Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Maclary (R. Elisabeth) Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 409 students

Our school is best known for its commitment to family engagement.

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

MacLary (R. Elizabeth) Elementary has provided my grandaughter (who is in kindergarten) the necessary education to be successful in first grade. She likes her teacher and is excited to go to school every morning! She is proud that she is beginning to read on her own and will read stories to her grandfather and me. Thank you MacLary!


Posted December 8, 2013

I remember this school. As a little girl. (: I remember going here as a preschooler and I had. Lot of fun


Posted September 24, 2013

Our School is a great school because of all of their close work with the Delaware Autism Program and the amazing staff and PTA that truly care about the education and welfare of our children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 24, 2012

This school has great teachers however the administration staff, particularly the principal, I found to be of poor quality. I had selected this school for my son to start Kindergarten there, ran into serious problems with aftercare for just 2 hours for my son because they only use the YMCA and the Y refused to let me enroll my son stating it was too late?! School for the fall 2012 semester had not even begun yet. I called and emailed the principal, still have not received call or email back regarding this matter to date. I never received anything in the mail about his teacher, before/after care at all. I had to call around to find out this info on my own and then was unable to enroll my child. As a parent starting formal school for their child for the first time it was a horrible introduction. I ended up having to put my son in a private school at last minute. Poor administration makes a good school look really bad to new parents and families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2010

I think this school is pretty cool they just need to challenge the students more. My daughter is in 3rd grade this year and still finds it very easy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2010

I just registered my child in this school and the first day it was like he was back in pre k with centers(building trains,house,) to me sounds more like a daycare.i realize every school is diffrent but 3 hours of play time they can do that at home.were's the education.I will be looking for another school ASAP
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 7, 2009

Top notch administration offers superior curriculum as well as a welcoming supportive environment for a strong volunteer core.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

Fabulous programs, fabulous teachers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

It's such a wonderful school, with wonderful teachers and a excellent curriculum!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2008

We like the teachers at Maclary. Our daughter has had wonderful teachers in K through second grade. The new principal does not communicate. We had an issue and couldn't get a hold of her because she was too busy and then we sent an email that was ignored. The last principal was wonderful and full of energy and a joy to be around. Too bad for Maclary. Again, the teachers my daughter had were great.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2006

My step-son started 1st grade in Maclary this year and I am very pleased so far. In a few months he has learned so much. He has a teacher that is able to control her class and give the students the learning opportunities they should have, unlike his Elkton school last year. The school is accountable and the teachers really care about the students - not just what they learn, but their values and how they treat others. My husband and I moved into the Feeder pattern of this school in hopes it would live up to its rep, and it certainly has! Very pleased!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2006

My son has attended Maclary the last 2 years and I am very pleased with the school programs and teachers. His teacher this year, Mrs Davis is wonderful and knows exactly how to motivate my child to reach his highest potential. Under Mrs Davis my son has even been asked to participate in the Excel program for talented children. I highly recommend this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 19, 2005

I have two children in Maclary. They both have been there since kindergarden. One is in fifth grade now. The other one is in third grade. I am so thankful to the teacher's and Staff at Maclary. They are all wonderful. I have never had one bad experience yet. And I always feel welcome and it is always a very nice experience while i am there. I have been homeroom mom three times and I love the classes and the teachers. This has truly been a great learning experience for me and my children as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 18, 2005

My daugher has been at Maclary for two years, and I could not be more pleased. They keep her academicly engaged, and have a wide variety of programs. The teachers are very engaged with the children, and take work closely with the parents. The staff is not afraid to pass along negative information when they need to, and they explain the *why* of any negatives they report. They're even more pleased to pass along positives, and explain what those positives mean in real terms. Most importantly, my daughter is eager to go to school each morning - That says a lot!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2004

I have two children in Maclary a first grader and a 5th grader. I have been fortunate enough to have my children there since Kindergarten. This school offers excitement, fun, wonderful, experienced teachers who uplift the children while making sure they keep them in control, in a positive way. I have never had one bad experience, or one bad thing to say about Macalary. This has been a positive experience for both me as a parent and for my childrens education.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
68%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
71%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
54%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
63%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
80%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

70 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
52%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2013.

67 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students76%
Female88%
Male65%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status64%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Title I76%
Special edn/a
Regular ed84%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English75%

Math

All Students84%
Female82%
Male86%
African American83%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White89%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status76%
Not economically disadvantaged94%
Title I84%
Special edn/a
Regular ed95%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English84%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students72%
Female79%
Male64%
African American67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status55%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Title I72%
Special edn/a
Regular ed80%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English75%

Math

All Students72%
Female72%
Male71%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanic53%
Multiracialn/a
White82%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status61%
Not economically disadvantaged83%
Title I72%
Special edn/a
Regular ed78%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English74%

Social Studies

All Students62%
Female64%
Male60%
African American44%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
White77%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status47%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Title I62%
Special edn/a
Regular ed69%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students80%
Female83%
Male74%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic79%
Multiracialn/a
White83%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status74%
Not economically disadvantaged86%
Title I80%
Special edn/a
Regular ed90%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English82%

Math

All Students70%
Female76%
Male61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic58%
Multiracialn/a
White86%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status51%
Not economically disadvantaged89%
Title I70%
Special edn/a
Regular ed78%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English73%

Science

All Students66%
Female72%
Male57%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
White79%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status50%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Title I66%
Special edn/a
Regular ed75%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English69%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 50%
Hispanic 2 18% 13%
Black 1 16% 32%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1 2% 3%
Two or more races 1 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 DE Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
School psychologist
School social worker/counselors(s)
Special education coordinator
Speech and language therapist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Title I Distinguished School (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Multiple disabilities
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra

Language learning

Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dryden, Bartley R.
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (302) 454-3485

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many needs and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program for very challenging needs such as autism or complete visual impairment
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Cognitive disability
  • Multiple disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • None
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular ESL/ELL needs
Languages supported by ESL/ELL programs
  • Other
  • Spanish

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
  • School social worker/counselors(s)
  • Special education coordinator
  • Speech and language therapist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Extra learning resources offered
  • Counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Mentoring
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • Cross country

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Neither uniforms nor dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Shue-Medill MS
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Saint Regis Drive
Newark, DE 19711
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 454-2142

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT