Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southern Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 876 students

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 23, 2014

I have an autistic son and teachers @ southern don't understand students with disabilities, they don't communicate with parents to inform child progress and never want to answer any concerns that I may have, either if you write emails to them or on the child journal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2014

My daughter as ADHD and I believe she has a learning disability but the does not want test her and uses many excuse not to they have her in rti and has been for two years and really not helping. They have no type of communication with parents. I go for a conference and they keep looking at the clock they also give you no notice as to what or how your child is doing I have had to point out issues and ask for things I can help her with and still no answers, it's like you are a bother and taking up their time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2013

Love this school...my daughter started here in 3rd grade (now 5th) after being in private school since PreK. The transition was very smooth and she has loved all of her teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

My oldest son has been going to Southern for 3 years now and I have had nothing more than a great experience. My son has improved so much over the past couple of years. Teachers have been great in dealing with me and my child. Keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2009

Southern is awesome and was just rated Excellent by the state. The curriculum focuses on the whole student; academics, self-esteem, artistic expression, etc., the teachers are caring, and the PTA is active. My kids love this school and so do I.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 12, 2008

I am so pleased with this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

My daughter is in her second year at Southern. The teachers are great and I have had good experiences with both teachers. I dont feel that the rest of staff of the school are very warm and welcoming and I cannot say that I have had any other positive experiences with this school. I sent the previous principal an email to introduce the Delaware Money School's program 'Bank at School' which teaches student how to save their money and the importance of opening a savings account and managing money. I have not, as of today, ever heard anything from the principal, school district , or anyone else. Also, the school decided to stop Junior Achievement from coming into the school. My daughter loves that program. The reasoning that I received for the removal was that Southern has a similar curriculum to JA. I am just not impressed at all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

I was extremely leery of the Delaware Public Schools; therefore my daughter attended a local private school. The decision to transfer her to Southern was not one in which we took lightly. It was the best decision we could have made. Her teachers have been wonderful and the administration staff superb. My daughter is being challenged both intellectually as well as personally. I highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2007

The teachers at this school are top notch, but the school suffers from a lack of true leadership. The current principal is unwilling to address any issue that will result in a conflict with parents - most notably the issue of parking lot safety. The atmosphere is now very oppressive, with parents feeling progressively more unwelcome over the past few years. Lovely new building, great teachers, support staff are for the most part wonderful, but the prinicipal leaves something to be desired.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

Parental involvement??? There was none last year. I was in the PTA and attended every meeting. I attended a meeting of only 8 parents and then the next month I attended a meeting that didn't take place because even the board members failed to show and it was never cancelled. I did not like my sons first year there, the teacher did not want parents in the classroom even though she said she did and I offered many times with an excuse to follow as why I couldn't come for some reason. My son did not learn anything new because he had to be made to go over everything he had already learned because most kids came to school unprepared. Thankfully we're going to attend the new school and I plan on being super involved since it will also be my daughters first year of school at school.I was not happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2007

Excellent school and faculty
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

Don't let the 'public' school tag influence you. Southern may be a public school but it is so committed to the education of each student that it surpassed all my expectation once I transferred my son from the local privste school. All the teachers are very involved. It has a great atmosphere. There are many programs and classroom activities to get kids excited about learning. There is a high level of parental involvement, as well. Everyone, students, parents, teachers are at ease.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

My son entered Kindergarten at Southern the year the school opened. He is now entering 4th grade. We have been SO happy with the school, the teachers, just everything. The facilities are great, but the teachers are even better. My son has excelled (and he has ADHD) thanks to the great teachers. This past year,he made Honor Roll every marking period. A special mention to Mrs. Payne-Miller, his 3rd grade teacher. She has been the best teacher I have encountered anywhere! What a great school! I would not move unless I remained in Southern's feeding pattern!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 29, 2004

My son is in the 1st grade and his teacher is GREAT. My son has ADHD and she does everything she can to help him and to keep me involved. I love Sounthern Elementary and so does my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 22, 2004

My son, now in 5th grade, has a hard time doing his math, and is on a 3.5 reading level. From second grade on, we were concerned, but 3rd and 4th grade teachers told us that he is doing 'just fine', and that we are worrying too much. Now his 5th grade teacher is saying that he hasn't memorized times tables and is having a hard time reading up to grade level. Who is wrong here? His teachers from past grades. They are so worried about the state testing and are leaving everything else out. He can't spell good either. As long as they pass that state test, I guess you're okay. So, wake up and do better teaching other than worrying if your students are going to pass state testing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2004

I have a 1st and 5th grader going here now. We just moved from a small school in the Red Clay District and while at first I was a little takenaback at how humongous Southern is, I am now loving it. Both of my kids have teachers that I can tell really do love their jobs and their students. My 5th grader has ADHD and a IEP and the teachers and administrators have gone out of their way to make sure that he is taken care of. The school seems to be run very efficiently and I have yet to have any concerns with anyone or anything, I was very concerned when we moved and I am now glad that we did.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2004

my daughter is new to Southern Elementary this year. She is in the first grade and has Ms. Roane. My husband and i are very pleased at the progress she is making thus far.Ms. Roane is absolutly a wonderful teacher who is always very pleasant and cheerful, providing a fun and exciting learning atmosphere for her class. So far Southern Elementary school rates 5 stars for us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2004

I have a child who is in 4th grade know. From the begining in 1st grade I have argued that she has learning disabilities. I have had her tested and have proof that she is dislexic. I allways here schools saying there will be no child left behind. My daughter can read at a 6th grade level but cannot spell. The school has not done anything to help her. All I see is a young girl falling farther behind. She is on a 504 plan I have yet to see from the teacher. When I went to open house the teacher had 30 students. How can you help a child with special need with so many children. So far I am very disapionted with Southern elementary. My child is definetly being left behind.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2004

We love Southern! Our child is in several special programs so we have had the opportunity to meet and work with several staff members and they are all caring, supportive and devoted to each child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

I have a special needs child in the inclusion program here. The Special Ed teachers, therapists and para-professionals are top notch. They really care about the success of the children and encourage parents to get involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

142 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
63%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

141 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

161 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
65%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

160 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

148 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
57%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2013.

147 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
41%

2012

 
 
44%

2011

 
 
35%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Female63%
Male76%
African American65%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status61%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Title I70%
Special ed7%
Regular ed78%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English71%

Math

All Students77%
Female75%
Male79%
African American68%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status69%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Title I77%
Special edn/a
Regular ed84%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English77%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Female78%
Male65%
African American70%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status63%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Title I71%
Special ed13%
Regular ed81%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English74%

Math

All Students77%
Female76%
Male78%
African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White85%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status73%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Title I77%
Special ed38%
Regular ed84%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English78%

Social Studies

All Students73%
Female77%
Male68%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White84%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status64%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Title I73%
Special ed33%
Regular ed79%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English74%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students78%
Female81%
Male74%
African American73%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status72%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Title I78%
Special ed28%
Regular ed85%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English78%

Math

All Students76%
Female75%
Male78%
African American69%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status70%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Title I76%
Special ed22%
Regular ed84%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English76%

Science

All Students41%
Female40%
Male42%
African American26%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White51%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status31%
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Title I41%
Special ed<=5%
Regular ed47%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English40%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Glennon, David
Fax number
  • (302) 832-6305

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

795 Cox Neck Road
New Castle, DE 19720
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 832-6300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT