Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
500 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

While I work at Wilmington Christian School now, prior to my employment, my son attended Wilmington Christian School through 12th grade. He is now enrolled in college, and doing well. WCS did a fantastic job of providing a strong foundation upon which he could build a successful college career, and more importantly, provided a seamless connection between what my husband and I were teaching him at home, and what was being reinforced by our church. Some may refer to private school tuition as a sacrifice; I prefer to think of it as an investment...the best investment that we ever made!
October 09, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
29 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (10 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (9 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (8 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (8 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (9 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (6 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (5 responses)
characters left.
There are 100 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Wilmington Christian School 5

Posted December 28, 2015
- a community member
Wcs has caring teachers, dedicated coaches, and conscientious students, creating a safe and fun environment in which to learn and grow.

Wilmington Christian School 5

Posted December 11, 2015
- a community member
WCS has been such a great place for our children to be and I am so glad and fortunate that both of our children have been at WCS from Kindergarten through 12th grade. Academically the classes were wonderful and mixed in was the Biblical views that helped them learn and grow. I felt they were prepared for college and the friendships they have made will be long lasting, bonded in their relationship with God and each other.

Wilmington Christian School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
Compassion, caring, and empathy are integrated into all of the interactions students have throughout the day from Pk - grade 12. These are core values that are evident in the Christian life and are at the heart of WCS.

Wilmington Christian School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
WCS teaches students personal responsibility, honesty, and respect for everyone. They focus on the whole child and his/her development as a responsible citizen in our world.

Wilmington Christian School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
We love WCS! They have a very strong Christ-centered academic curriculum. Students are encouraged to achieve their best in academic, social, emotional, and spiritual areas. Teachers and staff truly care about the students. It's like being part of a big, wonderful family!

Wilmington Christian School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
My daughter attended K - 12. As a single parent, I needed a place where I knew she would be with people who believe (spiritually) like we do and would reinforce Christian values - let's face it...she was at school more than she was with me. She is now a college graduate - a nurse, and working in full-time ministry. WCS provided a solid foundation, both spiritually and academically. It was definitely a financial sacrifice for her to attend, but the investment I made, and the seeds that are sown, will be reaping immeasurable benefits for eternity.

Wilmington Christian School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
I have one child at WCS. We chose WCS because of its outstanding one-on-one educational therapy program, and most important, because it prepares students to enter the world with a strong Biblical view - something we feel is absolutely necessary as young people fight to survive in a secular society. Headmaster Bill Stevens and Principal Doug Haas are outstanding administrators and Christian leaders - they walk the talk and expect students and faculty to do the same. My child LOVES her teachers and has grown academically and spiritually in ways we never would have imagined. WCS is a great school.

Wilmington Christian School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
We entered WCS as a high school freshmen and I must admit that my daughter has blossomed into a beautiful young lady as a result, in part, of her experience there. The small intimate setting allowed her the ability to engage her teachers on a more personal level so that she was comfortable seeking guidance when she needed it. We couldn't have chosen a better high school experience!

Wilmington Christian School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a community member
I have 3 children in WCS. My oldest is senior and has been there since PK-4. Wcs is part of our family. They have helped prepare my son for college and for the challenges the world will bring. All of my children have different learning needs and are educated with God and their unique needs in mind. It is the only choice of schools for us!

Wilmington Christian School 5

Posted December 09, 2015
- a teacher
Our three children attended Wilmington Christian for Middle School and High School. I have also worked in the high school for the past fifteen years. Something unique about WCS is how kindly the students treat each other and how caring the teachers are.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Wilmington Christian School
825 Loveville Road, Hockessin, DE  19707
(302) 239-2121
Last modified Wilmington Christian School is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Wilmington Christian School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 100 reviews. Top