Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Thomas More Preparatory

Private | 9-12 | 240 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Magnolia

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $219,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $800.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 27, 2014

I attended STM and socially it was great. The administration does need to look at students behavior because I feel a group of students are involved in "sketchy" activities,especially in the parking lots and bathrooms.Random checks need to be implemented.Academics are fine.


Posted October 8, 2013

My son is going to STMA. He love the school and the teachers challenge him to get better everyday. Great young school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2010

My family and I recently moved from a blue ribbon school district in PA to the Sussex County area in DE. After much research (my husband and I are educational professionals) we chose St. Thomas More Prep. in Magnolia ,DE. We are now sure that we made the right decision! Most important is that our daughter agrees! St. Thomas More Prep is not just a school it is a community of caring and knowledgeable faculty ,staff, and administrators who strive to provide an excellent education and respectful enviornment for all students. The oppotunities at St.Thomas are many (sports teams, theater, music and various clubs). We feel very lucky to have found this gem of a school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 7, 2009

My granddaughter graduated from Saint Thomas More. Her four years there were totally miserable, socially and academically. Now she is struggling in college. I would never recommend this school to anyone.


Posted September 22, 2009

Like the others Ravens who have attended the Naval Academy, I watch my fellow plebes struggle with their academics, however I feel totally prepared both academically. My focus on the big picture was honed at the Prep. I thank my parents for sending me to STMP. Submitted by a graduate August 2009


Posted September 22, 2009

My husband and I both attended Catholic school and presumed our sons would do the same but we never imaged a school like the Prep. With deep spiritually, a caring faculty, great principal and strong academics, activities and sports, we are blessed to have found such a great school. Submitted by a parent September 2009
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2009

I am an alumni of St.Thomas More Academy. I went to school between 2004-2008, and the new administration really did not realize their was a history before it took charge and began to start its own school. For better or for worse it has yet to been seen. 'The Prep' has done nothing to preserve such aspects of the school's history before its existence. Everything from 2008 and prior has been erased from the school website and its sports pages. So long live St. Thomas More Academy the original catholic school in small little Magnolia, Delaware.


Posted August 15, 2009

I am currently a student at St. Thomas More and I have been a student for all four years. The ways the school has changed in the past four years is incredible. The studies are very high quality and the teachers are the best. You can't go wrong with this catholic school education. Thats's why we are number 1 in the state and top 50 in the nation
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 17, 2008

I attended a concert this weekend at saint thomas more prep. I have just moved into the development next to the campus. The school is beautiful and the music was wonderful but what truly impressed me and my wife was how welcoming the students were. They tell us they were named one of the top 50 high schools in the nation and we can see why. Wish there was a Saint Thomas More when my children attended school.


Posted June 24, 2008

Wow! we were thrilled when our son was admitted last year; after one year we recommend that any parent who want to see their child bloom and mature beyond your expectations, sent them to Saint Thomas More Prep.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2007

Saint Thomas More Academy provides an atmosphere that is both positive and academically challenging. Because it is a small school with many extra curricular activities, the opportunity for students to get involved is unparalleled. Saint Thomas More Academy has been an excellent choice for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2006

Under it's new leadership, St. Thomas More is absolutely the finest high school in Delaware. The academics, arts, spiritual and leadership development of each student excel. We could not ask for more for our child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 7, 2006

Delaware's leading Academic school and now and outstanding environment for my children. I can not imang my children finding a better place in which to grow and prepare for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 28, 2006

I attend St. Thomas More Academy and I feel that I have grown not only intellectually but spiritually and as a person. Saint Thomas More Academy is a fantastic school that doesn t have 'homerooms' it has 'communities.' Saint Thomas More has not only been a great high school for me but I recommend it to any student or parent thinking about attending or sending their child to St. Thomas More. It prepares me for the real world and what college is like. The faculty and administration always try their hardest to help the students grow as individuals. At St. Thomas More, I feel safe, understood and secure. Being in the environment that Saint Thomas More offers, my self-confidence has increased knowing I won t be judged by my peers or the faculty. I recommend Saint Thomas More Academy for anyone interested in receiving a superior education.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 24, 2005

This school is no better than any good public school in Dover Delaware, unless you are a fan of a small school environment then this is a school for you.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted November 19, 2004

This is an excellent school. I have two children who are or have attended it. The instruction and development is very individualized. I would highly recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 82% 50%
Black 6% 32%
Hispanic 6% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 3% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Holy Cross School
Sussex Academy of Arts and Sciences
Caesar Rodney School District
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Italian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Recognized as one of the Nations Top 50 Catholic High Schools (2008)
  • Recognized as one of the Nations Top 50 Catholic High Schools (2009)
  • Catholic High School Honor Roll (2009)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Korean
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50am
School end time
  • 3:30pm
School Leader's name
  • david l. mckenzie
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Honors track
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Korean
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Italian
  • Spanish
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Library
  • Performance stage
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Wilmington
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Wrestling
  • table tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Lacrosse
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
  • table tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Holy Cross School
Sussex Academy of Arts and Sciences
Caesar Rodney School District

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
University of Delaware
Saint Joseph's University
Villanova University
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

133 Thomas More Drive
Magnolia, DE 19962
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 697-8100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT