Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Christiana High School

Public | 9-12 | 839 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 22, 2013

This school consistenly fails to achieve state benchmarks and they have consistently lost students to charter/private schools to the point they are close to losing federal funding. My neice was transferred to a charter school this year where she thrived & received better education and attention from the teachers. Now the state board of education has closed the charter school & require students to go back to public schools (which will increase their attendence so federal funding is not threatened). I can't understand why CHS remains open when they have far more problems than charter schools.


Posted July 16, 2012

This is one of the worst Schools I'v ever sent my child to the students their are rude towards teachers, staff and others in my opinion i think the school should be shut down pertinently theirs a great amount of bullying going on and when i tried to choice my kid out they said i couldn't and we have to move for that to happened "ridiculousness"
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2009

Regardless of the budget cuts, they do all that they can to keep the arts in school alive.


Posted August 27, 2009

I love this school. Its really good . Its under good mangement i guess you can say the staff is excellent !
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 20, 2009

I used to go to CHS i moved because my family didn't like the area or the school. I live in NJ and about to graduate. CHS is nothing compared to my current school. I have learned a lot more here than if i stayed all 4 years at CHS.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 21, 2008

christiana high school my daughter goes to, is the worst school i have ever dealt with. improper dress by the students, that goes unnoticed by the staff,violence among students and disrespect towards teachers by students and a very low exspectation for students just to mention a few things. when going to the school to talk to the administration they are defensive and sarcastic and secreative you cannot get proper resolution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

I recently graduated from Christiana and I have to say that it was a great school. Maybe it was a little rough in the beginning with the previous principal but all that changed with Mrs. Lasorsa. She changed and she's continuing to change the school little by little and I imagine by this time next year, there will be alot more school spirit and unity.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 8, 2008

I have a hard time getting teachers to respond back to me to get my child ex-tra help in classes shes doing poorly in. and there is no proper dress code or disapline
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2007

Im going to be a junior at christiana this year, and far as my previous years have been... I would say that they are improving greatly. Students have complained about the changes, but deep down they know it'll better them. I really do enjoy chs and I would reccommend it 2 anyone. Its not the best school out there, but they are really trying hard 2 cut the violence, and ignorance in the school; and I thank them greatly 4 the effort. Chs has had a 180 degree change; thanks to the new changes and administrators.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 5, 2007

I am currently a junior at christiana high school. Overall the school is decent. i think now that there is a new principal things are whipping into shape. but i must say that shes a bit strict. but maybe we need that. my only problems are that it kinda feels like some of the teachers are only there for a paycheck and not to try and help us learn. also it is way too crowded in that school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 17, 2006

My son is now a senior at CHS. He has attended there since nineth grade. We recently moved out of the district but was able to choice him in. He has always been a good student and at CHS has taken both Honor classes and AP classes. There will always be some teacher with whom either the parents or the students will not see eye to eye, but 90% of my sons teachers have been excellent. My son has been involved in sports, FFA, and dabbled in the behind the scenes of the school play. He is in the Honor Society and has held positions at captian of a sport and as an officer in FFA. The teachers that I have met on a regular basis because of his involvement in sports have been wonderful. I am proud of my sons achievements and proud to say he is graduating from CHS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2005

I have a child that attends christiana, and she was the best student, in every school she's ever been in, except Christiana. Teachers are not as helpful as they should be. There were kids smoking when i just came to visit,and there was administrators, that just said. Put it away. Do not send your kids here! I'm taking my child out.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 30, 2005

from my first hand experience i found christiana to be a great high school.the teachers are hard workers and they give their all at what they do.this school really work hard to make the students happy.extracurricular activites bring students togerther, teachers are very caring, and overall christiana is an excellent school.the art and music department are really intrested in thier team work which often stands out in thier proformance.the level of parent involvement in not that high but when they do come together they help out a lot. if i were in delaware christiana would be my firts picked high school.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted July 27, 2004

My daughter is a 10th grader at CHS. Throughout the years I have heard much about CHS being from the area. The academics were strong, the sports teams were strong and school spirit were strong. CHS went through a time when this wasn't the case any longer. With Mr. Flowers as principal now, CHS is on the way back to being the High School Powerhouse that it once was. The teachers and students are more excited and school spirit is on the way up. I am now proud to say that my daughter attends Christiana High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2004

This school has undergone a massive overhauling within the past year. The changing of administration has done wonders for the school spirit and motivation of both the teachers and the students. The responsiveness of the teachers and administration to problems and issues is wonderful and quick. The teachers are willing to give 110% by staying after school and working through free periods to help students having problems.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 10, 2004

Many teachers are good, but they cannot truly teach well due to the restriction imposed by the administration and fear of retaliation. If you define education as more than a classroom lecture experience beyond the bare minimal curriculum, then your children will not receive much. The administration has very little motivation to understand its students and even fewer for sympathy. The discipline system is broken. Some of its disciplinary staff are truly mean-spirited and vengeful - instead of acting as counselor, they prefer retaliative sentence. The students are treated like cattles during meal time with long lines and little time to eat. They have very short breaks between classes. The school is like an assembly line, they feed you something average and rush you out.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 67% in 2013.

195 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
40%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

203 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
32%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 73% in 2013.

191 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
42%
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2013.

194 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
33%
Science

The state average for Science was 42% in 2013.

132 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
30%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
16%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students45%
Female52%
Male37%
African American39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic56%
Multiracialn/a
White53%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status40%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Title I45%
Special ed20%
Regular ed53%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English46%

Math

All Students36%
Female42%
Male31%
African American32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic37%
Multiracialn/a
White48%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status30%
Not economically disadvantaged52%
Title I36%
Special ed8%
Regular ed45%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English39%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students57%
Female63%
Male51%
African American51%
Asiann/a
Hispanic44%
Multiracialn/a
White76%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status52%
Not economically disadvantaged67%
Title I57%
Special ed19%
Regular ed65%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English59%

Math

All Students50%
Female55%
Male46%
African American42%
Asiann/a
Hispanic51%
Multiracialn/a
White69%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status46%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Title I50%
Special ed14%
Regular ed58%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English53%

Science

All Students30%
Female35%
Male26%
African American17%
Asiann/a
Hispanic33%
Multiracialn/a
White54%
Other racen/a
Low socioeconomic status27%
Not economically disadvantaged37%
Title I30%
Special ed10%
Regular ed33%
English language learners (ELL)n/a
Proficient in English31%
Scale: % meeting or exceeding standards

About the tests


In 2012-2013 Delaware used the Delaware Comprehensive Assessment System (DCAS) to test students in English language arts and math in grades 3 through 10, in social studies in grades 4 and 7, and in science in grades 5, 8 and 10. The DCAS is a standards-based test, which means it measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of Delaware. The goal is for all students to score at or above the state standard.

There are not enough high schools in Delaware for GreatSchools to generate fair Ratings for high schools at this time.

The different student groups are identified by the Delaware Department of Education. If there are fewer than 15 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: Delaware Department of Education

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Black 2 52% 32%
White 2 26% 50%
Hispanic 1 14% 13%
Asian or Pacific Islander 1 4% 3%
Two or more races 1 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012
Source: 2 DE Dept. of Education, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 57%N/A49%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by school officials and community members.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lasorsa, Noreen
Fax number
  • (302) 454-3490

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Library
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
Girls sports
  • Basketball

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
Note: Data provided by school administrators and community.
School leaders, update and verify information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

190 Salem Church Road
Newark, DE 19713
Website: Click here
Phone: (302) 631-2400

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT