Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pleasantville Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 496 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 10, 2012

My twins have had a wonderful experience at Pleasantville. The teaching staff is excellent, the administration is attentive, and the programs are great. My kids are in their last year and I've been pleased with the education they've received. The staff is caring and treat the children with respect. The facilities are well maintained and the grounds are kept up. I can always speak with someone regarding any concerns I have. Great community schoo with a food pantry for those in needl.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2010

I Choiced my son to Pleasantville in K b/c of good experiences I'd heard from others. He has been very successful here. The teachers and staff have good communication with the parents, and go a long way in rewarding postive effort and behavior. We will be moving, and I am disappointed that my daughter won't be able to attend PLV too. We've had a great experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

Both of my grandchildren went here for k - 5 . This is a wonderful school!!


Posted May 2, 2007

This is my son's last year at Pleasantville. I can truly say that this school is a great place for a child to be. The teachers are great(some need help themselves), but overall they do what needs to be done. Most of the teachers are very helpful, and they try to do whatever it takes to help your child pass. My son loves his school. I wish it went up to teh 8th grade!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2007

I believe that this school is great! Both my children have done exceptionally well and I'm sure it's because of the teachers and principal's dedication and involvement. You can tell that the staff truly enjoys what they do and they love the children. The school has the right name because it truly is pleasant!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 18, 2006

Our family continues to enjoy a positive experience at Pleasantville. Our daughter is happy in her third year at the school, and we are extremely satisfied with the interaction that we get from the faculty. Her teacher challenges her daily, which is exactly what she needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2005

My son's first year 2004-2005 started out a little rocky but ended great. Teacher continued with constant communication with us throughout the year as we worked at home with my son as well. So far, I would recommend school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2005

I was very dissatisfied and dissappointed in placing my child at Pleasantville(2004-2005); thought that it would be a great idea due to smallness of the school. The teacher my child had was new at teaching, unstructured, not persistent, not consistant, inexperience, and did not meet my childs needs when it came to behavior interventions. There were meetings and request by me that, my child be placed with a more experience and structured teacher but it was denied; until almost the end of the school year. By then it was too late but, his behaviors began to drop down when my child was swithched around to more experienced teachers. I would not recommend this school to any parent if your child has adhd, add or opp. They don't know how to be persistant and don't have the time to try to meet the childs needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2005

This school is a very safe and educational place. It is definately a very excitng place. If I wanted a place that made me joyful as well as protected then Pleasantville is my number 1 choice.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
82%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
78%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

94 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
71%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
80%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

97 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
77%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2013.

93 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
49%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students68%
Female68%
Male69%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status64%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Title I68%
Special edn/a
Regular ed76%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English72%

Math

All Students70%
Female64%
Male78%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status66%
Not economically disadvantaged81%
Title I70%
Special edn/a
Regular ed79%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English70%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students62%
Female62%
Male62%
African American62%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status57%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Title I63%
Special edn/a
Regular ed68%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English64%

Math

All Students65%
Female61%
Male69%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White92%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status61%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Title I65%
Special edn/a
Regular ed69%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English68%

Social Studies

All Students58%
Female60%
Male57%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
White71%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status54%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Title I58%
Special edn/a
Regular ed64%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students71%
Female76%
Male68%
African American71%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status73%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Title I71%
Special edn/a
Regular ed80%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English74%

Math

All Students74%
Female73%
Male75%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status75%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Title I74%
Special ed20%
Regular ed84%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English76%

Science

All Students35%
Female34%
Male37%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic28%
Multiracialn/a
White44%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status32%
Not economically disadvantaged48%
Title I35%
Special edn/a
Regular ed42%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English38%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 44% 32%
White 1 35% 50%
Hispanic 2 19% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 2 1% 3%
Two or more races 2 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 2 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 2 0% 0%
Source: DE Dept. of Education, 2011-2012
Source: 2 NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 74%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Alexander, Jennifer
Fax number
  • (302) 323-2943

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

16 Pleasant Place
New Castle, DE 19720
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 323-2935

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT