Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Tutor Time Child Care

Private | PK-6 | 65 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Newark

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $151,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $950.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2013

Tutor time Marrows Rd. is incredible. From the owner to the director, office staff, lunch lady and everyone, they really care about your children and the manner they conduct them self is 5 stars ." You only get out of it what you put into it", the saying goes. I see these care givers/teachers putting in 100% all the time, we have been enrolled at tutor time for 6 months now, and it is a pleasure and our piece of mind that our son goes to school here. We trust them with our most precious treasure, you will too. JVJ 4/15/13
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

Worst school north of the Canal. This school is a joke. The owner only cares about money; I guess that s why its company status is For-Profit. Even has to have language like "THE CONTRACT IS AN OBLIGATION FOR THE ENTIRE TEN MONTH SCHOOL YEAR" for fear people might leave. I gave 1 star for the teachers... the K-1 teacher is incompetent, the others are ok but 1 star because they combine classrooms i.e. 1 class is 2nd, 3rd, and 4th graders and another class is 5th, 6th , 7th, and 8th graders. Each class is only taught by ONE teacher. Talk about setting yourself up for failure!!! Make sure you don t offend the Owner Deanna or she will hang up the phone on you... WAH WAH WAH.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2011

The owner Deana of the school is not proffessional at all. Bad record keeping and always accusatory or misplaced funds. She she not be running a school at all. Will never advise anyone to send there children there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2009

My child has gone to this school since they were three years old -- he is now in fourth grade. All of the administration knows my family and my child. When we have our ups and downs they are there for us. My son LOVES going to school everyday and the other parents and children are so nice. No one judges anyone. It is fantastic at Tutor Time! I hope they go to eighth grade -- we do not want to leave!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

I have been a parent at this school for ten years. My children are truly loved by the teachers and they have been with them since they were babies. I love that the teachers know everything about my children just like they were their own. The facility is always clean and well stocked with activities and books for the children. And I think they have a great balance of structured and unstructured activities for the children to keep them busy all day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2009

When you hold your child for the first time you are amazed at the awesome power that you hold in you hands and at the same time overwhelmed by the knowledge that the decisions you make for them will influence who they become as adults. When it came time for my husband and me to choose a day care provider we were so worried about leaving our children with strangers all day long. The teachers, the curriculum, the atmosphere, and the care our children have experienced give me a peace of mind when I go to work each day. We have been apart of the Tutor Time family since they were infants. I use the word family because my children have been loved, cared for, and treated as if they were apart of a large family of people who truly are interested in seeing my children grow
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2009

I LOVE the tutor time on harmony road. I can't speak for the other facilities but this one is terrific! The student to teacher ratio os fantastic, parent/school communication is excellent and my children feel that they are important, not just another student. The curriculum is strong and the cultural learning is wonderful. There is an assembly every week that has to do with social studies. They take field trips often and take care of problems immediately. I had to take my children out of public school because of bullying. Now my children LOVE going to school every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2008

I feel that as a pre-school Tutor Time is no better or worse than any other franchise childcare facility, but it has no business being a school. I was disappointed in the level of professionalism in the staff and the fact there is no specialized rooms (or teachers) for any type of art or gym or library...in fact, there is no library whatsoever (unless you call a few shelves with random books shoved in a library). As for music, a piano teacher comes in once a week....for a price. That's not even near the worst of it. Every parent must choose for themselves, but personally, my greatest regret in all my years of parenting was choosing this school for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 2, 2008

Tutor Time in Newark, DE on Harmony Road is an excellent elementary school. My son is in 1st grade and the curriculum is exellent. We have member of our family that also has a child in 1st grade in a catholic school and the curriculum is so far behind what my son is being taught in school. My husband and I are very glad that we did not send him to a catholic school. The teachers and staff there are wonderful with all of the children. We needed to have before and after care for our son and even if we sent our son to a public school we would be paying the same price as tuition at Tudor Time and he would not be receiving the great quality education from Tudor Time. He has been there since PreK and we will not have to find great school until 7th grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 12, 2007

My daugher has been going to TT since pre K. Very pleased with the teachers / staff, programs, etc... This year my daugther will be going into first grade. One major down fall / area I feel this site is lacking, there is no gym, library, art room, or music room. I felt this were very important to me as a child and were a major part of who I am as an adult. The school is going up to sixth grade now and I feel this is an upgrade that is needed. For the price you pay compare to other private schools this should be included. I don't know that the space is there. Unfortunately this has detered my choice for 2nd grade for my daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2007

The only issue is there are a bit of a stickler when it comes to 'Safety'. But if that is all I have to complain about then I'll deal with it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2007

Tutor Time has recently decided that it may expand it's school from only 4th grade all of the way up to 6th. I am excited as it definitely alleviates some of my concerns over a good education! My son is only in Pre-K, but it is nice to know what to expect for the next 7 years (K-6)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 27, 2005

I have found TT to be a school with a competitive price. My son is in the Pre-School class and is loving it. I love how they post the pictures of the children, their families and their work around the class. Throughout the day the kids are asked questions, and their answers are posted around the room. My son started on August 29 and has already learned to spell and write very clearly on his own, Mommy, his name and a few other words. He's only 3! I am picky with schools, having moved him in and out of 3 over the last year due to the lack of quality. But at TT I am 100% happy. However, I just wish they were able to take the kids on more field trips as I am sure the parents would be more than happy to join!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 50%
Black 17% 35%
Asian 4% N/A
Hispanic 2% 12%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian or Pacific Islander N/A 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% N/A
Two or more races 0% N/A
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC

Resources

Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

491 Harmony Road South
Newark, DE 19713
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 292-3529

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT