Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Leasure (May B.) Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 568 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 10, 2013

this school is amazing i went there from kindergarden to fifth rgade and it was my favorite learnign excperience my older sister did the 6 years also and now my little sister is going to the fifth grade the teachersare amazing and the staff is kind and caring to all students i recommend this school for any parent


Posted December 14, 2012

The principal is great, she is the best of what anyone can have. She cares A LOT and have great respect for those in the school and in her present. LOVE HER LOVE HER!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2010

In one word... HORRIBLE!!!! My daughter transferred there in early in the school year (Sept) and we tried to speak with the people in the office who was extremely rude. We waited for the principle and she was even ruder!! She rolls her eyes at parents and answers in a short answer "NO" as if you're a child! As far as academics, she never had homework checked (teacher gave credit for completing but never checked for errors) and never given test results! And watch out if you can't remember fifth grade work because there was no notes to refer to. Basically as a parent, you had to teach your child to the best of your knowledge and never found out if you were right since it was never graded.. The worst school experience I've ever seen!! You can expect unprofessional attitudes from staff, but can't work with rude principle too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

I have had four kids attend this school.The teachers and principal are very caring and encouraging.One of my sons had trouble reading in kindergarten and took Summer school.His teachers, Ms.Bragg and Rebocheck ( sp ? ) were able to raise his scores to a third grade level.Math and Science carnivals are available .The kids loved them and benefited from them greatly.Writer's luncheon was a big hit too.My daughter was motivated by the author of ' Octavia ' ,Doreen Rathmell Meredith .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2008

My son was labled early on as a slow reader in 2nd grade. Although he preformed well in other areas the Princepal and teachers tried to retain him. I went through a third party to have him tested, and wouldn t you know it? This third party explained he passed the D.S.T.P. for the second grade. This is a test that Leasure doesn t even give until third grade. Needless to say this third party has forwarded my sons passing test results to the School District and suggested I look in to legal representation for my son due to labeling and selective discrimination.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2006

I finally had to remove my son from this school. The students that attend this school were a little too rough for my son. The teachers have their hands full. Academics were border line and just was not up to the standard I want for my son.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2005

My daughter has been going to Leasure School for the past 4 years. She loves it there and the staff is great. We have not had any problems at all with staff or other kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 2, 2004

My daughter is in her second year at Leasure and she loves it. we haven't had any problems. She really misses Mrs.Barron,the teacher she had for her first year at Leasure. My son is in Kindergarten and he loves it. He is excited every day to go to school. I think Leasure is a very good school.Thanks to all the great staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2004

From a parental viewpoint...there is nothing bad about this school at all! We job transferred to Delaware from Florida - and my son has done very well here after struggling in Florida schools. (Granted Florida schools are the worst) At Leasure, the teachers are very good, communicate well with the parents and provide a well balanced education. The principle and staff are very involved and listen to suggestions for improvement and ideas. There are great extracurricular programs - including one of the best chorus teachers! The art program is really good too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 12, 2004

I was a former student at this school and I think it shouldn't even be considered as a place you would want to send your kid. Nothing is wrong with the teachers it's the kids that come into the school. When I went there I had a problem with one of these kids in 1st grade! He would give the teacher the finger , he called me racial names, he stole my lunch money and then when somebody would lend me their money to buy lunch he would spit in all of my food and then take it off my tray! The worst thing about it was not a whole lot was done about it and it continued through out that year. So please think twice before you send you kid here
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 71% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
56%
Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2013.

100 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
64%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 74% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
45%
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2013.

84 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
46%
Social Studies

The state average for Social Studies was 69% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 77% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 71% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%
Science

The state average for Science was 50% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
29%

2011

 
 
38%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Female62%
Male56%
African American56%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status51%
Not economically disadvantaged74%
Title I58%
Special ed<=5%
Regular ed72%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English58%

Math

All Students67%
Female73%
Male63%
African American66%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status57%
Not economically disadvantaged90%
Title I67%
Special ed26%
Regular ed77%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English67%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students52%
Female59%
Male43%
African American47%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status48%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Title I52%
Special ed13%
Regular ed61%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English52%

Math

All Students61%
Female55%
Male69%
African American57%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status54%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Title I61%
Special ed27%
Regular ed68%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English61%

Social Studies

All Students60%
Female58%
Male64%
African American53%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
Whiten/a
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status57%
Not economically disadvantaged70%
Title I60%
Special edn/a
Regular ed68%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English61%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Female79%
Male67%
African American72%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White65%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status68%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Title I73%
Special ed24%
Regular ed86%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English73%

Math

All Students61%
Female65%
Male57%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White53%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status55%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Title I61%
Special ed22%
Regular ed71%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English61%

Science

All Students58%
Female67%
Male50%
African American48%
Asiann/a
Hispanicn/a
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status57%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Title I58%
Special ed22%
Regular ed68%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English58%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 1 62% 32%
White 2 17% 50%
Hispanic 2 13% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1 4% 3%
Two or more races 1 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 DE Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 65%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Aikens, Deirdra
Fax number
  • (302) 454-2109

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1015 Church Road
Newark, DE 19702
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 454-2103

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT