Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Long Neck Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 718 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 10, 2010

This school is by far the best school in the state! It's truly are a superior school. The staff is excellent and the administration is very supportive and student oriented. Moving from Wilmington I was worrried about the lack of private choices in the southern part of the state, but i feel that my son is receiving a private education for free!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2009

I LOVE this school. The staff and teachers are so caring and are so dedicated to the students. We were in the Cape district and had so many problems with teachers not truley caring about our child or her needs. She was not learning a thing there. We are so grateful that we school choiced to Long Neck!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2008

i was a past student to this school. my mom is now a subsitute there so im in the school pretty often. over the years it has excelled and each grade has there own things to do and at the end of the year every student had been given the best education and year ever, they easily combined work with fun activites and they try and make the school a more hands on place. i rate it full stars and i will fully support them


Posted April 13, 2005

I personally have been involved in the Long Neck Elementary School for the past 7 years. My son and daughter have had the most pleasurable learning experience with the administrators, teachers and the staff. I can honestly say that the Long Neck Staff does care about their children in a way that an elementary school should.They make it a fun place for the kids to learn. As far as the DSTP, the kids know it is an important test, but the staff does not stress them out about it, they just ask for the kids to do their best! The PTO is great too! They encourage parent participation all the time. Every month they do something for the kids.It's not surprising that they are a 'superior' school!I almost hate to see my youngest child leave there!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

I am a current 5th grade student that goes to LN. When I moved from California, I was afraid of what to expect at a new school.The staff at LN really helped me excell in everything I do. I am overall impressed with Long Neck Elementary!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2005

My experience at Long Neck Elementary has been wonderful. Finding the right fit for a child with special needs can be quite challenging. Since enrolling at this school, I have seen my child grow in leaps. I could not be happier. And it's not just the staff, the kids are really great too. My child is learning and is happy. I find the environment at LN to be caring, respectful, and focused on learning. I looked at other schools, private and public, and I believe that I have found the best choice available for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2005

I am the grandmother of a child that was pulled out of another school in the district when she was in third grade because the emphasis on the DSTP was so stressful in that building. My granddaughter was enrolled at Long Neck, thrived at Long Neck and did very well on the DSTP at Long Neck. The staff at LN seem to have a way of acknowledging the importance of the DSTP to their students without burdening them with unnecessary stress. This is evidenced by LN being chosen a Superior School by the state of Delaware two years in a row! The administrators and staff are wonderful, the curriculum is well rounded, there are many extracurricular activities and LN has a very active PTO that enhances the learning atmosphere in the building by hosting many academic and fun programs and activities. I plan to enroll my grandson at LN next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 17, 2004

No overly impressed with the school. After two years, we pulled our child out. Our impression was that the DSTP test outranked the required curriculim. If it wasn't on the test, it wasn't necassary. Teaching the test, and coaching the kids for 2 months on taking the test was more improtant than educating our child. I November our child went through a three week bout of fretting and worrying about the DTSP that weren't to be administered until May. That was when we decided it was time to seek an alternative.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
93%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
93%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
>=95%

2011

 
 
>=95%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2013.

106 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female91%
Male83%
African American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanic89%
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status86%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Title I87%
Special edn/a
Regular ed87%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English86%

Math

All Students81%
Female73%
Male87%
African American61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic68%
Multiracialn/a
White87%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status78%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Title I81%
Special edn/a
Regular ed83%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English82%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Female81%
Male86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status80%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Title I83%
Special edn/a
Regular ed85%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English83%

Math

All Students93%
Female94%
Male92%
African American93%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status93%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Title I93%
Special edn/a
Regular ed>=95%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English93%

Social Studies

All Students90%
Female89%
Male91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White91%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status89%
Not economically disadvantaged95%
Title I90%
Special edn/a
Regular ed91%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English90%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Female85%
Male88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status85%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Title I87%
Special ed65%
Regular ed92%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English87%

Math

All Students91%
Female85%
Male94%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White93%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status88%
Not economically disadvantaged>=95%
Title I91%
Special ed75%
Regular ed94%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English91%

Science

All Students83%
Female76%
Male87%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White88%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status81%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Title I83%
Special ed60%
Regular ed88%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English83%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Hudson, David C.
Fax number
  • (302) 945-6203

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

26064 School Lane
Millsboro, DE 19966
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 945-6200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Rehoboth Elementary School
Rehoboth Beach, DE



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT