Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Read (George) Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 702 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2013

In the beginning my son was bullied. We went to the principle and she took care of the problem. She is awesome. However, the communication is poor. Kids are disrespectful and very loud in the classes. This makes learning an issue. I just hope next year in a new school will be better.Also homework is never given. How am I as a parent supposed to 're-enforce what is taught?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2010

I used to be a student in this school back in 07 and I have to say it is the worst school I've ever gone to. Students were getting bullied constantly, there were food fights in the cafeteria every week, and the administrators wouldn't do anything to stop it. Most of the teachers there didn't care much of the students' education' although there were a few that actually did. I don't even know where the school board got the nurse from all she would do was give students peppermints. I actually witnessed her hold up a student by the neck collar of his T-shirt for running in the hall. That's alittle bit too excessive don't you think. When the DSTP tests came along the teachers didn't even prepare us for it, I guess they think we can pass the test without the proper knowledge? Overall, its a bad school with poor education who has teachers who don't really acknowledge you. If it were up to me, I would probably fire the teachers and administators who don't do their job and keep the ones who do. Don't send your child to this school unless, you want him or her to get scarred for life


Posted March 10, 2010

My daughter is currently a 6th grader at George Read. People told me alot of negative things about this school before my daughter started. We kept a positive outlook about it but I have to say that this is the worst school I have ever seen. The kids are bullies, disrespectful and just plain mean. The teachers don't seem to care about the kids education or wellfare. My daughter is and always has been an honor roll student. The DSTP state tests are this week and George Read teachers have not helped the students get ready for that at all. My daughter asked if there would be any reviews the week before and the Math teacher didn't even know test were going to be taken. How pathetic is that? Next year luckily my daughter will be attending Skyline Middle in Red Clay where she'll receive the superior education she deserves!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

I am a student in 8th Grade at George Read Middle. I have had a wonderful experience their and learned alot! The 8thGrade consouler is The BEST! However some of the 8th grade teachers are NOT the kindest . Overall George Read is a wonderful School <33
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 22, 2008

My daughter is currently in the 7th grade at George Read and so far I am very disappointed. It seems to be very chaotic and unorganized. The home access center is an excellent tool but the teachers at George Read can't seem to find time to complete it in a timely manner which really makes the system useless. I have two younger children and at this point hope not to send them to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2008

George Read Middle School is a school that varies a different experience for each student and each parent. I know many other students that get bullied often, whine about it and then get picked on even worse. I also know students that swiftly sail through George Read without having a single problem. Of course, there is no real excuse for the constant bulling and public displays of affection that many students get invovled with. The fact is, most of the things paretns complain about happen in every school. Why should George Read be any different?
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 13, 2007

I heard a few stories about GR but decided to keep an open mind when sending my daughter there. She has been involved in sports for 6th & 7th grade. I think the best thing for her was to have her pick a sport which helped keep her involved with school and too busy for the 'bad crowd'. We had a discipline problem with a student pushing my daughter, but the school handled it immediately and that boy was suspended. I have met with teachers, I have emailed with teachers and I am one of a handful of parents that show up for the open house to meet my daughter's teacher. I think each experience will be different, but you can choose a good one for your child if you and your child stay involved with school. - Karen D., August 2007
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2006

The teacher to student ratio is to high. My child was constantly bullied in class and the teacher did nothing, not even send the bully to the office. My daughter had food thrown at her in the lunch room. Even though the kid admitted to throwing the food nothing happened to him. I have asked for notes to come home when my child was at a C average, although promised to keep up on it, I never recieved any notes from teachers. It just seems as if this school doesn't care about the students well being. You can't even sneak a peak at the classroom without the teacher knowing you are coming. That defeats the whole purpose of surprise visits
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2005

Poor educational environment. I cannot think of anything that would describe George Read better. Extreme lack of discipline - i don't think administration knows the meaning of the word 'expulsion.' Children get away with disrespect, violence towards others, destruction of property, foul language to their teachers, etc. With only a small detention or suspension. Class sizes sometimes reach 40 students per teacher - tell me what could possibly get done in that room? Nothing - i've seen it. Don't bother trying to get anything done about these problems, don't bother sending your child there. Although there are some very dedicated teachers, they can only do so much, and administration will not change these ways. It's unfortunate for the students that care and teachers that love their profession to have to be associated with George Read.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2005

I shared many of the same concerns of the writer of December 2004 throughout the school year. I was hopeful that meeting with the teachers on a regular basis would improve our overall experience. Unfortunately, I've found that sometimes it does not matter how involved you are in school if your child shuts down. I felt like I was fighting a lose-lose battle some days. But, in reading the views of the writers in Feb and March, I am again hopeful that the 7th grade teachers have a little more patience, smaller class sizes & more integrity to 'teaching', are willing to be involved & provide suggestions to academic concerns before labeling them as behavioral issues. I also think that incorporating a 15-20 minute 'recess' could help since the children never really get a break in the lunchroom.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2005

George Read has been an excellent experience for my daughter. She has been involved with the choir for 3 years (she is in 8th grade now) and has enjoyed 3 field trips to 3 little bakers. Geo. Read is a large school, and your child should be well prepared for the changing of classes, because there are many kids in the hall at once, and that can take some getting used to. My daughter has never had an issue at this school, and actually has become quite attached to more than a few of her teachers. The staff and principal have always been willing to work with our family, and we have seen many rewards for our efforts. Overall, a good school, and you will see rewards for your efforts. I agree with the other parent - you must stay involved with your child. The school is not a babysitting service.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2005

I was a little leary of George Read Middle when I had to send my daughter there for 8th grade this year. Overall, the experience has been pretty pleasant. I believe that if you are experiencing problems with the teachers or staff there it's because of behavioral problems stemming from your child. It is the parents responsibility to become part of the solution to making things better. I have had the pleasure of meeting with my daughter teachers and they actually turned out to be really great. They have expressed a great interest in helping get her and keep her on the right track. I believe George Read Middle School would definitely get much more positive praise if many of the parents of the students who attend this school would just get to know the teachers and school staff and become more involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2004

This is most likely one of the worst Middle Schools in the state. My experience has been nothing but trouble. Teachers and Principals. It would seem that many are there to draw a check and wait to retire. I wish that the State of Delaware Dept of Instruction would take a closer look. I just do not get what they seek to do!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 72% in 2013.

269 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 67% in 2013.

267 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
45%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 60% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 73% in 2013.

250 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

253 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
43%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2013.

247 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
34%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students70%
Female73%
Male66%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic67%
Multiracialn/a
White74%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status68%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Title I70%
Special ed26%
Regular ed79%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English71%

Math

All Students56%
Female55%
Male57%
African American49%
Asiann/a
Hispanic55%
Multiracialn/a
White65%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status57%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Title I56%
Special ed21%
Regular ed64%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English57%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Female59%
Male55%
African American49%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White67%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status54%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Title I57%
Special ed10%
Regular ed68%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English59%

Math

All Students50%
Female53%
Male46%
African American36%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White60%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status48%
Not economically disadvantaged58%
Title I50%
Special ed10%
Regular ed59%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English51%

Social Studies

All Students50%
Female43%
Male56%
African American35%
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
White65%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status46%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Title I50%
Special ed18%
Regular ed57%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English52%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students61%
Female67%
Male57%
African American60%
Asiann/a
Hispanic63%
Multiracialn/a
White59%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status59%
Not economically disadvantaged68%
Title I62%
Special ed12%
Regular ed71%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English62%

Math

All Students56%
Female56%
Male55%
African American54%
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White55%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status51%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Title I56%
Special ed14%
Regular ed64%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English56%

Science

All Students53%
Female58%
Male50%
African American45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic60%
Multiracialn/a
White56%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status51%
Not economically disadvantaged60%
Title I54%
Special ed21%
Regular ed60%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English55%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Assistant principal(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
Nurse(s)
PE instructor(s)
School psychologist
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Sage, Holly G.
Fax number
  • (302) 323-2763

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Wrestling
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Field hockey
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

314 East Basin Road
New Castle, DE 19720
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 323-2760

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT