Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Learning Express Academy

Private | K-5 | 200 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Newark

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $175,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,170.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 18, 2013

I moved to a good school district with the expectation that my daughter would attend school in her neighborhood. I came to LEA to give it a try for kindergarten. My daughter is now in the fifth grade. I drive 30 minutes to LEA each morning to drop her off. I wouldn't change it for the world. I love the family friendly environment. My daughter excels academically and socially at LEA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2011

What can I say... my daughter absolutely loved this school. She was enrolled pre-k through 5th grade. I always felt she was in good hands and that the staff truelly cared about each student. She enjoyed the teachers so much and the friends she gained there. She now goes to 6th grade at a private school in the area and her first report card was all A's. Even with all that the new school has to offer her heart is still with LEA. She's always saying she wishes LEA had a Middle School so she could still be there. Thank again LEA!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2010

This school is one of the best private schools in the area. I love the low student to teacher ratio and the strong academic curriculum. My daughter has completed kindergarten at LEA and is currently in the 1st grade. Her teachers are caring, the atmosphere is great and she really enjoys going to school. The administration is very friendly and quick to address any concerns you may have. I would highly recomend this private elementary school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2010

My daughter was a student for 3 years (ages 3 to 6) and I have nothing but great things to say about this school. The owners and staff are caring and accessible. They provide the best atmosphere for intellectual and social development. I enthusiastically endorse this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2010

My son has been at this school for 5 months and is doing very well. The teachers are very professional and caring and the staff is extremely helpful and pleasant. We have had very positivie experiences here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

I enrolled my 4-year old daughter in the summer camp and she is having lots of fun! She never wanted to go to school before, dropped out twice and now she wants to even on weekends. Can you believe that?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2008

I cant express my love for this school enough!!!! The teachers/staff are truly gifted with what they have to offer....and every child is blessed to be a part of such a loving caring learning enviornment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2008

Wow! Parents- I cannot say enough about this school. I moved my daughter from another private school to this school at the beginning of the year. The classes are so small, about 10-15 children per class. Could you ask for more? The teacher's care about every child. I would recommend this school to everyone. A+++++
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2008

My child struggled before coming to LEA. We have found this school to be filled with caring teachers, staff and families. If you are looking for a small school where each child is valued...then look no further!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2008

Learning Express Academy offers a very friendly atmosphere with great student to teacher ratio. My child is in Kindergarten and has the opportunity to learn spanish, computers. The dedication of the staff is far beyond anything you could imagine... Ist class all the way
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2008

Great facilities and a very nice management/teaching staff. Overall, a wonderful environment for children to learn.


Posted July 13, 2007

Learning Express Academy offers a family atmosphere with low student teacher ratios and small class sizes. It is our goal to provide students with the individual attention necessary for their academic success and social development.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted July 13, 2007

The family atmosphere and dedication to the students is fantastic!
—Submitted by a staff


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 42% 32%
White 42% 50%
Asian or Pacific Islander 15% 3%
Hispanic 2% 13%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • PE instructor(s)
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:00am
School end time
  • 6:00pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Wendy Burris
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (302) 737-8949

Programs

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Computer lab
  • Library
  • Music room
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

302 Darling Street
Newark, DE 19702
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 737-8260

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT