learning to think critically and to analyze problems. They are expected to take what is offered and challenge themselves too, the opportunities are always there. TJS understands the need to use hands-on techniques and to go outside and use the wonderful campus to their benefit. Having children at various ages we know this is what works for us. Our children couldn't be better prepared. We couldn't be happier!

The Jefferson School 1

Posted December 22, 2015
- a parent
They told me my 4 year old child would never read above the 4th grade level and he would always need a teaching assistant sitting next to him and that he would never go to college. He's a high school senior now taking college level courses and he just got into one of the best colleges on the east coast of the United States. In hindsight I wouldn't send my dog there...they need to be closed down.

The Jefferson School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
The Jefferson School fosters a community setting, in which each child strives to do the right thing, not just because someone tells them to, but becuase they see engaged teachers, staff members, and parents doing the right think and modeling the right behavior.

The Jefferson School 5

Posted October 06, 2015
- a parent
I am a proud parent of two Jefferson School (TJS) kids! I was fortunate to find TJS when my kids were in pre-k and 1st grade, which was 5 years ago! My children love school because they are challenged EVERY DAY with critical thinking opportunities! I am so grateful for the opportunity that my kids have, this is a wonderful school which provide hands on learning opportunities, engaging each child with teachable moments including exploring the contents of the ponds, nature walks, to designing and building rockets and launching them!!! TJS is simply an amazing school!

The Jefferson School 5

Posted November 05, 2013
- a parent
The Jefferson School is in a league of its own. If you are looking for a school where students are fed material and asked to spit it back on tests, so the school appears excellent according to state testing standards, this is not the school for you.If you want your child to come home with volumes of "busy work"that never challenges them to think, but only memorize, send them somewhere else. The Jefferson School day is jam-packed with interactive learning in a fun, engaging and nurturing environment. There is no bullying here, no distractions, no nonsense. Students are enriched by a caring and very educated staff, which brings worlds of experience to their classrooms. These students perform miles ahead of those students in the surrounding educational facilities in both testing parameters and beyond. They are at the top of their class in their high schools, which speaks volumes of the quality of education they received at this school. They become thinkers and leaders , which stems from a combination of the education they receive at school and at home. In my opinion, there is not a better quality education in this region. You owe it to yourself and your children to take a look.

The Jefferson School 5

Posted September 06, 2013
- a parent
To say my family has been thrilled by our positive experience at TJS would be an understatement. Our son was never excited about going to school prior to attending TJS. At TJS, his teacher was able to recognize that his disinterest came from not being challenged (something that was never addressed at much more expensive private schools he has attended). He was given a tailored curriculum to keep his mind active and foster his love for learning (is there anything more important for your child than that?). The class sizes are small and the teachers have time to get to know your child in a way that is impossible to do with larger classes. All of his teachers took interest in him, finding extra ways to help him build his confidence and help grow his character. TJS administration is outstanding. Ms. Hendricks is smart, pro-active and has proven she is capable of elevating TJS to the highest standards in education. If you have a smart, capable child and want them to be in an environment where fellow parents, faculty and adminstration are all dedicated to giving your child an outstanding progressive education, this is the place to be.

The Jefferson School 1

Posted June 04, 2013
- a community member
The Jefferson School, Georgetown, DE. While our family had high hopes for our children's experience at Jefferson, we can only say how very disappointed we are with the poor curriculum and inadequate teaching staff. This school is so far from its founding mission that it's next to impossible to compare the learning experience from 10-20 years ago to its current practices. While some staff members are ok, others are lazy, disengaged, and very cavalier about students' performances. Most parents are supplementing the curriculum by Kumon tutoring centers. Our children have had to be tutored when they transferred from Jefferson to local public schools. Students' various learning styles were never adequately identified or addressed. The math curriculum is particularly weak and does not follow the Delaware standardized norms. Reading and writing are stronger programs, but science, history, etc, are not. There are no textbooks. There is little or no homework. Delaware DOE does not monitor private schools like it does public/federally funded schools. My statements do not represent an aberration. I cannot say enough about how disappointing this school experience has been.

The Jefferson School 3

Posted November 04, 2012
- a parent
We loved the Jefferson School as a safe and fun environment but, after two years there my daughter still remained at the grade level when she entered. Socially, the children flourished in a well-loved and nurturing environment but, academically, my daughter suffered and is now having to make up two grades of missed work. I found this out after transferring her to another school. The most surprising of it all is that academic concern was never shared with me and I was being told she was at grade level. I would highly recommend Jefferson for the younger children but then transfer out starting at the grade levels.

The Jefferson School 5

Posted November 22, 2011
- a parent
We love Jefferson! It is like a family. The parents are very involved at all levels, the kids are happy, and the teachers are incredibly dedicated. The hands on curriculum allows the kids to learn at a deeper level than in the public schools. It's a gem!

Nearby schools

The Jefferson School
22051 Wilson Road, Georgetown, DE  19947
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 19 reviews. (302) 856-3300
Last modified The Jefferson School is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top