Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Sanford School

Private | PK-12

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 

Special education

The school has not provided this information yet.

 

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Hockessin

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $310,900. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 3 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted Thursday, August 21, 2014

This school is awesome. I attended a year in the upper school and I'm really bummed to be leaving (I'm going to school in a different state next year). I loved a lot about Sanford. Their athletics are mostly no-cut (which means if you come out to play a sport, you'll be placed on a team) but still competitive, the dress code is pretty relaxed (although they come after you sometimes if you break it), the academics are challenging and the teachers are motivated (for the most part), and the sense of community was there every day you walked in the building. I've made some really great friends at Sanford that I'm sad to be leaving. There are a couple areas the school could improve on, however. I always noticed communication lacked at times from the school and staff (everyone thought the Homecoming dance started at different times last year). The arts program is really eh right now, but they are, however, in the process of building a new arts center, which I'm hoping will help to improve the program. Also, random, but when it was snowy or icy out, maintenance wasn't always the best at getting rid of it on the walkways, especially for the first few classes of the day.


Posted July 29, 2014

Sanford promotes itself as a school that is tolerant and inviting, but it may as well be a charter school. They are not open to bright kids who think out of the box. If you want your child to to score well on tests, then perhaps it's the right school. Whether it really teaches kids to be curious and lifelong learners, I recommend you keep searching. There are much better institutions that cater to a more well-rounded human being.


Posted February 15, 2014

Sanford school is OK for lower school and middle school. However, I would not recommend it for the upper (9-12) school. The quality of the teachers and administrators is sub-par. They also spend a ridiculous amount recruiting for their star basketball team and not enough on things like physical plant, technology etc. Look carefully at the other private schools in the area - when you compare Sanford you will see they come up short in these areas.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2013

My daughter, grade 9, and son, grade 7, are new to the school this year. We absolutely love it. I can't say enough about how friendly and inviting the families and staff are. After attending back to school nights I am even more impressed with the faculty and the education my children are receiving. Not to mention the beautiful campus; it is nicer than many college campuses I've seen! The new head of school, Mark Anderson, is a dynamic leader who is doing some great things at Sanford. But don't take my word for it, check it out for yourself and you will be glad you did :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2012

Sanford sucks so bad i hate it here so glad i'm leaving the teachers are so so so mean trust me you do no want to go there!!!! Parents do not send your kid there unless you like when they can do nothing but homework and i get all A's and i'm up til 3:00 every night!!!!! Nobody go to sanford and parents do not send your kid or kids to sanford trust me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Posted October 12, 2010

Sanford has the goal of uncovering talent in every child and making that talent shine. The community within the school is incredible and nurturing in a way that helps my kids grow in directions I didn't know they could. They value diversity and service as well as hard work to make good grades. They are interested in teaching kids to think through problems rather than just coming up with the "right" answer.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2010

Sanford is an amazing school to go to. The teachers and students are very nice an all of the teachers care about you and how you are doing in school. Take it from me, I go to Sanford and pretty much my whole grade is my friend. (except the boys)! I Have been going to Sanford since Kindergarten and I know now why everyone loves it there!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 13, 2008

This school has an okay curriculum. However from the students point of view the school suffocates students creativity. They do this by not being accepting and the endless list of unnecessary rules
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 15, 2007

i love absoulutly love sanford!!!! i would never go to another school! sanford is like a 3rd home for me! the teachers are like family and so are the students. i love going to school. i reccomend sanford because the curriculum is excellant, the teachers are caring and they look out for you and everyone is like a family. sanford is the best school ever and i have been going here since jk!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 22, 2004

Sanford is an excellent school. It offers an exceptional curriculum and a variety of activities that the students participate on a daily basis. The students are delighted to come to school and they do not have the severe behavior issues that the public schools encounter. I was so impressed with the school's past and present reputation that I accepted an offer of employment that I could not refuse. Now, I can see my child on campus and educate other children at the same time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

Sanford is a school that truly cares about cultivating the potential in each of its students. The multi-faceted curriculum, small class size, and variety of extracurricular activities aim to develop the talents and capabilities of the students attending Sanford. The faculty and staff are the most involved, caring, professional, and devoted of any staff in any other school in the state. You cannot put a price tag on your child's education and well being, however, in terms of cost Sanford is truly worth every penny.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2004

My wife teaches at Sanford and we have two children there: son, sixth grade; daugher, first grade. We like the school and have great faith in Doug, school head, and Nancy, head of the elementary school. The inside scoop: Sanford is not great at sports; dramatic arts are truly outstanding, and the arts in general are one of the school's strengths. Sanford isn't a product of the 'progressive' movement e.g. Waldorf, but it has a little of that quality to temper the creative weakness of many mainstream prep schools. Academically the school is ahead of its reputation and continues to improve. One thing we like about Sanford is that it doesn't cater to any one kind of student. It isn't aimed toward difficult children and it isn't a grist mill for the Ivies. There are academic tracks to match several levels of ability; the student body is diverse with parents rich and not so rich. 'The kids are nice and the school is not snotty,' a parent quoted her child's remark to me. On the worrying side, the school is not wealthy, has little endowment and alumni do not seem to be very active. It is located in a lovely valley, but the grounds show signs of wear. The school is halfway through a well thought out campaign to renew it's buildings.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School social worker/counselors(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Power lifting / Weight lifting
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Jazz band
  • Theory
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Graphics
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer time after school
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

Po Box 888
Hockessin, DE 19707
Phone: (302) 239-5263

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Towle Institute
Hockessin, DE







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT