Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Laurel Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 348 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 28, 2010

I didnt like this school at all i was bullyed and the teachers were really mean. I also saw alot of fights go onin this school it was so bad i left and there a also wepons so if i were a parent i would hate to send a child here


Posted February 18, 2009

i go to this school now i can say myself that this school isnt the best. the only teacher i think really does well teaching us kids is lisa marvel. she is the math and algebra teacher she work with us student so well. besides her there is a big bullying problem and the teachers never really try to help the princple does nothing but sit back watch us kids strugle and get payed
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 4, 2009

OMG!!! My name is Flore-dina and i use to go to Laurel Middle for 7th and 8th grade...and omg, there is nothing wrong with it. Some kids just need to grow up and deal with there problems. But yeah true...the communication there is whack. But i dont think its just the middle school. Thats why i didnt want to go to the high school. So now i go to Sussex Tech with no regrets:)
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 12, 2008

This is by the worse school my son has been to.Lack of communication with my child and the staff.I will never send my kids or family members to this school. Ive been living there for years and its a bad place for kids these age.And I.m sick of the bullying and nobody does anything.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2008

We are leaving the school due to the lack of communication between staff and us. Dealing with bully issues since day one in seventh grade and now even when we voice our concerns we get the old ho hum attitude that kids are kids and our kid likes to start issues just to 'tattle'. Thank goodness the new district has online communication and attitude that takes student issues seriously!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2008

Principal leadership - new principal this year, she needs to reprogram to deal with 7th/8thgraders instead of the pre-k - 1st grade she's used to. Parent involvement is SORELY lacking - there is no encouragement from the school to be involved. Teacher quality - they try hard, not an easy age and NCLB certainly doesn't help. A little more home/school communication would be nice. Safety and discipline - who knows? We won't hear unless it hits the news. Extracurricular activities - would be nice if there were more that weren't athletics based, but overall I'm satisfied with what is offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2004

This school is definitly a superior school just as it is entitled.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

155 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
52%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
36%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 73% in 2013.

152 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

150 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
49%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2013.

140 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
31%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
31%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students66%
Female79%
Male55%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White70%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status63%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Title In/a
Special ed13%
Regular ed79%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English67%

Math

All Students52%
Female62%
Male43%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White54%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status45%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Title In/a
Special ed7%
Regular ed63%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English52%

Social Studies

All Students52%
Female51%
Male53%
African American55%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White53%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status45%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Title In/a
Special ed11%
Regular ed61%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Female72%
Male64%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White73%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status61%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Title In/a
Special ed31%
Regular ed73%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English70%

Math

All Students64%
Female67%
Male61%
African American50%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status56%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Title In/a
Special ed31%
Regular ed68%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English66%

Science

All Students31%
Female23%
Male40%
African American16%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White39%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status25%
Not economically disadvantaged44%
Title In/a
Special edn/a
Regular ed33%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English32%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 63% 50%
Black 28% 32%
Hispanic 5% 12%
Asian 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A48%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

801 South Central Ave
Laurel, DE 19956
Phone: (302) 875-6110

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT